Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2005
In the eternal childhood battle of Sonic versus Mario, who would win? Well, I always thought Sonic would win, because he was covered in spikes and Mario was just a fat plumber, but I could be wrong. Either way, it's a contest we're never likely to see, so I'll have to stick to pitting all the Sonic games ever against each other in Sonic Mega Collection Plus.
Featuring a staggering number of 2D Sonic and Sonic-related games, this is a history of one of the greatest video game icons on a single disc. The games all play as well as they did the day they were born. Sadly, not all of them were born looking too bright and you'll find time has not been kind to all of Sonic's early outings.
My favourites are the original Sonic and Flicky, the brilliant, bird-catching spin off game - so cute, so relaxing, so frustrating - but there really is something for everyone here, albeit a very simple something. Just be prepared to wade through some of the less talented Sonic offspring on your way to the solid gold hedgehog-related nirvana hidden within.
Along with the games themselves, there is also a whole bunch of supporting bits and bobs - movies, original instruction manuals, hints and so on - to unlock and admire at your leisure. There's no doubt that there's a huge amount of gameplay here, but at 25 quid perhaps it's a bit too expensive to warrant buying. Depends on how much you love your retro games.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2005
Love it love it love it,I'm really pleased i just recently bought a mega drive consol,so we could buy sonic again!Had one about 10 years ago then the playstation 1 came out, gave the mega drive to my nephew,Then noticed sonic mega collection ps2,didnt hesitate and bought it,Am i glad its better than before lots more plus the old favourites,I cant praise this enough highly recommend to everyone.Buy it you wont be dissapointed plus with AMAZON you get a free sega t-shirt,long live SONIC.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2005
Sonic the hedgehog is one of my heroes. I remember playing the games back on the Mega Drive when i was younger, and this really brought back memories. I have been disappointed with all the latest sonic stuff, like sonic advance, it lost something with the "Improved" graphics, sonic is best just as he was. And this really brings back those memories. I guarantee this is a good buy to old and new alike.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2005
when i first saw this my jaw dropped to the floor and my eyes stared at the screen for about 5 minutes!! The most memorable games from my childhood- avaliable on 1 disc on the best game platform EVER!!!!!!!!!! It's just too good to be true!
Oh but it is....AND a free sega t'shirt! Wicked man wicked!
The best game by far is Sonic & Knuckles- the game is ace! Tails can fly too, which you couldn't control in the 2nd one!
O m g why am i sitting here blabbing on about how good this package is? JUST BUY IT FOR GOODNESS SAKE!
I believe every kid should own this (including the odd teenager and young adult who remembers these games fantastically! )
Enjoy it- its brill!!!
P.s. Thank you amazon for selling this!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2005
There really is no need to write a review... Its Sonic where have you been for the last 15 years! Buy of Amazon & get a SEGA t-shirt. I had one when i was a kid and wore it 24/7, this one will be getting the same beating!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2005
In a small way this release marks a piece of gaming history, this is the first time these classic Sonic games have appeared on Playstation (and Xbox), although Sonic Heroes was actually the first multi-platform release for Sonic this release feels more significant as these games are where Sonic really feels at home in.
There are 18 games included on this compilation in all, and these don't include the much wanted Sonic CD and a few have to be unlocked. But I cannot help feeling disappointed with this latest compilation, The first Sonic compilation was in 1997 was Sonic Jam on the Sega Saturn which included the main 4 sonic mega drive games with the add-on abilities of the Sonic & Knuckles cart, its extras were probably the most complete of any re-releases of the Sonic classics, there was a 3D "Sonic World" with mini-games and the ability to listen to Sonic movies and all of the Sonic soundtracks, there were also comic scans, pictures and manuals. Then there was the Gamecube version of Sonic Mega Collection in 2003, but in this there was now no mini-world or music selection, and now Sonic Mega Collection Plus.
This PS2 & Xbox collection feels the most slimmed down and minimalistic yet. For extras we've now been reduced to the comics, pictures, black and white manuals and a couple of movies from Sonic Heroes, Sonic Mega Collection for Gamecube had movies from Sonic CD.
I can't help feeling that this compilation could have been more like a special edition DVD that would do the classic games justice, as it's almost down to a menu to select the ports of the games, it feels like the value should be in what comes with the package. There could have been a soundtrack selector, a history of sonic, more movies and mini-games, as much detail perhaps as you might find in a Simpsons DVD season set for example.
As for the games themselves, here in Europe the Mega Drive games don't play flawlessly as they are limited to 50 HZ so are noticeably slower than the Gamecube version, and the emulation isn't as good on this version, there are sometimes delays after picking rings up and slowdowns for example.
Initially 7 Mega Drive games are available, Sonic 1, Sonic 2, Sonic 3, Sonic & Knuckles, Sonic Spinball & Dr Robotnik's Mean Bean Machine but 5 more can be unlocked by opening and re-opening the sonic games over and over again, 3 of the unlockable mega drive titles are the games you used to get when you locked the other sonic cartridges into the Sonic & Knuckles cartridge, these were included by default in the Saturn's Sonic Jam.
The Sonic CD that many fans wanted to see didn't make it to this collection either, are emulation problems really the issue? space on the disk certainly isn't as PS2 DVDs can be up to 9GB and the size of most of the sonic games here don't exceed a couple of megabytes, Sonic CD wouldn't exceed the size of a CD-ROM (about 650 MB) if the CD quality music was included.
The Game Gear games play well enough, the only gripe here is that there aren't enough of them, 6 are included here but all 12 Sonic Game Gear releases were included as unlockables in Sonic Adventure DX for the Gamecube, Sonic 2 for GG is an infuriating omission from the collection here.
So while you do get the classic games, you get little else. Even though having the games themselves is good, they can be enjoyed time and time again it would have been good to get a collection that was more of a celebration of the sonic series and was generous with its' features, they have obviously got the retro feeling right in some of the nicer touches to the game including the atmospheric background music and the snapshots of the consoles, but all-in-all this feels a bit bare to the bones. So this feels like a missed opportunity. If you have a Gamecube's I wouldn't choose this version over the Gamecubes Sonic Mega Collection, as the classics are better emulated and play faster with the 60 hz mode. You could pick up Sonic Adventure DX for all the Game Gear games even though they would have to be unlocked.
So only get this if you want to play the games because the plus certainly doesn't mean a collection of lots of extras.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2005
If you remember the sonic games all those years ago, then it will feel quite strange playing this game. Some of the games on it i have never heard of, like Sonic Chaos for the game boy megadrive, but it was great playing them. It has all the classics like Sonic 1, 2, 3 and 3D. But if you remember the old megadrive game boy thing, it has loads of games that came out for that too.
It has loads of extras too, like the new sonic heroes game, the old comics and illistrations of Sonic and his gang. Some games are also unlockable too, it will keep you occupied for hours and hours, but it just comes short of a 5 sadly. Buy it if you are a sonic fan.
c ya!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2005
JUST BUY IT!!!!!!!! Sonic at his best,,, the graphics may noy be lush like the newer versions, but the gameplay is so very much better,,,,,, sonic desighners need to sit down and have a look at all the working elements of these early outings, and concentrate on these for future games rather than just adding pritty graphics an hoping we wont notice the poor gameplay and very short lifespan, because at the moment they are flogging a very dead horse
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2005
Great game, but its region free people, so just buy it from America and save £10!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)