Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
76
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2009
Enduring Love [DVD] [2004]

On a positive note, the film's cinematography is both stunning, captivating, and alone makes the film worth watching. As do both Daniel Craig and Rhys Ifans' performances as Joe and Jed respectively. However, the change of Clarissa's profession from Keats' scholar to sculptor striks a discordant note early on which never, for those who have read McEwan's masterpiece, never stops vibrating and allows you to be carried away by the cinematopraphy and above performances.

The main problem with the film is that the omission of Joe's first person narration, and Jed's letters (amongst numerous other missing pieces of the original puzzle)leaves it almost devoiod of the central frission between the three grand meta-narratives of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries: science, art and religion. Without the discordancy between the three, and Joe's overriding scientific perspcective in filtering what happens, the film loses the sense of obsession, and how interpretation and perspective are ultimately subjective. All of which help to make reading the novel such a rewarding experience.

Nevertheless, if you have not read the novel or/ and have no intention of reading it, I would thoroughly recommend you watch the film as its beauty alone will make it worth the time taken to do so.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
This is a case of a film which is superior to the novel it's based on (by Ian McEwan). A tragic accident to which they are both witnesses beings Rhys Ifan into the life of teacher Daniel Craig. Ifan's subsequent obsession with Craig and his unremitting stalking of him ruins Craig's career and his relationship with his live-in partner and leads to a violent denouement. In the novel, the stalker was comfortably-off thanks to an inheritance: Ifan's stalker is living in squalor in a lonely squat plastered with photos of his victim taken secretly,which is not only more believable but adds to his creepiness. Turning the novel's heroine, the high-class Clarissa, a college lecturer, into Claire, a sculptor, also adds richness to the plot. as Claire'sr creativity and imagination seem to ally her more with the stalker Ifans than the sensible, down-to-earth, rather smug Craig - a point which the final, rather puzzling shot, seems to underline. This shot also seems to be making the point that Ifans' behaviour is the catalyst which has led to the realationship between teacher and sculptor becoming more honest and open

The film explores the nature of love and relationships, both hetero- and homosexual, in far greater depth than did the novel and Ifans' metamorphosis from seemingly gentle, harmless fan to obsessive intruder makes for a tension which is at times nigh unbearable.This is a film that relies fot its on the shock of the unpredictable.I would have awarded five stars had it not been for the inclusion of a rather unbelievable sub-plot, also in the novel, which was superfluous and unnecessary.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 March 2011
Joe and Claire are about to share a romantic picnic when a stricken hot air balloon drifts into the field. With a young boy on board and petrified, and the pilot desperately trying to anchor the balloon, Joe and three other men rush to help. But it will end in disaster and bring into Joe's life, Jed Parry. It's the start of something that threatens to spiral out of control.

Enduring Love is an adaptation {screenwriter Joe Penhall} of Ian McEwan's novel. It's directed by Roger Michell and stars Daniel Craig {Joe}, Rhys Ifans {Jed} and Samantha Morton {Claire}. I think the first thing that should be noted is that the film differs greatly from McEwan's excellent page turner. Tho the essence of the source, such as obsessions, loneliness and to endure love, exist in the film, it does have a number of significant changes. If they be for better or worse,? well that's for others to decide should they enter both mediums.

Enduring Love is a fascinating, if at times uneasy, viewing. One that is actually hard to sell to potential first time viewers. It struggled to find an audience at the box office on account of its complex themes and unwillingness to pander to the norm. And! it's cold, very cold {something that is brilliantly enhanced by Haris Zambarloukos' photography}. So ultimately it's a film that has no specific target audience, this in spite of some lazy observationists trying to lump it in with the formulaic stalker genre. Personally it took me three viewings and a deep delve into the DVD goodies to finally understand and get the movie. So with that I'd urge those who watched once and hated it to maybe try again. For film's of this type don't come around that often, and when they do it feels like a breath of fresh air. Even if that breath is tainted with a chill brought about by the human condition and all its intricate possibilities. 8/10
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Wow, not what I was expecting. Another excellent performance by Ifans. This film is disturbing and compelling, I enjoyed the acting and the story and was completely and happily mis-lead by the cover.

Watch this film if you want a creepy thriller of twisted obsession.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
I studied this book in English and thought it would be a good idea to get the film so I would know the basis of the book. Although the film is very different from the book I thought it was excellent Daniel Craig made a fantastic Joe and Rhys Ifans has the most amazing interpretation of Jed Parry, there is even a sneaky little appearance from Ben Wishshaw! Defiantly love this quirky film!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
Enjoyed this film more than I thought I would, so much so I have recommended it for my mum to watch. Im used to seeing Daniel Craig in the bond films so it wasn't the type of role I expected him to be in. I thought he played the part well. I have never read the book but certainly enjoyed the storyline of the film. It was different from the usual high drama, lots of action type films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 January 2006
Condensing 200 odd pages of deep philosophical McKewen themes into a 90 minute film is no easy task, and judging from many of the reviews both online and offline that tend to see this as just as another mediocre thriller about pyschological obsession, one might think that Roger Michell has failed miserably in his task.
Bar the ending, the film adaptation certainly follows the Ian McKewan book quite faithfully, with the minor changes that have been made, such as Joe becoming a published academic who teaches his students that love is simply a darwinian trick to get us to copulate, designed seemingly to stress the key issues of the original novel - can man live guided only by a scientific understanding of himself and the world, and would such a life in fact be worth living?
These conundrums are expressed in the film sometimes a little too obviously to the point of crudeness (the camera zooms in and out of focus from a dazed Jed to a bunch of ripe apples). But the consequences of eating from forbidden fruit of knowledge, the letting go of innocent and empty illusions and the resulting madness and chaos, are brought to life on the whole superbly, especially in the opening of the film, pure McKewen of course, but in Michell's cinematic evocation of it, simply unforgettable. As Joe lets go of the doctor, the boy and the balloon, just as he has let go of the safe and contented predictablity of everyday faith in the world, its love and its meanings, he discovers that only unpredictable tragedy ensues.
And yet this film, a little like the novel, never quite becomes the classic that you feel it could and should have been. Despite this, it remains a well crafted, admirably acted and, so long as you don't try to understand the apparently confusing plot as a simple thriller, a film with lots of rewarding meaning to extract.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Associate producer: Ian McEwan. You really need to bear that in mind before you criticise the film for its deviations from the book. There's not much actual story anywhere here, if the ugly truth be known, but good storytelling can more than make up for that, and both McEwan's novel and this film do so, in very different ways. It only really suffers for being shoe-horned into 90 minutes, so a reasonable intelligence and imagination are called for in extrapolating what you see and hear into the myriad complexities of any number of mundane and extraordinary lives. I watched all the special features on my copy, and it's rare that a film reaches deeply enough inside me to make me do that.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
A really good film, very compelling story and rememberable characters. A really strong cast that carries a heavy plot well, if you want to see Daniel Craig do something different from Bond then watch this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
An excellent film, based on Ian McEwan's novel. Personally, I prefer reading to watching as the book is more exciting andyou can your imagination. An accident witness meets his stalker - that's what is going on...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)