Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
12
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2013
This DVD is the worst. The widescreen image is chopped to 4:3--unthinkable with Chaplin's beautifully precise framing!--so despite A COUNTESS FROM HONG KONG being sort of the crystallisation of a certain classical sensibility that died with it (or, rather, whose death its disastrous reception made tangible), I'd encourage people to seek it out in its original state, however difficult that may be, rather than settle for this mutilated copy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2009
Chaplin's last film and one I would highly recommend viewing. He takes two Hollywood stars and doesn't allow them to act as you would usually see them portrayed. He shows them in a series of comic situations that highlight the fact that these stars are only people. They can look foolish and human and this in turn helps us see the absurdity and banality of most Hollywood films. A little gem.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
An under rated performance, the passion between the two main characters lies between their attitudes and what is not said, once you realise the mentality of behaviour of the two individuals then you can understand the heaving repression between them
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
one of my husband's favourite actresses so we have been collecting her films. This one is one of our favourites
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
I did not receive this dvd ordered from Zoverstocks because they never dispatched it having sold more than they had in stock. Then when they obtained further stock they would not honour my purchase at the original price. Only because I queried where it was I got my money refunded. If I had not queried it they would just have left me without the dvd and without the money paid. They then refused to communicate with me concerning their failures, not answering my further e-mails. I have thus purchased this dvd as I will now all my future dvds from another supplier.

I did not find this to be a very good movie, because although it is intended to be a comedy the plot was just too ridiculous; the major weakness was the way in which the "countess" blackmailed the guy she latched onto. It was just all too unreal to have even a modicum of possibility, and thus to me was not even humorous. I would not recommend this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2003
Chaplin's last film is a never-ending series of doors being opened and closed, slammed in some cases - the same door, the same cabin aboard a ship with exiled Russian countess Sophia Loren as a blind passenger locking herself in with married oil millionaire Marlon Brando. There are scenes in the film that work, but they are few and far between. Every time the doorbell buzzes, it's like a jolt going through your body and you realize you were about to fall asleep. Cinematography is gorgeous, and so is La Loren. A very tired last attempt by Chaplin, the man that gave us so much from the mid-10's and onwards.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
Arrived quickly and without any problems
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
.....Is that you can avoid being shown this film and having to go for a long walk to get away from it- without drowning!

Just for the record, whenever a film was released as directed by CHARLES Chaplin, as here, all the absurd pomposity he sometimes wallowed in is guaranteed to spoil the end product. This was his first film for a decade or so, and it's that, not his age per se, that spoils things.

Neither of the leads are made for this sort of cod-Terrence Rattigan drawing room social crisis posing as a romantic movie, but with all the cliches in here, it's difficult to think of anyone who would be comfortable. OK,there's no chemistry between Brando & Loren, but that isn't the problem-neither character is remotely believable nor sufficiently sympathetic enough for you to suspend disbelief long enough to engage your interest. To be fair to them, at this stage,Brando was on a downhill slope which only the Godfather would reverse, Loren had just survived tax-avoidance scandals, so both might have been desperate or drunk enough to take the parts.

There is no intrinsic reason why even something as antedeluvianly dated as this film is, still couldn't have exerted some charm or grace upon you. I'm afraid it didn't in 1966, and, even now, in my mature days, it still looks, sounds and tastes like a turkey the size of the Andes-avoid it, unless you need an extra coaster or frisbee for the dog!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
Some people will like this, but was there a worse film made during the 1960s?

The script is neither funny nor plausible, Brando is wooden, Loren merely statuesque, Hedron wasted, and Sydney Chaplin not really good enough. When one observes that this film was released in the same month as Blow-Up its-out-of date-ness by two or three decades is all too apparent. I could say more.

Then there are the sets. It is not so much that they are far too large for an ocean-going liner (always assuming there were any in 1966 - before cruising got started) but the suite (where all the action happens) look shore-bound - no hint that they are on a ship and at sea, and worst of all that door-buzzer constantly going is annoying beyond endurable. The music is also lost in an earlier decade.

Then there is the question of the script - perhaps when written as apparently it was in the 1930s it would have been do-able, (intolerant Ambassador treating his staff like slaves) but under its veneer of sentimentality I found it morally fairly offensive: Pro-prostitution, pro-adultery, pro-divorce, pro fake-marriage and pro-American open-boarders (provided you are white and attractive and with an entitlement complex to boot). Not the slightest hint that Hong Kong is British either.

The only pleasing moment is when having arrived in Honolulu, Loren hitches a lift on a right-hand drive lorry - well they are, bizzarly, at Pinewood after all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
GIVEN THE TALENTS INVOLVED THIS FILM IS A DISAPPOINTMENT.HOWEVER THE SERVICE FROM AMAZON WAS TOP-CLASS AS ALWAYS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse