Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
43
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2001
With two of the best ever opera stars this performance of Madama Butterfly has a head start. I love this interpretation and it is my favourite opera. Domingo is outstanding in both his acting and vocal performance of this role of Pinkerton. The sincerity and flippancy of the character is evident and his voice is superb. As for Mirella Freni, she makes an excellent Butterfly. Her mixture of naievity and passion is exactly right for this role. She makes you really believe and emapthise with the characters love for Pinkerton and her inocence of life. I would say that if you buy only one version of this wonderful opera it should be this one. All the characters are portrayed excellently. The singing is divine and the setting magnificent. Every act is a joy to behold but for me the most magical is the first. This truly is the best way to indulge yourself and can be enjoyed over and over again.
0Comment| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
Excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 April 2007
It is the late 1800's. An American naval captain, Benjamin Franklin Pinkerton (Plácido Domingo) is stationed in Japan. As is tradition he has a girl in every port. That is except Japan. So he is matched up with a poverty stricken teen Cio-Cio-San, known as Butterfly (Mirella Freni.) Butterfly dumps her old religion (which infuriates her relatives) and clings to Pinkerton. Naturally the day will come when Pinkerton will need a proper American wife. So how does Cio-Cio react? (Puccini music at his best)

At first this looks like a 60's movie with voiceover. Placido looks a little like an Italian Hercules. But as time grows on you realize that they actually did a pretty good job of staging. There are plenty of implications that are not in the songs; so the story is better fleshed out than many of the stage versions. Naturally this film can not compete with live performances but it defiantly is worth it for the music and they are not dressed up in bug suits with antenni. This movie does gibe the impression that Puccini did not like Americans.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Focussing our attention on just one tragic figure was a stroke of genius. Butterfly is an impossible figment but there's the hook. The real people who surround her appear dangerously self absorbed. Butterfly stands alone the essence of real tragedy. The music is fabulous and seductive, the performances superb. If you don't want to be carried away, try something else, Wozzek perhaps.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
taken far too literally madame butterfly as a butterfly Suzuki as a dung beetle and Pinkerton as a Leather Queen ODD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
Have watched this many times and it really is as good as it gets.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2011
I love this opera, but I must say I have never seen such an ugly production. The costumes are unbelievable disgusting, the decor is out of any question. How could Domingo accept to conduct this rubbish? The voices are excellent. The best is: close your eyes and listen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
I couldn't bear to watch this DVD to the end. It was as if the costumes, makeup and sets were designed -- and the whole production directed -- by inmates of a lunatic asylum. What a gross insult to Puccini's beautiful and touching opera, and to the fine cast who must have suffered so much under this insane production.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2011
Always has been my favourite opera & Mirella Freni & Placido Domingo are excellent in their roles. Recommend it to all opera fans.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
The beautifully sung melodies flow from aria to aria.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)