Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2005
I have grown up the Doom series & am currently a big fan of the Rainbow Six series & not a fan of Halo2. I bought this game as a gap filler until Lockdown comes out, thinking form past reviews that it might be ok.
I first tried about 10 mins of the bonus games; Doom & Doom II. It made me laugh to start with as the graphics look really dated but game play is still excellent & it all came flooding back to me, how to dodge Imps fire balls, maps etc.
Ok, now Doom 3. Well I am writing this as I am only 2 hrs into the game & felt so compelled to let you know what its like.
I am gob smacked! I am 35 yrs old & laugh out loud when anyone jumps while watching a scary movie. Believe me!! I have never jumped so much in 2 hrs in my life whilest playing this game!!
The graphics are amazing & attention to detail is endless. This game is fantastic it feels & plays like the first Doom games but improved by 170%. This game has got so much going for it, my ears have not experienced anything like it, if you have suround sound your jaw will drop.
LIVE:
Have only played this game for an hour on live in Co-Op mode & makes you laugh out loud at the sounds your partner makes with pure fear as they venture face on with an creature of the dark.
**WARNING** How long can YOU sit playing this game in the dark with 5.1 suround sound??? I gave you about 5 mins before you start crying for your mom & that applies to any age!!
A very, VERY Good game!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2007
Survival horror with action. Picture walking on a blood stained floor, three bullets in the handgun, you must leave the comfortable station room and get to the otherside and lock that wide open door, you leave getting closer to that gapping void beyond the door, then... groaning noises and a foot scrapping closer, you can see an outline, taking careful aim... then out with the lights and deafening laughter, the room is now lit soley in satanic fiery glowing symbols and centre stage a porthole with intruders from another demension! and great game to play in the dark! I just really liked this game so much. I can't say enough gud things about it, great great great!. The most terrifying version of hell I got to witness!!! Buy the board game aswell :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2005
Bought the collectors edition and all I can say is what a diffrence 10 years makes loved the games the first time round haven't been able to put the game down have even been playing the original games coop and deathmatch
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2005
All I can say is that Doom3 now sets a standered for graphics on the Xbox and also brilliant use of sound to create an extremely tense and genuinly frightening atmosphere.
Best played with surround sound speakers or a nice comfortable pair of headphones, a game has never scared me this much atmosphere wise since the silent hill games.
The game is set before the other doom games occured so in theory this is a prequal not really a sequal so the title may confuse some.You are a marine sent in to replace other marines who have gone missing aboard a research facility on mars and it is not long before you slowly creep around the dark corridors finding the exit to each level and hoping you can escape the nightmare and fight off the hoards of evil demons that try and stop your ever aproaching end to the game.
The game has 40 levels some of which are short and some of which are reasonably lengthy and the later ones have such truely breathtaking graphics you will wonder wheather it was possible for the xbox to create them.
And the special edition box is a nice touch with an excellent online co-op mode and deathmatch mode please buy this game now.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
Alot scarier than the originals.But have been playing it constantly since it arrived.
Backgrounds are alot better than original but this is to be expected.Enormous fun,even better if you play in the dark
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 April 2005
To cut straight to the chase, the PAL version of Xbox "Doom 3" does NOT support PAL-60 (60Hz mode). Yep, we're looking at yet another PAL version of a top game that's limited to 50Hz because the developer simply couldn't be bothered - and that's especially annoying when your PAL Xbox is built to do 60Hz, and it's a doddle for developers to include support. This applies to the main game as well as the pair of retro Doom games included on the same disc. The whole shebang is 50Hz.
I'm sure most people will say "So what? It's full screen innit?" - but that's not the point. This game undoubtedly pushes the Xbox hardware about as far as it can possibly go and the developer spent months optimising it to run as smoothly as possible on NTSC systems, so the last thing it needs is 17% extra work-load addressing the extra lines on a PAL display. Try side-stepping in a larger room and you'll see the screen update become erratic and choppy - something I bet our cousins across the pond don't have to endure.
On top of that, the fact that the PAL version is 50Hz means that you will NOT be able to play on Xbox LIVE against anyone outside of Europe due to the speed difference - so the other reviewer on this page who was looking forward to playing "Doom 3" against cousin Harry in the USA ... well, sadly, he can forget about it!
It's high time PAL gamers got the same deal as the Americans. While it's great that the PAL Xbox console supports 60Hz and makes this possible, this fact just makes it even more of an insult when developers can't be bothered to use it. In short, those of you who can run import games are advised to go USA with this one.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
Amazing special edition of Doom 3 in a tin box which as well as the game also has doom 1 & 2 and some short videos with the ID software team about the makings of the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
Didn't finish the game and couldn't sell it as the 18 cert was missing from the actual version I received. (i/e not like s/shot) so CEX wouldn't accept
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
The game came in great packaging and looked like new never mind very good everything was included and the tin was in great looking order
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2011
the game is in perfect conditions and I have received it in the expected time. It was really a bargain to achieve such a wonderful game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

£23.91

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)