Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2003
OK, this album will certainly dissapoint core Heep fans from the Magicians and Demons-era. Enter the new decade and we find a completely different Uriah Heep at the works, and guess what? they are quite brilliant! Sorry, but Ken Hensley's departure was good for the band. Abominog is definitively more mainstream oriented but the songs are very good. Enter Pete Goalby, and Uriah Heep gets a superb vocalist, sounding a bit like Foreigner's Lou Graham, only better. Hensley's replacement, John Sinclair (ex-Heavy Metal Kids and Gary Farr's Lion) came up with some of the best keyboard intros, sounds and arrangements ever. The freshness of the new line-up works fantastic together with the old nucleus of Mick Box (g) and the "Bear" Kerslake (d). Abominog is a great commercial-rock album from the early '80s. And don't forget that the rhythm section here consists of Lee Kerslake and bassist Bob Daisley (relatively fresh from Rainbow and Widow Maker), the same rythm partners in Ozzy Osbourne's two greatest albums (Blizzard of Ozz and Diary of a Madman), which were recorded within a year-and-a-half of Abominog. If you like ROCK, buy it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 December 2008
for uriah and what a welcome modern sounding disc,fitting in with the nwobhm that was dominating the rock world,this really should have fired the band back to the top,even Sounds gave it 5 stars!!! one of the most underated heep discs - well worth discovering,classic rock at its best
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2008
I remember this album from years ago. I had always been a Heep fan, though never thought they could surpass Demons and Wizards, and had got a bit bored of the Hammond sound prevailing on other albums. This one was a real return to originality: A great 80's guitar sound (who said Mick Box could not play?). I always came back to this album and played it again and again. I'd recommend it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2012
This was the re-birth of Uriah Heep after the awful Conquest album and the departure of original member Ken Hensley. It's absolutely brilliant rock from a band totally re-discovering their form. Buy it now!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2008
Now come on am I the only person in this country of ours the UK , To look this album up and find that not one person as even thought of doing a review? I remember `Sounds` raving about how the new members Pete Goalby,vocals, Bob Daisly ,Bass and John Sinclair keys had joined fellow members Lee Kerslake drums with Mick Box guitarist supreme. Abominog was produced to become a crisp punchy rock album. Very different to the early Heep in a modernized kinda way.This is Heep fresh in a kind of Toto/Boston/Leppard type way.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
This was the comeback album of all-time & rightfully declared so by the critics (especially Geoff Barton Of 'Sounds' - a hard man to please apparently)! Indeed a brilliant album and still standing high against the seeds of time. I bought (& still have it) on vynil when it was first released and now on CD. I still prefer the warmth generated by the vynil sound and can't really discern the difference between the re-master & the vynil version as the new mix is a little low in volume. But the overwhelming virtuosity of the talent shines through on this sample of some of Classic Rock.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
The best Uriah Heep album before demons & wizards and wonderworld.
It is the most heavy Uriah heep album. The sound is brilliant and the songs are brilliant. A very fresh album from the world's best band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2002
With Pete Goalby on vocals Uriah Heep produced there best album to date.If you own only one album by this band this has to be it.This rescued their career and its easy to see how.I always found their earlier albums a bit inconsistent but this album is all killer no filler treat yourself.There follow up Head First is worth a look to but this shades it.The Les Edwards cover is pure metal the icing on the cake.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2012
I wish Amazon had been available when I first bought this album on vinyl, yes, thank you!!!. It would have allowed me to express the joy at discovering, or rediscovering the last metal band to play at the Apollo in Glasgow. And yes I was there!! they were touring "Head First" an album that I missed out on which is strange as I had really first heard the band when I heard the "B" side of the single, a strange sized 7" thingy, "Look At Yourself" it was a tune called "Simon The Bullet Freak". After the experience I invested in the classics of the early stuff and built up quite a collection of Heep albums. Not sure why but I lost touch with them for a while.
The main reason for buying the album was the amazing cover, no honest. I took it home and almost wore the thing out. Uriah Heep have and still are going through loads of musical changes, all of them good up till now. I'm sure these have been covered by many others on all their other stuff.
This was a real break through as far as I was concerned at the time. Superb tunes, soaring vocals and razor sharp guitar. A wonderful surprise and change from previous outings.
There is not a bad track on this album, outstanding tracks, "That's The Way That It Is", "Too Scared To Run", they in fact are all outstanding. I have 2 at 30 + years old who still swear by this album and at a time of instant access and throw away I think that, that alone speaks volumes for this album. Please don't pick and choose. Go the whole "Heep" and have a listen to a little bit of "Heep" history, You will not be disapointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
Quite dull record that goes in one ear and out the other. Uriah Heeps original sound is totally gone and this kind of music there is 13 to the dozen of bands that can pull. It is not that bad, but comparing it to their older material is painfull...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here