Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
24
A New Day Yesterday
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 4 July 2005
If you haven't heard Joe - I hadn't until three months ago - then you must do very soon by buying this. Joe is amazing. He embodies all the best aspects of guitar players like Stevie Ray, Jeff Beck, Robben Ford, Eric Clapton [ I said the BEST aspects!] and Rory Gallagher. If you look at his discography on Amazon, you will see that he's been around for a few years, but it was his brief tour of the UK earlier this year that has got him noticed. This album represents the best aspects of his live show, from the blues covers - Rory G, Free, Cream, Jeff Beck- to his own very original excellent compositions. This is pure showmanship at it's best. His guitar work is OUTSTANDING throughout.
Using the word 'covers' is a bit unfair really.When I first listened to this album I didn't look at the track listing, and didn't even realise they were covers straight away. Cradle rock is amazing - it's the first Rory cover I've heard played by anyone from across the pond. And when did you last hear a Free cover that wasn't Alright Now? We also have a short drum solo and a bass solo and a lot of light and shade throughout. It is pure rock and roll show from start to finish, and the pace doesn't let up.
This is well worth the money - give it a go
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 March 2007
So, a couple of questions: Do you like great, live, guitar driven music? Do you like to rock? Yes?.......then GET THIS!

This man, Mr Bonamassa, was born to play live, just pity his poor mother having to get the Les Paul out too! Frenetic stuff from start to finish, it is an incessant barrage of great, driving rock and blues when you just wished that you could have been there on the day to witness it all in the flesh.

Joe has evidently been influenced by much during his tender years and, indeed has taken on board a lot from this side of the pond too. Evidence his rendition of Cradle Rock - apart from Rory Gallagher - name me any other guitarist who has attempted to knock this one out - and knock you out he does! Very, very entertaining and high quality too, just the sort of thing to broadcast to the world, and it doesn't stop there....not a single bummer on the album, the choice of material is wide as it is varied and showcases this guitarist to the max.

Just BUY!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2017
Not his greatest album, but good all the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2006
If you've ever listened to any rock music from the seventies, you won't find anything surprising here, because so has Joe Bonamassa - and he loves it. Apart from the covers of A New Day Yesterday, Cradle Rock and Steppin' Out, he quotes licks from, among others, Strange Brew and Won't Get Fooled Again. Imagine Cream if they'd formed post-Led Zep, or Rory Gallagher with a full range of distortion pedals and you'll come pretty close to the sound Joe conjures up. And despite being derivative, what a glorious sound it is. Here are eleven full-on heavy blues tunes each tooled-up with a screaming guitar solo. I'm not sure he adds much to the classics he covers; they tend to lose a little of their suppleness and subtlety in his hands, but otherwise this is a rollercoaster ride of an album. Stand out tracks are Walk in My Shadows, Trouble Waiting, If Heartaches were Nickels and the storming closer, Don't Burn Down That Bridge. It's worth noting that this is the live album, not the studio version, and there's not a wasted second on it, even though many of the crowd seem to have been there to whoop and holler rather than listen to the music. This is knock-down drag-out guitarslinging of the finest kind. Highly addictive and highly recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2013
This is one excellent guitarist who is shown at his best in live CDs. This feels unpolished and because of that you get the live feel and all the excitement of his music. This man is probably the best guitarist around today. He is versitile and has a unigue style that demands you listen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2010
My experience of Joe Bonamassa began with the Live From Nowhere In Particular cd. I have bought that and the subsequent ones as well as been blessed with two live shows. The logical thing to do (I thought), having been introduced by a live cd to his many talents was to begin my trawl through the back catalogue with another.
Several of the tracks remain as features in Joe's current live sets and were on the ..In Particular cd. , so it was interesting to compare the two. But it makes for a very appealing contrast between the raw talent and the polished article that is the Joe B sound of today. God bless my ipod for encouraging me to listen and appreciate it fully on the bus to work for a few days.
So why not 5 stars, now that I know and love this as much as any of Joe's work? The answer lies again in comparison with the ..In Particular cd. The audience involvement has been kept to a relative minimum on that one, and I just find that suits the way Joe plays; rockers, blues or ballads, they all need devout attention to marvel at the man's skill. New Day Yesterday Live though does at times remind me of the sort of reaction you hear when a star provides a cameo on Friends - woo hoo!! and all that - Horrendous. But that's just me, I've never liked that sort of daftness ; it's a small gripe, you can't fault the music at any stage during the playing time, and for anyone else like me looking for an entree to the earlier works of a mindblowing performer will not be disappointed by this set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2012
Wow, what a stunning album !!!

Each track is a classic, the sound is stunning, and the whole quality of the live performance shines through.

Anybody who claims to like guitar-driven blues-rock MUST add this to their collection. This will always be in my top ten CDs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2008
This live set was released as a dvd to accompany his second release, So It's Like That, which I think is brilliant, but overlooked. Anyway, the dvd show was magnificent. I prefer this live set to Nowhere in Particular from earlier this year. Joe seems hungrier to make the crowd realize who he is and his playing is more adventurous, or so it seems. Several years younger and playing with more raw power. It is a shame that there were several other songs that did not make the cut for the cd, including a great version of Are you Experienced and an absolute killer version of Had to Cry Today. As I mentioned previously, the dvd was included with the cd, I am sure that it was a limited edition release and that the So It's Like That cd does no longer include the dvd of this show. If you can find one, snap it up, great show and lengthy.
Turn It Up!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2013
Joes playing is his magnificent best, I just wish he had chosen a better venue. It sounds like he was playing to a bunch of drunks who seem to be grooving to a different gig. Maybe there was mud wrestling next door. Great music, rubbish recording.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2013
Well, if I was impressed by the studio album - this live version of "A new day yesterday" is even better - fantastic stuff!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

You and Me
£9.99
Black Rock
£12.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)