Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2008
Ivor Cutler was the scottish harmonium playing poet you would hear on Andy Kershaw or John Peel,s radio 1 late night show,sandwiched between The Fall,Undertones,Bhundu Boys or The Four Brothers.Sometimes it was a case of blink and you miss it,the track may of only lasted a minute or two,but it always fitted in with the music around it.
Ivor Cutler first arrived for alot of music fans via the Beatles,magical mystery tour tv special,but the songs on this cd come from earlier than that.Entitled,an elpee and two epees because that is what you get,Ivor,s first lp and two eps.
This is the first time on cd for all these tracks and when it was released I rushed out and bought it(alot cheaper now),and wasnt disappointed,the groaning and hissing noises made by the harmonium alone make it a worthy listen.Then there are the songs,totally awesome,a bit like marmite, you,ll either like it or hate it.
If you listened to Peelie or Kershaw then purchasing this collection is a must,if you didnt then I recommend this disc as a good starting point in Mr Cutlers back catalogue.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2009
This CD includes (in my opinion) many of Ivor Cutler's best tracks: Gravity Begins At Home, The Boo-Boo Bird, A Red Flower, A Tooth Song, etc. The sound quality is excellent, and all the songs and dialogues are hilarious, catchy, addictive and insane. Sometimes, you feel Cutler is making a philosophical point through his lyrics; at other times, you feel he's just plain silly. Either way, this CD will make you smile on a rainy day. A must-have for fans.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 22 March 2014
John Peel and his Radio 1 show must take credit for introducing me and countless others to the unique and wonderfully surreal world of poet, singer, songwriter and storyteller Ivor Cutler.
It's taken me a long time to get round to hearing 'An Elpee and Two Epees' which is now one of my favourite Ivor Cutler albums.
The 28 marvellous tracks are drawn from Cutler's early vinyl recordings 'Ivor Cutler of Y'Hup'(FONTANA, 1959), 'Who Tore Your Trousers?'(DECCA, 1961) & 'Get Away From The Wall'(DECCA, 1961).
Ivor Cutler was an uncompromising artist who once said that working as a schoolteacher "unlocked his creativity". He was an acknowledged influence on the Bonzos and Monty Python and this magnificent 70-minute CD is an ideal introduction to the extraordinary world of Ivor Cutler.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
First discovered Ivor when I was 14/15. As is usual (after that) I sought out everything he'd ever done. His bizzare gift is on full display in this album.

Once saw the great man in Edinburgh when I was a student there. He delivered some hilarious songs and poetical anectdotes - and also a poem about time and ageing that was so stunningly perfect that an awful lot of people in the audience, I kid you not, started crying.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I first came across Ivor Cutler long after he had died when I heard him reciting a bizarre and almost unintelligible poem on the Rock Bottom album by Robert Wyatt. Shortly afterwards I heard one of his songs playing late at night on Radio 6. This guy's work is fantastic. A disarmingly innocent collection of childlike stories, with sinister undertones and comic twists, is peppered in between bellows-driven ditties that are by turns outrageously silly, raucous and touching. Cutler regales the listener with memories from childhood, where adults are omniscient and powerful giants that command mystery and fear. It is little surprise learning that he was a primary school teacher; his stories and songs tap into part of the brain probably dormant since shortly after you began secondary school. It's not to everybody's taste however and a lot of people I know find him outright ridiculous, one of the very reasons I find his work so enchanting.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2010
A great intro to the surreal and curious world of I.C.,especially with the classic "Gruts".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
Its Ivor Cutler. Wonderful. Only have to say his name and I'm singing Size 16 and a half.. lovely lovely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
Not to everyone's taste but I loved the man. A unique talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
Enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.48

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)