Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.09+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2017
good seller would use again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2005
As hammerfall fans, weve come to expect quality, and quality is what we get!!!!!!!!!!!!
1. secrets - great opener, cool eerie feel about it, cool 9.5/10
2. Blood Bound - we all know this one!, cool anthem 9.5/10
3. Fury of the wild - one of my fav tracks! 10/10
4. Hammer o justice - typical hammerfall rocker, 9/10
5. never never - the best HF ballad EVER, awesome 10/10
6. born to rule - I love this track, my 2nd fav 10/10
7. the templar flame - good hammerfall mid tempo 9/10
8. imperial - didnt like it 1st time, cool acoustic piece
9. take the black - cool fast song, awesome 9.5/10
10. Knights o the 21st Century - a whole 12 mins long and One of the greatest ever HF tracks, awesome, good feel, very unique, the venom vocalist is not the best, but apart from his parts this is an awesome journey through metal!!!, my fav
track - 11/10
Overall 9.5/10 - Extremely good!
other HF albums : Glory 2 the brave - their classic, the best HF release ever, their debut, their masterpiece! - 10/10
Legacy of kings - Some of HF best here, but a weaker release allround - 7.5/10
Renegade - my 2nd fav, awesome tracks, and a return to form!, includes the greatest HF love ballad - always will be - 9.7/10
Crimson thunder - songs are shorter and catchier, good, solid album, but not as good as Chapter V or the others - 8.9/10
Chapter V is a really good power metal album, buy if your a HF fan!!!!, great stuff!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2007
this album is awesome, i totally recommend it, it tells a story almost, if u are a fan of power/heavy metal this is a great album to own.

best track would be blood bound for me, power riff is awesome

the only disappointment is the track imperial, an acoustic song!!!!! wtf

but other than that i loved it, cant stop listenin to this album

(no offence to iron maiden fans)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
It's Hammerfall, so you know what you get: Good solid metal with big coruses and some nice guitar work. Bass playing of a very high standard that just gets you hooked.

Listen to it a few times and you find yourself singing along.

Drive with it in the car and you find that you are driving too fast.

IMO not their best album and probably not that much that's original, but it is still very good.

If you want to drive along tapping the steering wheel while singing, this could be the album for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2017
After reading several reviews I also bought Crimson Thunder . In my opinion this album is more Heavy with better songs .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
All killer and no filler! Just awesome Hammerfall destroy all in there path! Fantastic live too! Metal!!!!! J Counsell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
This album is one of my favorites right now. I generally like HF but this has some amazing stuff on here!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
Great riffs true power metal well impressed with my purchase one word immense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 July 2005
First off, let me say this: despite the review title, this is not, under any circumstances, a bad album. It's a solid effort from one of my favourite bands, and has more than it's fair share of quality tunes. So why the average score? Simply put, it doesn't quite measure up to Hammerfall's previous output. It feels like they're treading water (or ice if the cover is anything to go by), and there are riffs on here that are almost identical to songs off earlier albums. The tone is marginally darker than anything Hammerfall have done previously, and while I'm quite partial to darker music, for me the attraction of Hammerfall has always been the positivity and uplifing vibe they create. Don't get me wrong, this is still good quality fist-pumping rifferama, but the edge of their metal sword seems to have lost it's gleam, if you get me....
Hammerfall have always had a winning formula, right from day one, which has slowly become more refined with each album and on Unbent... it seems like they've tried to do something a bit different (don't worry, no synths or samples or whatnot). The problem lies in the fact that they haven't changed their style at all, and while the experimentation pays off in a few tracks, most of the time it sounds forced. Take the last track, which opens with about a minute of rainfall and thunder samples, with Cronos from Venom saying "The prophecy.... Aaaarrrggghhh......Uuuuuuugggghh....." repeatedly in a silly voice. Ok, it's Cronos, respect to the HF guys for getting him, but it sounds like lame panto to me. That said, the rest of the song rocks...
So, that's the reason this only gets 3 out of 5. To be fair, it would have got 4 if they had got Cronos to do something other than hammer horror panto villain though. But I digress.... moving swiftly on, I should probably tell you about the good stuff....
Most of the songs on this album are really good. The album feels like it was written with live performance in mind, and as such I can fully imagine a lot of these songs to be mind-blowing live. There are one or two fillers (the futuristic tune about infrared for one), but on the whole this is a very solid set of tunes. Standout moments for me are the chorus on "Fury of the Wild", and the whole 1st track. The ballad, Never Ever, trumps "Dreams come True" from Crimson Thunder, and all the songs have at least one classic headbanger of a riff.
So to summarize: A good solid album, let down (slightly) by a tendency to repackage past glories and a few silly indulgences. It's much less instant gratification than their earlier works, but much (read: MUCH) more of a grower. So, Kudos to the boys for trying something new, but next time, don't do it with rehashed ideas. Still better than a lot of True/Power Metal, but not up to the high standards they have set themselves. Oh yeah, if you get this, get the Digipack, it's got a genius video for Blood Bound that adds another star onto the score alone. Now, I'm off to listen to Sonata Arctica. Rock!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
Rock At It's Best, Hammerfall Are Awesome...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here