Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
37
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 May 2008
The story in this film is very simple, which is not suprising given that is from the Disney stable, where stories are made to be appreciated by children as young as 4. Rest assured that young children who like horses will like this film.

To sum it up, the film is set somewhere in the arabian peninsula at the end of World War II, there is young girl who finds a fiery young black stallion, makes friends with it and then rides the horse in a race to restore the fortunes of her grandfather who was once a proud and famous breeder but has fallen on hard times.

However, where this film really excels is that it is, quite simply, the most beautifully shot film of the most beautiful animal on the planet - the arabian stallion. Its a relatively short film, but I think the timing is just right. If you think horses are beautiful animals you will appreciate this simple, short, breathtakingly beautiful film.

I could criticise a few things about the film, because it is far from perfect, but I would rather give it the full five stars... enjoy!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2008
This is a moving story of a friendship between a girl and a horse, who met in a desert, where a special bond emerged betwen them and they went on to win an important race together, which helps to restore the girl's grandfather as a horsebreeder. Surely it's not a very realistic story, more like a fairy tale, but that's what it's supposed to be and it's surely a must have for all horse lovers as it tells a touching story of friendship and is beautifully filmed. My 2 year old daughter who is as crazy about horses as i am simply loves this film and knows it by heart. A good film to watch with your children.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2005
A great all round family movie. Old fashioned but lovely for kids particularly if they love horses.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2006
although bit slow in parts ,this film was interesting,i love all animal films,my child enjoyed this too.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 January 2013
Thought this Movie was great watched and enjoyed it with my two horse mad girls. Was bought as part of a trilogy as a stocking filler for Xmas. Well packed arrived prompltly. Only quip is I do not recall any explanation as to why the same horse was with different owners in each movie I must have missed how one mimute hes in the US then in the desert or maybe I just didnt concentrate lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2006
No suprises ,this storyline has been used many times,as a collector of disney films i was very disappointed.

I think horse lovers should buy this film,no twists or turns and the plot is easy read.

There are far much better films of disney out there. Best parts of the film is the scenery in namibia.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
I haven't watched the film yet, but loved the other 'Black Stallion' films and books when I was younger, so am sure I'll really love this film!!!
Happy Christmas, and all the best for 2016! Cheers, Vicky xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
I purchased this and The Black Stallion and the Black Stallion Returns for my niece several years ago. She loved all three, she has now 'grown up' and passed then to my daughter who watches them regularly and loves them too. Would highly recommend.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
A charming, though a little short, movie that the kids (age 9 and 11) want to watch again and again. Its picturesque and has adventure and action with a nice storyline, a little girl and a wild horse. Wish it had been a bit longer but all in all very good.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2009
This film is just dreadful really. It short, predictable, silly and the story is totally flat. There doesnt seem to be any real feeling between Neera and the stallion, and this is the biggest fault as its supposed to be the basis for the film. A shame really, as a lot of work training the horses obviously went into it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.