Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£23.49+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2005
There will be lots of pre-conceived ideas about Fightstar - with Charlie (the eyebrows)from Busted on lead vocals - put those ideas to one side and listen with an open mind.
If you're expecting Busted mark 2 - nothing could be further from the truth - though Charlie's voice is discernable as the vocalist from Busted.
Thats where the similarity ends - this is driving rock - with a fair sprinkling of hardcore screams from Charlie.
The lead track is not the best of the bunch - Speak Up, the second track is great and the rest of the tracks that follow are worth a listen. Mono is akin to a Radiohead track which builds to a climax, Lost Like Tears in Rain is the nearest to a poppy track, Charlie with his Busted vocal style at the beginning - and then it goes quite Korn in the middle.
Amethyst builds and then just slopes off at the end - I was an expected a loud and screamy finish - only real disappointment of an otherwise excellent debut.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2006
When i first heard of fightstar i justifiably wanted to hate them when considering Charlies past in busted. I went along with the crowd who said that Charlie had only got this band started because of the money he gained through that predecessing bunch of idiots he used to hang around with. I also wanted to hate them because they clogged the radio with some of the worst music ever written.
However, it all went wrong when i listened to this EP. Fighstar weren't just allright, they were excellent! This EP portrays some of the best emo anthems ever written, and when mixed with great lyrics from Chaz as well as co-guitarist Alex it really makes up for something special. They really have made there own unique sound.
I saw them live last year and am going to see them in a week, and they were even better when on stage. They are now one of my favouraite bands, and although some idiots like to judge them before listening to them like i did, i still stand up for them.
So to finish, even if you hated busted like me, don't judge them before you've heard them because you just might find you'll love them.
BUY THERE NEW ALBUM!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2005
Ok so we all know Busted weren't anything special, but charlie has well and truly redeemed himself in Fightstar. This is one of the best debut ep's i have heard for a long time, if you can get your hands on it do so. From the devastating opener "Palahnuiks Laughter" you instantly know your in for a treat. "Speak Up" hammers your eardrums with its chugging guitar riff, and is followed by my personal favourite "Mono", which mellow tune finishes in dramatically heavy style, with some great vocals as well. "Lost Like Tears In Rain" is another quiet to loud song, with some great vocals being pulled off by Charlie. The closing song "Amethyst" finishes off the ep in great style with another great mellow riff. The hidden track "Hazy Eyes" is a bonus, but focus your attention to the listed tracks. This ep should be a warning to the emo/heavy rock scene, and with the immenant release of "Paint Your Target", the likes of Biffy Clyro and Funeral for a Friend should be worried. Bring on the album!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2005
ive given this 5 stars purely because it is just brilliant and a pleasure to listen to, i have always been a fightstar fan ever since charlie started the band, and after hearing the EP i have to say 'Mono' is definately my favourite track, with 'palaniuks laughter' a close second. all the other songs are brill as well but those two have to take the edge for me. i'll be looking forward to fightstars next release and will most certainly be the first to buy it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2005
Fightstar...4 men, one hell of a band! Ex-Busted guitarist Charlie Simpson did himself a favour leaving the band. Fightstar have their own style of music, from soft melodic parts to really heavy guitar riffs. With music influences from Taking Back Sunday, Biffy Clyro, Yourcodenameis:milo, Finch and Funeral For A Friend.
Fightstar have grown from a little unknown band, to be one of the biggest bands of 2005.
The single consists of 5 songs with 1 bonus song at the end of Amathyst.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2005
At first I thought this band would be bad, it's got Charlie from Busted in it but Busted is Busted and Charlie is Charlie. Charlies new band Fightstar are something amazing. It's great to see someone come from a very popular pop band to a very difficult genre to make it big in and succeed. This band are going to be huge, this EP is only a taster of what's to come. All the tracks are amazing. Me and some friends describe some or their riffs as Slayer-esk with a hint of metal that Ozzy Osbourne would be proud of. Forget Charlie was ever in Busted and give this thing a listen, you won't regret it and Charlie's screams are amazing as is his singing.
Palahniuk's laughter - Wow what a great beginning this song is heavy and amazing sets the mood for the EP, something heavy, something soft and something different 9/10
Speak Up - Another great track with some amazing screams and vocals from Charlie, it's fast it's heavy and it's what I love about music 9/10
Mono - A slow, melodic song. This is also a great song, it slowly builds up to a very heavy climax at the end. A great song 9/10
Lost Like Tears In Rain - The first song I heard by this band and the first time I heard it I fell in love with it. Yes it is quite poppy but I love it anyway it also has some amazing screams in it too. This is my favourite track off of the EP 10/10
Amethyst - It seems people didn't enjoy this song that much, I thought this song was fantastic may not of ended the way you would of wanted it too but it is a great way to end this cd. The second guitarist sings the verses whilst Charlie delivers the heavy and fantastic chorus. This is the best way to end this CD 9/10
Overall give this band a try, you will be very suprised at how good it really is
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2005
yeah, well, wanted to hate it. buuuut, cant. its pretty good. id say taking influences from mono and mahumodo in the open and melodic instrumental sections and then combining it with an emo-ish (hate to use the phrase) commercial sensibility. not bad at all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
I really love this album, I've since bought all their other albums, great band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2005
a nice little ep to get them going , i can see this band pulling out some really good stuff, and really helping the whole emo style that is going around at the moment.
i cant say there style is anything new.. but they have done it well, with catchy clean tunes.
Lost Like Tears In Rain has to be my fav, along with Palahnuiks laughter.
its just a shame charlie wasted so much time in busted when he could of been making class A stuff like this, at least hes made a name for himself before he even starts, but you have to ask is it the imiage u want in this style. Can he shake those school girl poppy fans now.
worth the getting
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
Beautiful condition for 2nd hand. In absolute love - play it non stop!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here