Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 27 March 2002
'Neil Young jamming with Black Flag' as someone once described this album to me. Its been in my collection now for more than 10 years, and gets a play now and then. It still sounds like the first time I ever played it - unique, beautiful, haunting, insane, inspired and just downright out-of-this-world amazing. Dinosaur Jr have a pretty cool body of work, and J Mascis gets a mention now and then as a big influence on a lot of bands, but no guitar trio ever touched the heights of pure melodic noise on this album. The definitive Dinosaur line-up and sound. Listen to 'Raisans' at full blast - its the best guitar break ever recorded and still leaves me speechless every time.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 June 2007
Just when you thought that nothing worthwhile in terms of guitar music would ever come out of America again ( no really, that's how it felt ! ), along came the Dinosaur in 1987 with this landmark album to push us sideways off the cliff with their completely fresh take on 'Loud Psychedelic Rock'. The adrenalin rush was overwhelming for countless bands who followed in their wake, keeping the Indie thing alive but also taking a nod to the past with Mascis' searing, veneer-stripping guitar pyrotechnics. Capping this remastered issue off with their glorious re-make of the Fat Bob classic Just like Heaven is, just perfect. A timely, loud reminder of just how fine they were at their peak.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2010
First I think it is weird, that this is the first review on Amazon.

Dinosaur Jr. is a great band, and I really enjoy their music. But now I ordered their "Bug" and "You're Living All Over Me" albums, both in the reissued version. I received "Bug" in the UK "Sweet Nothing Records" version, and "You're Living All Over Me" in the US "Cargo Records" version". And on both albums I can't play the music on my PC, only the quicktime videos! Anybody else have this problem? or have a solution (except sending them back, of course)

This is not the first time this happens to me. All those extra features on cds are cool, but it shouldn't effect the compatibility: 5 (*****) stars for the music, 1 (*) star for the record companies!!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2006
This album starts as it means to go on with a harsh burst of wah'ed guitar noise and screams, giving way into the main part of Little fury things, a song with vocals seemingly about a rabbit (or girl) running away, but being one of those songs that can take on a slightly different meaning or point to every listener, almost calm vocalsand playing compared to many of the songs on this album, with a twisted sense of melody and song under all the fuzz and noise.

Sludgefest opens with a blast of feedback and launching into the guitar riffing, almost solo like parts over heavy fuzzy chords, finally switching to the vocals, and verse playing, before launching into what would be the solo, a blast of noise and lead guitar playing, then back to the riffing and eventually another verse

Raisans yet again opening with an unrelenting fuzzy guitar riff, nasty and fuzzy, but with a melodic element to it hidden in the background, a chorus that sounds big and hum able, yet still made up of grungy vocals and fuzzy riffs, breaking into a quiet simple guitar part with some garbled noise hidden in the background, before again launching back into the main song, with the nasty guitars sounds of the solo blasting out

Poledo is one track that stands out from the rest as a complete change in sound, acoustic guitar being strummed with almost whispered vocals on top, until about 1:36 where a blast of white noise washes over anything, stopping to reveal a short section of similar playing which turns to a garbled mess of odd vocals and back, the slow laid back section to the album, still undoubtedly Dinosaur Jr and horribly lofi.

This is an album that starts and doesn't let up the frantic pace with songs like the lung keeping up an unrelenting speed and feel, full of fuzzy guitars and washes of noise but still with that melodic element hidden in it that keeps you listening

This album isn't `nice' it has a fairly lofi sound to it that I found to still keep the 'quality' running through a cheaper car stereo that doesn't like many `better' albums, but in that it has a certain charm and sound that keeps you listening, with perfect production values and nicer guitar sounds it would probably lose a lot of what makes it unique and cool.

So not really an album for someone looking for refined sounds and perfect recordings, but for something grungy and lofi sounding that keeps you listening it is perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2006
'You're Living All Over Me' is simply one of the key 'rock' albums of all time, seeming to me one of those records whose influence was key in relation to what it followed and what followed it. Sure, there were plenty of rock albums that were significant in America in the 1980s - The Cramps & Gun Club debuts would influence many, then there was 'Double Nickels on the Dime', and 'Zen Arcade', Husker Du's 'Eight Miles High', and 'Let It Be', and 'Up on the Sun', and 'Evol', and stuff like Flipper, The Wipers, X & Chrome...but by 1987 there seemed to be a vague movement on both sides of the Atlantic centred on a new definition of rock music, stretching it into avant-extreme places. Records like 'Sister', 'Locust Abortion Technician' and 'Atomizer.' Acts like The Young Gods, My Bloody Valentine, The Jesus & Mary Chain, Loop &...Dinosaur Jr.

This was their second album and seems to me the missing link between US underground punk, metal, psychedelia and shoegazing!! I am sure Nirvana could not have happened without it and others who have nodded its way include Buffalo Tom, The Boo Radleys, Swervedriver, Ride, Screaming Trees, Teenage Fanclub, Velvet Crush, The Foo Fighters & The Afghan Whigs. Just about any alternative act with a guitar that followed was influenced by it, whether they knew it or not. I guess this might be one of those records that might be more influential and important than necessarily enjoyable...one to debate?

Personally I think it all stands up fine, the original trio of J Mascis, Lou Barlow & Murph aligned with Sonic Youth - it woukd be released on SST records, the Youth's Lee Renaldo provides backing vocals & the following year's 'Teen Age Riot' would be about Mascis. It's one of those records that is all a highlight, the trio compliment each other wonderfully - Barlow is particularly great singing Mascis' 'Little Fury Things', which certainly shows where the wonderful Sebadoh would come from on records like 'III', 'Bakesale' & 'Harmacy.' Other highlights include 'The Lung', 'In a Jar', 'Sludgefeast' & 'Raisans' - Mascis was becoming the primary songwriter, which lead to the split with Barlow following the almost as great 'Bug' a year or so later. This reissue comes with great sleevenotes from Byron Coley, a bonus track in the form of their 1989-cover version of The Cure's 'Just Like Heaven' & the promos to 'Little Fury Things' & 'Just Like Heaven.' Along with 'Bug' it's a must have purchase - though I think 'Green Mind' and 'Where You Been?' (both just reissued) have many fine moments. Barlow's work after, as a solo artist and member of the Folk Implosion/New Folk Implosion and Sebadoh is excellent too. One of those perfect records and one that will live all over you...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2008
A Dinosaur Jr masterpiece. In my opinion You're Living All Over Me contains some of Dinosaur Jr's best work ever. Little Furry Things, In a Jar, Raisans, Sludgefest....theres not a bad one on there. Better still, its one that never gets tiring over time and can be listened to again and again and again. Not as heavy with the guitar work as later albums and has a heavy influence from early and later member Lou Barlow which is always a plus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2007
This and Bug are Dinosaur's best LPs. So why not five stars?

Well, the older SST CD ended with their fabulous b-side cover of Peter Frampton's Show Me The Way, improving the sequence of the LP (which originally ended with Lou Barlow's excellent Poledo), in my opinion. It's just a better ending than Just Like Heaven. The Cure cover is a great song and should have been included as an extra. And where are the excellent JLH b-sides, Throw Down and Chunks? No doubt these anomalies are all to do with some dark, music-biz contractual baloney but it's a bit of a shame. So: music - five stars; CD reissue - four stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2012
Don't worry if you don't like this album on your first listening, it happened to me. If you give it a chance (or two), you might find out how emotionally resonant Dinosaur Jr. can be. Those punishing guitars and lethargic vocals may put someone off at first, but letting go and diving headfirst into the marshmallow-y sad sack world of J. Mascis, you might find some treats there.

First of all, the guitar playing is insanely good. Mascis may sound lazy, but his skill with the strings is never questioned on this album. His lyrics, though, are something else. You can't interpret them in any straight way; it all depends on your personal experiences. One song can mean something entirely different for two separate people, and that's the point of the album. If you don't feel moved by it, don't fret; it will get under your skin soon enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 1999
Must have for any serious music fan. Mascis combines his enchanting song-writing with melodies and licks that you could hang your hat on in 10 foot-stomping, chin-licking tracks. Rock on Baby....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2005
After years of anticipation for the re-release of this seminal album (it was previously almost impossible to get hold of)I was a bit reluctant to listen to it at first. Numerous great bands have remarked on this album being one of the most inspirational records ever pressed. I always had faith in the strength of this record due to the band's following release 'Bug'. 'Bug' was a really strong record that blended the pure dissonant noise of Sonic Youth (fellow label mates at the time) with frequent moments of Pop-Rock genius. So, how did I find 'You're Living All Over Me'?
In a word, brilliant. I was not dissapointed with this record. It certainly sounds very different from anything else I've heard from Dinosaur Jr. It doesn't really have the ear friendly pop elements of 'Bug' to such an extent and it doesn't have the more commercial buzz of the later Geffen releases. The fundamental aspect of this record is its' chaotic structure blended with really articulate riffs. The album fuses many genres, notably Rock, Metal, Folk/Country, Punk.
I think the most exciting aspect of this record is the way you can notice Dinosaur Jr's influence on bands to come. The most shining example I can think of is definately implicit in the first track, the phenomenal 'Little Fury Things'. When the track begins with Mascis' ear blasting screaming and the heavy, screaching riff you don't really know what to expect. However, the song sinks into a beautiful chord progression that yells My Bloody Valentine. From this it's easy to see the effect this record had on the likes of Ride and My Bloody Valentine. It's also evident to see the influence on Kurt Cobain. The brilliantly poppy 'In a Jar' not only indicates what direction the band would take with their next release 'Bug', it also hints at the way Kurt Cobain would use alternative rock as a way of expressing poppy hooks to great effects.
The only other thing I can really say about this album is the musicianship. J. Mascis is on top form as always with his giant guitar solos and great riffing. the other guy to look at in this band is Lou Barlow. Barlow was ultimately kicked out of the band but it's hard not to notice the great input he had. His bass playing in this record is fantastic and he also shows signs of what he would achieve with Sebadoh, Folk Implosion and his solo work.
In a nutshell, great record! Not just for alternative junkies like myself but fofr anyone who likes great music.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)