Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
27
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2017
cheers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
as woody is taken on in 80s cheers one of the 80s good tv series ,sam and his staff still come out with punchlines and laughs,great recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2006
This DVD release is an excellent addition to the growing 'Cheers' catalogue. The new characters of Woody (replacing Coach, due to the tragic death of the actor playing him) and Lilith added huge amounts to the show and became as strong and valued characters as the regulars.
This series comes with 26 episodes, the most of any release so far and rivalling most modern DVD releases. Sadly there aren't any extras, but with the consistently funny characters and sometimes surprising emotional depth, you can forgive the lack of extras easily, although I readily admit it would have been nice to have seen some interview footage with Woody Harrelson and Bebe Newirth to round out the interview footage on previous releases with the rest of the cast. That aside, this package represents excellent value for money (I picked mine up at a reduced price of £17.99) and stands well next to the other releases on my shelf.
Now all I want is for Paramount to hurry up and release the other 7 seasons over here!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2007
Cheers is a friendly Boston bar where everybody knows your name: For those of us who watched this show week after week during 1980s and later in reruns know that this is one of the greatest sitcoms ever made on TV. This DVD set contains all the 26 episodes of fourth season in four discs. This season makes two important additions to the series; following the death of Nicholas Colasanto (Coach), the season introduced Woody Boyd (Woody Harrelson), and Dr. Lilith Sternin (Bebe Neuwirth), who becomes match for Frasier. Later both win Emmy awards for their supporting roles. In this season we are presented with very interesting episodes such as when Sam visits Diane in a convent after she returns from Italy. Frasier tries to get over Diane and start dating Lilith. In other episodes, the gang tries to turn the tables on Gary's Old Town Tavern in a bowling match ("From Beer to Eternity"), and in the three-part season finale, Sam begins dating an older woman, a local politician (Kate Mulgrew) running for reelection, and Sam's memorable telephone call asking her to marry him, which many viewers remember. This set is reasonably priced and I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to enjoy a great sitcom.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2009
This fourth season of Cheers carries on the excellent work of the writers and producers. And of course the actors who are brilliant, The introduction of Lillith and Woody really enhance the show.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
Well I have gotten the DVD awhile back(3 weeks ago maybe) but had to watch before I give a review. The photo in the DVD sleeve says it all. It's the season when Diana is at the crossroads with Sam. And season 5-11 are a follow up I think, to this couple. But I won't tell :)
The quality of the DVD is great and I purchased because of the subtitles(don't always understand the American accent). Frasier has started his career on Cheers and for that too, it is worth to see Cheers 4th season. There are numerous celebrities here..There's more showing of the city's surrounding Cheers. at any episode, especially at start. This season is very Rich in events and some sad goodbyes. For Sam, I think. Perhaps Cliff will find his dream girl, but he don't do it on this season nor do you see Vera. I am just glad for it, because it keeps some suspension on what's to come on 5th season which I only seen in early 90's. Anyway - extra ordinary DVD With endings and beginning for Sam and Frasier.
Very recommended DVD!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
Cheers is set in a Boston bar, centered around the staff, with ageing bachelor Sam Malone (Ted Danson)and beautiful, pretentious and over-educated barmaid Diane (Shelley Long). With very witty dialogue and no swearing, all the Cheers series featuring Shelley Long, a natural and subtle comedian, are good entertainment that can be watched many times over.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Woody is now brought into the Cheers bar and sets himself up as the dullard of the bar and the butt of many jokes, but he soon becomes integral to the cast and remains throughout the rest of the shows.

The fourth season was as good as any other and has so many timeless gags, Cliffy and Normisms!

If you are a fan of Cheers then you are just going to need to get this one for the collection. I managed to pick this up on Amazon for £8, but price fluctuations can put it a lot higher. Try adding it to your wish list and wait to see if it drops again - they frequently do.

Sound and picture quality are both very good for DVD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
I absolutely love Cheers - but only the ones with Shelly Long - not interested in any others. Still stands up this number of years later. Something to cheer you on a dull, dark Winters day/evening.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2009
Can't believe this show is way over 20 years old, but yet it remains as funny as ever, clever, witty and a joy to watch
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)