Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 23 March 2017
Great to see Quatermass again after all these years. It is 'hard' science fiction with accurate physics including orbital mechanics such as use of sun-earth Lagrange 2, and poor Leo being rocketed by gun recoil from an asteroid's low gravity. All three series are there, four episodes are missing from the first series but the scripts are provided for the faithful to peruse. Odd items included are a lady BBC announcer (rare in those days) and an officious 'Not for children or persons of a nervous disposition' warning. Excellent production, none the worse for having a limited budget and being filmed in b+w on 35mm. Three series each of six or seven half hour episodes.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2015
The most complete version of 'the Pit' and presented in the original episodic format, there is a version available that has been edited into a seamless narrative by Nigel Kneale himself, but this omits some crucial scenes along with the credits and review scenes at the top and tail of each episode, and it is over 4 times the price of this offering. You also get Quatermass II in it's entirety in pre-video lo def! and the first two episodes of 'Experiment' the only ones they tried to record onto film stock, filming from a TV monitor as it was transmitted live, the quality was so bad they gave up after the first two eps.
All great stories from a master writer all produced live and comes with comprehensive notes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2014
I have only just finished viewing the Quatermass Collection, the original B/W 1950's. Absolutely fabulous and the great part of all this is that I did not even know what Quatermass was, I have never seen it before. I have just purchased another version of Quatermass, just minutes ago. It is just a crying shame that four episodes are missing from the first part of this original Quatermass trilogy. I purchased the second version with Brian Donlevy hoping that it does pick up additional viewing that may tie up in my mind how the B/W Quartermass may have concluded. All episodes of Quatermass II and Quartermass The Pit are intacked on my DVDs. It is only Quatermass I that has ony two episodes. To sum it up, great viewing. Additional information days after my first review. I have watched another version of Quatermass, Brian Donlevy, but it did not give me any additional viewing information, so it followed the original with some changes. It was not too bad, but not as good as the BBC first version. I have also watched Quatermass with John Mills. It started a bit slow and then picked up. But it was definitely not a patch on the original BBC Quatermass. Even though it was in B/W the original BBC version was still the best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2018
This collection has its limitations, although the episodes of the first series (with ample warning given in the Product Description) can be regarded as a 'bonus extra'. The acting and technical aspects reflect the style of entertainment available in those far-off days and the stories are a reminder of life in those times, with the very real fear of an alien invasion. It also acts as a reminder of how much simpler life was back then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2017
A pity that so much of the "Quatermass Experiment" is missing, but what there was is good. I found "Quatermass 2" less inspiring, but "Quatermass and the Pit" is sheer, glorious entertainment. I never saw Quatermass as a child, as we didn't have a TV, so I am glad of this chance to catch up. I thoroughly enjoyed the authentic 50's London setting: took me back a bit. OK, so it's in fuzzy black and white, but who cares? Great stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2013
I have to confess that I found the earlier series quite hard going. Only the
first two episodes of "The Quatermass Experiment" were available for inclusion
here, and, for me, this was quite enough. "Quatermass II" is almost equally
plodding and the Hammer film is really a better option.

However, "Quatermass and the Pit" made up for all that had gone before.
A better Professor Quatermass (and cast in general) and a better script.
Each episode is loaded with atmosphere, the special effects are still pretty
good and the whole thing is genuinely creepy. The restoration of video/film
makes it a joy to watch - a real television classic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2015
Some of the earliest BBC recordings and it shows in the quality but that just adds to the fascination for me. The narrative that Nigel Kneale spins is utterly engaging. It's a crying shame that the last 4 episodes of the first serial are missing but watching the hammer horror version helped fill in the gaps. Technically the quality or recording for the next serial is a big step up up but still a bit ropey. The influence this had at the time can still be seen in many SF ventures such as early seventies Doctor Who, Doomwatch and the X-Files.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2011
Remember in the good old days when horror/sci-fi didn't depend on multi-million dollar effects and a copse count in the hundreds - NO? Well sit back and enjoy what can be done with effective camera work and a script that oozes quality. Ok, the acting is a bit dodgy in places (as is the scenery)but somehow that just adds to the story. Bear in mind if it wasn't for ground-breaking work like this series TV producers wouldn't have had the ability to go to produce the sci-fi classics from the 60's onwards. Quatermass and the Pit is stunning, if you like the Hammer film version (probably one of the best British sci-fi films ever) then this original is even better. Watch these and remember, why behind the sofa was such a favorite place as a kid.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2018
A nice collection from the BBC archives of historical or nostagic interest, but not really that watchable as the picture quality is poor in places and there is a missing episode. There is no denying that Quatermass was a great creation, but the production has not stood the test of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2015
I got this for Quatermass and the Pit and in some ways it is better than the Hammer film version and it has been Digitally Restored so it looks great. There is alot more to this than the Hammer version. it is above 3 hours long. Great British Science Fiction at its very best and a very good Quatermass played by Andre Morell before he did Plaque of the Zombies for Hammer films. Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse