Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
39
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
i like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Cd now 60 has arrived already
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
EXCELLENT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
just what i wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
This is also a really good Now album.

43 TOP CHART HITS

COMPACT DISC 1 Chart Peak Weeks On Chart

1.Gwen Stefani- What You Waiting For? (4) 15 Weeks(Nov-May)
2.Sunset Strippers- Falling Stars (3) 13 Weeks(Mar-June)
3.Kylie Minogue- I Believe In You (2) 12 Weeks(Dec-Mar)
4.McFly- All About You (1) 14 Weeks(Mar-Nov)
5.Nelly ft Tim McGraw- Over And Over (1) 12 Weeks(Feb-May)
6.Lemar- If There's Any Justice (3) 16 Weeks(Nov-Mar)
7.Girls Aloud- I'll Stand By You (1) 14 Weeks(Nov-Feb)
8.Uniting Nations- Out Of Touch (7) 21 Weeks(Nov-May)
9.Scissor Sisters- Filthy/Gorgeous (5) 9 Weeks(Jan-Mar)
10.The Chemical Brothers- Galvinize (3) 16 Weeks(Jan-May)
11.LL Cool J ft 7 Aurelius- Hush (3) 10 Weeks(Feb-Apr)
12.Ashanti- Only U (2) 8 Weeks(Jan-Mar)
13.Ciara ft Petey Pablo- Goodies (1) 9 Weeks(Jan-Mar)
14.Akon- Locked Up (5) 13 Weeks(Feb-May)
15.Joss Stone- Spoiled (32) 2 Weeks(Mar-Apr)
16.Verbalicious- Don't Play Nice (11) 5 Weeks(Feb-Apr)
17.Shapeshifters- Back To Basics (10) 8 Weeks(Mar-May)
18.Geri- Ride It (4) 9 Weeks(Nov-Jan)
19.The Lovefreekz- Shine (6) 6 Weeks(Jan-Mar)
20.Reflekt ft Delline Bass-
Need To Feel Loved (14) 5 Weeks(Feb-Apr)
21.Soul Central ft Kathy Brown-
Strings Of Life(Stronger On My Own) (6) 7 Weeks(Jan-Mar)
22.Styles & Breeze- Heartbeatz (16) 4 Weeks(Mar-Apr)

COMPACT DISC 2 Chart Peak Weeks On Chart

1.U2- Vertigo (1) 13 Weeks(Nov-July)
2.The Killers- Somebody Told Me (3) 18 Weeks(Jan-Jan)
3.Stereophonics- Dakota (1) 23 Weeks(Mar-Nov)
4.Keane- This Is The Last Time (18) 6 Weeks(Nov-Jan)
5.Bloc Party- So Here We Are (5) 4 Weeks(Feb-Mar)
6.Athlete- Wires (4) 15 Weeks(Jan-May)
7.Robbie Williams- Misunderstood (8) 8 Weeks(Dec-Feb)
8.Ronan Keating ft Yusuf Islam-
Father And Son (2) 11 Weeks(Dec-Mar)
9.Darius- Live Twice (7) 6 Weeks(Jan-Feb)
10.Daniel Bedingfield- Wrap My
Words Around You (12) 7 Weeks(Feb-Apr)
11.Lucie Silvas- Breathe In (6) 7 Weeks(Jan-Mar)
12.Doves- Black And White Town (6) 4 Weeks(Feb-Mar)
13.The Bravery- An Honest Mistake (7) 10 Weeks(Mar-May)
14.Freefaller- Do This! Do That! (8) 5 Weeks(Jan-Mar)
15.Thirteen Senses- Thru The Glass (18) 3 Weeks(Jan-Feb)
16.Feeder- Tumble And Fall (5) 5 Weeks(Jan-Feb)
17.Raghav ft Frankey Maxx & Jucxi D
Angel Eyes (7) 6 Weeks(Feb-Mar)
18.JoJo- Baby It's You (8) 9 Weeks(Nov-Jan)
19.Atomic Kitten- Cradle (10) 4 Weeks(Feb-Mar)
20.Brian McFadden & Delta Goodrem-
Almost Here (3) 10 Weeks(Feb-Apr)
21.Tony Christie ft Peter Kay-
Is This The Way To Amarillo (1) 28 Weeks(Mar-Jan)

Best Songs

COMPACT DISC 1

Gwen Stefani- What You Waiting For?
Sunset Strippers- Falling Stars
Uniting Nations- Out Of Touch
LL Cool J ft 7 Aurelius- Hush
Akon- Locked Up
Verbalicious- Don't Play Nice
Geri- Ride It
The Lovefreekz- Shine
Reflekt ft Delline Bass- Need To Feel Loved
Styles & Breeze- Heartbeatz

COMPACT DISC 2

The Killers- Somebody Told Me
Keane- This Is The Last Time
Darius- Live Twice
Daniel Bedingfield- Wrap My Words Around You
The Bravery- An Honest Mistake
Thirteen Senses- Thru The Glass

Artists repeated from Now 59

McFly- All About You
Nelly ft Tim McGraw- Over And Over
Girls Aloud- I'll Stand By You
Scissor Sisters- Filthy/Gorgeous
Joss Stone- Spoiled
Keane- This Is The Last Time
Robbie Williams- Misunderstood
Ronan Keating ft Yusuf Islam- Father And Son
Darius- Live Twice
Daniel Bedingfield- Wrap My Words Around You
Lucie Silvas- Breathe In
JoJo- Baby It's You

Artists that appear on Now 61

Gwen Stefani ft Eve- Rich Girl
Kylie Minogue- Giving You Up
McFly- You've Got A Friend
Nelly- N Dey Say
Girls Aloud- Wake Me Up
Akon- Lonely
Joss Stone- Don't Cha Wanna Ride
U2- Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own
The Killers- Smile Like You Mean It
Tony Christie- Avenues And Alleyways

7 Number 1's

McFly- All About You
Nelly ft Tim McGraw- Over And Over
Girls Aloud- I'll Stand By You
Ciara ft Petey Pablo- Goodies
U2- Vertigo
Stereophonics- Dakota
Tony Christie- Is This The Way Is Amarillo

Release Date: 21 March 2005
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2006
The best of the best (although some may argue the worst of the worst) of the chart world arrives at us in the form of the 60th (has it really been around that long?) edition of the world-famous Now series and when its good, its very, very good but of course, when its bad...
cd 1 starts off with the spectacular (if slightly old) What You Waiting For by Gwen, Sunset Strippers' Falling Stars and Kylie's christmas no2 I Believe In You. No1's from Mcfly (the cheese-tastic Comic relief single All About You) and Nelly feat. Tim Mcgraw with Over And Over follow with other chart-toppers on the album from Ciara with the awful Goodies and Girls Aloud with the cringing I'll Stand By You. (what will the Pretenders say, let alone neighbours).
Top tracks from the likes of LL Cool j, Ashanti, The Lovefreekz, Soul Central, Scissor Sisters and Shapeshifters add to the overall decent quality of the opening disc with only Joss Stone, Verbalicious and Akon providing the unpleasantries (and i use that term loosely).
CD2 kicks off with the oldie- but-goodie Vertigo by the never-ending (and i mean that in a good way) u2, the brilliant (and argubly the best track on the complilation) Somebody Told Me by The Killers, Stereophonics' storming Dakota (their first and so far, only no1 - who'd have phunk it?), Keane and Bloc party. Athlete's first apperarance on the album, Wires, The Doves comeback single-of-sorts Black And White Town, The Bravery's Honest Mistake and Feeder's Tumble And Fall round off the highlights of the second disc - but marks off for pairing them alongside Atomic Kitten, Brian McFadden, and, god help us all, Darius - but hey who am i to argue when the first-week sales figures roll in?
Is This The Way To Amarillo brings an end to Easter 2005's annual pop conpendium with the best-selling single of the year and what a classic it is - so until next time, sha-la-la.. hmm on second thoughts maybe not.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2005
It's hard to believe that the Now series has been going for 22 years, but here it is once again with the kind of quality compilation we've come to expect from Ashley Abram and co.
When I first saw the tracklist, I was impressed with the quality and variety of music on offer here. Having given it two weeks' listening time, I can confirm it sounds as good as it looks! I also love the way the music is split down the middle: disc 1 for party moods, disc 2 for those heavier times.
All in all, Now 60 manages to deliver something for everyone (or everything for someone). A few of my personal favourite tracks are Uniting Nations' "Out Of Touch", Sunset Strippers' "Falling Stars", Chemical Brothers' "Galvanise" and the brilliant "Somebody Told Me" from The Killers. This is really amazing stuff, managing to thoroughly squash the competition. If you haven't already, GO BUY IT!!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2005
Now albums are a must-buy for me, and once again I'm not left disappointed.
McFly's big new track kicks things off, the first 10 tracks are overshadowed by Gwen Stefani's "What You Waiting For", a masterpiece of pop music. I also think they could have put the newer Girls Aloud track, the gritty disco of "Wake Me Up" is a lot better than the lame "I'll Stand By You". Dance tracks from the Uniting Nations, the all-conquering Scissor Sisters and the quite brilliant "Galvanise", follow, the album twists into American R&B or, as the cool kids say, "Crunk N' B" (This is apparently where you get drunk and crazy at the same time. Like brunch, but with more beats and less bacon). Ciara and LL Cool J pop up here, it is a blessing that the nauseating Usher is cast aside. The laudable Verbalicious, appears with a song I really shouldn't like, but can't help tapping my toes to, then whoops someone put Geri Halliwell on it. Quick slap to whoever thought of that but then a big hug, because that's the only blemish on the first CD.
The second CD is pure genius, the Killers' track "Somebody Told Me" is one of the main standouts, dramatic rock at its best. The return of a rather different sounding Stereophonics is also welcomed, some cool indie tracks follow before smoothly returning to the pop arena, including that daft track by Darius, which to be fair isn't all that bad. Daniel Bedingfield continues the family trend of being obsessed with literature (These Words, Unwritten, Wrap My Words Around You, I rest my briefcase). Usually CD2 contains all the failing pop bands, but instead we have new light Lucie Silvas, old hands, the Doves and the shockingly underrated Feeder. Atomic Kitten make an appearance, but as its their last, I shall let them off with a stern look. Most bizarrely of all, Tony Christie features with classic "(Is This The Way To) Amarillo". I can only fathom this is because of either A) his successful greatest hits album and huge following by today's youth or B) Peter Kay's hysterical performance t'other night on Comic Relief.
What a marvellous album, I shall buy and listen over Easter, whils that odd rabbit goes around giving chocolate.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2005
I don't know if this is a reliable indicator, but, while on the one hand I was of the opinion that this is one of the weaker "Now" collections, with rather too much emphasis on dance/club tracks and some execrable ballads (including the remake of "Father And Son", the only good thing about which was that it prompted me to search out my dusty copy of the Cat Stevens original), on the other hand this is one of the very few of my CDs that my AS-level-vintage son has commandered on a regular basis as revision break (and certainly not for the ballads).
So, apart from the dance acts, there's a fair helping of both sugary and spicy pop, of aristocratic and apprentice-shop rock, of "crunk & b" (Ciara) and "charidee" (Tony Christie). But no recycled Elvis. The aim, as always, is to round up what has been in the pop charts over the last three months, and this it does admirably, including seven tracks that made No 1 and, on the release date, nine tracks that were still in the Top 40, which is quite an achievement these days.
While it is probably true that most people will already own the albums which have spawned the best tracks, from the likes of U2, Gwen Stefani, Scissor Sisters and Chemical Brothers, I always think that the Now (and similar) series are useful as samplers of some lesser-known acts, which I might be tempted to investigate further (eg Athlete, Freefaller, Lucie Silvas). For that purpose, and the undeniable cost and room savings having 40 odd singles on one CD, this is ideal.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)