Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
129
4.7 out of 5 stars
All Quiet on the Western Front [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 January 2014
A superb piece of film making by Lewis Milestone. An early film made from the German point of view, but no ass hysterics or patriotism here - just the hard facts and truth about life in the trenches. if you are a film buff get this version - NOT the more modern one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
This is one of the most important films of the early "talkie" period. What is remarkable is that the waste of human life between 1914 and 1918 that is portrayed in this film failed to deter the progress towards an even bigger war and loss of life in 1939.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
All Quiet On The Western Front [DVD] I watched this film many years ago at the cinema,when in my teens, thought it was a very good film then, it hase'nt lost any appeal for me over the years, no fancy graphics just plain acting very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
An absolutely first-class film and one of the first anti-war films. Remarkable book written soon after the war ended. A newer version in colour starring, amongst others, Ernest Borgnine, has a less 'period' feel but is none-the-less well-worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
a film of the decade of 30 with a quality-2000s, the work is amazing in this film, and come Digibook, gorgeous packaging, containing information of directors, photos, storyboards and more, and is part of the celebration of 100 years Universal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Was brought in conjunction with the book. Fast delivery, good condition. In black and white and an interesting watch. Interesting subject if you are at all interested in the war fought in the trenches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
I bought this movie to show my eighth grade students since we're doing a unit on WWI. They haven't watched it yet but I am certain they will enjoy it. So rich with militarism and its trappings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
I have read this book many times and like the characters and the coverage of the war - the loss of them all gradually must have been so upsetting to those few who survived.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Very thought provoking about the horror and futility of war. I last saw the film when a boy, about seventy years ago,and it hasn't lost its punch.C.Lowe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2012
One of the greatest movies ever, wonderful restauration, incredible quality, a master piece. Universal is doing it perfect for its 100th anniversary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)