Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Engineers
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 January 2006
WAAAH!! This is something else! I heard "Come In Out Of The Rain" quite by chance and immediately acquired this album and the Folly e.p. as soon as I could. I wasn't disappointed.
Lush, grand, mellow, warm, passionate, steeped in the last 40 odd years of melodic pop and rock music, these guys delight in drawing on all parts of that tradition to create a rich sea of sound all of their own. Plangent guitars and soft keyboards sit easily alongside Eno-esque atmospherics and sweeping thematic orchestrations reminiscient of John Barry, with dreamlike vocals woven throughout. As Peter Hammill said: " garnish your head with whatever turns you on", lay back at let the music wash the pain away.
This album is so full, you can find as many influences, direct or tangential, as you care to look for, but you still won't be able to pin it down. Apart from the obvious, I can hear shades of the brighter face of Porcupine Tree, and hints of the sweet voice of Green Gartside. (And the cover art would look splendid on an old 12" gatefold sleeve!) Can't wait to catch them live, or for the next offering.
Never mind your shoes, this is aimed at the stars. Beautiful.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
12 years on , this album still sounds contemporary . I had the pleasure of seeing them in Nottingham in 2006, before the original band split. Very laid back, chilled . Stand out tracks for me are Forgiveness, Come in out of the Rain and the sublime One in Seven. But really there are no weak tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2005
You have to admit, a self-titled album by a band called "The Engineers" sounds generic and instantly forgettable guitar rock. Nine out of ten times, such an album probably would be.

Well, it isn't.

The Engineers make a surprisingly memorable debut, by setting themselves smack between slow-burning rock music and ethereal soundscapes -- think half Eno, half Beta Band. The lush pop that results is unique in sound, wide in scope, and short on flaws.

It opens on a strong note with "Home": buzzing, jangling guitars, angelic stoned vocals, some swelling strings, and delicate synth that goes from tinkly to airy. It has a great symphonic sound that not many bands can accomplish, and it does so without being melodramatic.

The songs that follow tend to veer in one direction or another: Some of them are a lot more rock-oriented than the first song. These won't win any prizes for grittiness, however. Even the hardest song on here still sounds a bit like psychfolk. In other words, don't expect "Thrasher" to live up to its name -- there's a buzzing bassline in the background, but nothing really hard.

And when they're softer... well, often they sound like Air on a hardcore day. Songs like "New Horizons" have the same delicate, ethereal sound, and the ambient sweeps you'd expect from a downtempo band. It peaks with "Peter Street," a minute of swooping synth bands that peak and then fade away.

Most bands can't really manage multiple sounds well, or blend different kinds of music together -- in this case, rock rhythms with rich sonic expanses. But the London quartet Engineers not only do this, they succeed wonderfully. The only real flaw is that some songs overstay their welcome, and could have used a bit of trimming in the last half.

The vocals sound a bit stoner-rockish; these guys sound mellow enough to melt. Simon Phipps and Mark Peters often sing separately, but in some songs their vocals tangle together or harmonize. No, not in the same song. But their singing is more like another instrument, especially since the actual words are hard to make out.

The Engineers were quite correct when they said, "We don't sound like The White Stripes. We don't sound like Coldplay. We don't sound like anything current." No, they don't. Their symphonic psychedelic rock sounds like something entirely their own.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 September 2005
You have to admit, a self-titled album by a band called "The Engineers" sounds generic and instantly forgettable guitar rock. Nine out of ten times, such an album probably would be.

Well, it isn't.

The Engineers make a surprisingly memorable debut, by setting themselves smack between slow-burning rock music and ethereal soundscapes -- think half Eno, half Beta Band. The lush pop that results is unique in sound, wide in scope, and short on flaws.

It opens on a strong note with "Home": buzzing, jangling guitars, angelic stoned vocals, some swelling strings, and delicate synth that goes from tinkly to airy. It has a great symphonic sound that not many bands can accomplish, and it does so without being melodramatic.

The songs that follow tend to veer in one direction or another: Some of them are a lot more rock-oriented than the first song. These won't win any prizes for grittiness, however. Even the hardest song on here still sounds a bit like psychfolk. In other words, don't expect "Thrasher" to live up to its name -- there's a buzzing bassline in the background, but nothing really hard.

And when they're softer... well, often they sound like Air on a hardcore day. Songs like "New Horizons" have the same delicate, ethereal sound, and the ambient sweeps you'd expect from a downtempo band. It peaks with "Peter Street," a minute of swooping synth bands that peak and then fade away.

Most bands can't really manage multiple sounds well, or blend different kinds of music together -- in this case, rock rhythms with rich sonic expanses. But the London quartet Engineers not only do this, they succeed wonderfully. The only real flaw is that some songs overstay their welcome, and could have used a bit of trimming in the last half.

The vocals sound a bit stoner-rockish; these guys sound mellow enough to melt. Simon Phipps and Mark Peters often sing separately, but in some songs their vocals tangle together or harmonize. No, not in the same song. But their singing is more like another instrument, especially since the actual words are hard to make out.

The Engineers were quite correct when they said, "We don't sound like The White Stripes. We don't sound like Coldplay. We don't sound like anything current." No, they don't. Their symphonic psychedelic rock sounds like something entirely their own.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2005
It's not easy to categorize The Engineers music, but if you're into mellow indie pop this cd is a must, in the vain of Thirteen Senses with beautiful vocals and lovely flowing music, i can only recommend this cd. Mind you it's tough knowing which track to play and in which order as there are too many stand out tracks, just sit back and enjoy one of the best albums to come out in ages.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2005
I don't really know what to say about this album except it is the best debut albumn that I have heard in many years.
The music is very psychadelic and chilled out although I don't personally have to be in a chilled out mood to enjoy this cd. For me the album fits together very well with good songs throughout, none of which I have managed to get bored of yet(and that is after excessive playing).
If you want a cd that is a real treat on the ears then this is definately for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2005
Quite why Engineers aren't as big as Keane or Coldplay is an absolute mystery.
Songs like Forgiveness, Waved On & New Horizons carry a wonderful resonance and I think in years to come this album will be seen as the materpiece it is.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2005
amazing!!album of the year-a must if u own records by talk talk,spiritualized or eno.highlights for me were "new horizons"(shades of brian wilson's 'til i die') and "one in 7"(talk talk gene-spliced with black sabbath)
loveit!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2005
This album definitely takes a different road to British indie music as we currently know it. This is not a CD of cliched lyrics and predictable guitar riffs. Following the critically acclaimed 'Folly' EP was no easy task but 'Engineers' fits the bill. The album has re-worked versions of 'Forgiveness' and 'Come on in out of the rain' which sound refreshingly different from the originals. Tracks like 'just let's see' verge more towards electonica and folktronica where as 'thrasher' is much more like My Bloody Valentine. Each song is well crafted and multi faceted, their sound is rich and even though the tone is somber each song is calming and uplifting. Although the Engineers may not be at the forefront of a shoegazing revival, they are a pleasant change from the NME norms. Beautifully desolate.
If you like this try: Husky Rescue, Hot chip, and My Bloody Valentine
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2005
Having only bought this cd yesterday and after constant plays, would like to recommend it. Into Thirteen Senses, maybe Talk Talk you must buy this record, with so much fabricated music around let's hope that quality musicians are rewarded. Wonderful vocals and brilliant musicianship make this a must for all indie/real music fans. BUY..
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Folly
£6.47

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)