Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Collection
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 September 2006
Having bought a fair few Marianne Faithfull collections, I was initially impressed by the range of material on this double album. Containing hits, b-sides and rarities from Faithfull's 60s recordings, it provides the most comprehensive compilation available of Faithfull's early output. I'd particularly recommend this collection to anyone who enjoyed the early material from albums such as 'Faithfull', as the heavily folk-influenced songs allow Faithfull's voice to shine while displaying less of the commercialised 'Decca sound' of singles such as 'Reason To Believe' and 'As Tears Go By'. These 40 songs showcase the best of the start of Faithfull's career, and form a beautiful, fragile, essential collective.
11 Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 January 2015
In my humble opinion, the material that Marianne Faithfull recorded later on is infinity times better than her first period as a recording artist. Nevertheless, her years as a folk/pop singer should not be ignored, they did after all earn her four top ten singles as well as two successful studio albums. The beautiful girl had a equally lovely and fragile voice, which was to mature and change dramatically (to her advantage in my opinion) as a direct result of all of her drinking and drug taking.

From 1965-1967, Marianne released four studio albums and ten singles on the Decca record label. This excellent two-disc budget set contains a generous 40 tracks, including singles, B sides, and rarities. Disappointingly, her debut single 'As Tears Go By' has not been included, nor it's lovely B side, an exquisite reading of 'Greensleeves', which I can't help but think was a major oversight. The song, written by Mick Jagger, Keith Richards and Andrew Loog Oldham (the Rolling Stones' manager) was a top ten hit for Marianne, and deserves it's place here. All the rest of her hits from this period, including 'Come and Stay With Me' (a top five hit) and 'Summer Nights' (top ten) are included. The first highlight for me comes as early as track number one on the first CD, her beautiful cover of Bob Dylan's 'Blowin' in the Wind', which remains one my favourite versions of the song, despite Marianne herself hating it.

There are plenty of original songs spread across the two CDs, as well as some covers of contemporary hits from the time (although why the compilers decided to go for her rather pointless cover of Pet Clarke's 'Downtown' over the wonderful Tom Paxton number 'Last Thing On My Mind' is anyone's guess), and traditional folk standards. It's a very pleasant listen, although I would have preferred to had the songs in chronological order, and could easily have done without some and replaced them with others (especially 'Sister Morphine', her great collaboration with Mick Jagger and Keith Richards), this is still a treasure trove for fans of Marianne's early years. 'The Collection' is made all the more appealing by being so well put together, with good liner notes and attractive black and white photographs.

If you want a perfect single CD album of Marianne's early works, without the filler: I'd personally opt for either of these releases: the compilation The Very Best of Marianne Faithfull, or Marianne Faithfull, her first studio album of pop music.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Andrew Loog Oldham, the Rolling Stones first manager, allegedly bumped (!!!) into her at a party, and legend (just like the infamous Mars bar) has it that he asked her in true Stan Freeberg style, 'Hey, you've got big t---s, can you sing?' So she was promptly signed up on a contract with Decca, was put in the studio and they made her try to string a few notes together. If a little sexy, she did her best with the frail voice that she had, but was never a convincing folky. She had hits, yes, but the rest of her life and career in showbiz is a whole unfortunate history. I like the Big Jim Sullivan accompaniment bit though. Have since sold it on...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2016
The exclusion of "As Tears Go By" is beyond all reason. Right up there with leaving PPM off The Beatles 1. What is known as a "deal breaker".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
I have already got the best of, a 16 track hits collection
this fills in the gaps and shows her influences
similar to early Dylan in the folk choices
this little bird still brings a tear to my eye
things might have been different if she had sung the blues
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2011
You do get a lot of good to great music for relatively little money - if that's all you're interested in, this is a great compilation. But the selection and sequencing make no sense at all - the songs are not presented chronologically and the folky stuff is indiscriminately mixed in with the pop (baroque and mainstream), and I wonder how many people share the compiler's preference for her pointless version of "Downtown" over "In my Time of Sorrow", "Last Thing on my Mind", "She Moved through the Fair", "As Tears Go By" and "Sister Morphine" (yes, I know that the last two have their detractors). According to the liner notes, "[...] Faithfull only worked with Oldham for two records; on the stellar heights of "As Tears Go By" and its disappointing follow-up "Blowin' in the Wind" [...]" - guess which of the two is included. This compilation is so far from definitive that it must be considered a missed opportunity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2012
This a good collection of here Decca Tracks. But why is Her first Hit "As Tears Go By" #9 1964 Omitted from this collection. It contains her other 5 hits Come And Stay With Me #4 1965. This Little Bird # 6 1965. Summer Nights #10 1965. Yesterday #36 1965 and her last hit for Decca. Is This What I get For Loving You #43 1967. Would have received 5 Stars if As Tears Go By would have been included
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
A double CD at a bargain price. Having listened to it I realise I prefer her much later music where the years of hard living have taken their toll. Her voice on the tracks on "A Perfect Stranger", the double CD Island Anthology, is so intense and holds so much more feeling and passion. You need both styles to hear the passage of time, drugs and booze. Amazing life. Amazing artist.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2016
Wonderful to be able to hear all these songs again. Whilst Marianne Fathfull's voice has changed somewhat this CD is a reminder of why she has remained so popular.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2011
If you like Marianne then this is for you. A great collection of all the songs you will remember her singing. This was a fabulous nostalgia trip and has been played a lot. She hasn't got the world's most wonderful voice but she has that je ne sais quoi that makes her so enjoyable to listen to. I really like it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)