Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 13 March 2008
This is an outstanding documentary and does not pull any punches.
This film tells the story of Mark Kerr and his trials and tribulations in Ultimate Fighting. His spiralling degeneration through drugs is openly depicted, and his struggle to make a comeback.
Though it does not appear as impressive as many of the close combat sports, it is extremely brutal. Personally I was shocked by the baying of the fans who seemed to be crying for blood. The fighters themselves seem to pursue this sport, more than anything, because it is just a job.
I thought it was fabulous and sad at the same time.
Great extras.......................Well worth watching.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
Really gives you an insight on what it's like for a fighter outside the cage. Personal battles such as drug addiction and relationship problems seem to be ignored as fighters are often looked upon as mere fighting machines with no emotions. A must for old school fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
I knew very little about UFC before watching this documentary. Having watched it, I've seen more than enough.

The film concentrates on the high and lows of one of the world's best MMX fighters, Mark Kerr, over a two or three year period. At the start of the film we find out that Kerr is such a great MMX fighter that no one else can really live with him and his fights are short and brutal. He then moves to Japan to fight in PRIDE where the money rewards are substantial. Things then start to go wrong for the unbeaten fighter, the rules are changed to prevent fights ending too swiftly (effectively wrecking Kerr's style), he takes a drug overdose, his relationship with his girlfriend turns sour and things start to unravel.

This is a well made film but personally I found the subject matter hard to digest. The fight scenes are nothing short of brutal which I found quite disturbing and yet at the same time they lack spectacle. In the past I have enjoyed watching some of the great boxers perform but this type of no holds barred fighting holds little (to my mind anyway) in the way of entertainment. I also had little sympathy for the characters (despite Mark Kerr looking like Martin Johnson) and by the end cared little for any of them.

UFC fans will probably lap this up, I would suggest neutrals will find it a little indigestable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2005
This could just be the best film I have ever seen. I'm not particularly into Ultimate Fighting and saw this at a mate's place. It totally blew me away, this guy is the hardest man I have ever seen, the fights in it are unlike anything I have ever seen, totally brutal and there really are no rules, it's like the most primative form of entertainment in the world but totally enthrawlling, you just can't stop watching.
but... this is not just a video of super hard men kicking the crap out of each other, this is a genuinely brilliant piece of film making. It takes you on a real journey into the life and mind of Mark Kerr (the star, UFC champion for a decade! and super hard man/sestivite and intelligent family man.). From start to finish this is amazing! I highly recommend that you purchase a copy, and maybe even 2 so you can make someone the gift of a lifetime!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2009
its a must see film, martial arts fan or not, it is extremely enjoyable. its filmed well, edited well and with a story you couldnt make up, its in my top ten films.
(and if you think you wont like it, my other top ten include im a cyborg, day/night watch, 300 and mad detective to name a few)
oh, and if you like this, watch CHOKE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
Amazing watch! My girlfriend enjoyed this and she is not into mma. Very compelling!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
v good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2005
Far from ever being likely to be the best movie you are going to see, The Smashing Machine makes interesting if not engrossing viewing. As documentaries on the subjects go it's pretty simple, the Mark Kerr saga in Pride tournaments including his related troubles. If your looking for a general documentary on the on-goings in Pride or UFC, you won't find it here. There are one too many money making, self-promoting documentaries of this type and it's fine if you like that kind of thing.
The urge to view from start to finish will only be there if you're a relative novice on the subject, a fan of the fighter or an avid UFC/Pride buff. The documentary is gruesome where you'd think it would be, from brutal blows and menacing kicks it's worth maybe one watch. Missing a moment for a customary cup of tea doesn't do much harm.
In conclusion, here is a documentary that does not serve its purpose: to inform and entertain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse