Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2017
Excellent work from TC. One of their best albums, even better in vinyl. Highy reccomended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Superb album by a superb band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2005
The Thievery Corporation have really cornered the market in their blend of chilled breaks, dub-influence, a bit of psychedelia, and a globe trotting selection of sounds! The good news is that they have never sounded better than on this album - the large number of collaborators has certainly paid off!
The album is diverse in its influences, but hangs together really well. The sublimely gorgeous Satyam Shivam Sundram will send shivers down your spine, and the dub sounds of Amerimacka will remind you how much you miss the early nineties incarnation of Massive Attack! The latin-influenced tracks blend together really well, and the celebrity guests do a great job of sounding like themselves without breaking the spell that TC create with their sounds (in fact, Flaming Lips seem to have found a whole new career guesting as an entity on other people's albums)!
The Cosmic Game is probably not best appreciated on your MP3 player whilst doing the morning commute - rather, get the lights on low, relax your mind and enjoy another slice of Thievery Corporation doing what they do!
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2005
I am a Thievery Corporation fan and I was not disappointed with this album. Whilst containing their characteristic style it stills feels new and innovative. Great from start to finish. Relaxed yet passionate dance music that is very european despite the duo's residence. Can't wait to catch them on their european tour.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2005
Like a well-fitting British suit, a solid German sports car, or a Swiss chronograph you just know that an album bearing the Thievery Corporation name is going to be a quality experience. The Cosmic Game is no exception, no filler, no skipped tracks, I have been playing this almost constantly since it arrived. These boys have a natural talent for slipping the sounds into your mind. Get it, slap it on, sit back and jus' chill...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2005
I'm afraid I have to disagree with almost everyone here because I don't feel this is up with thir best work. I am a long-standing fan but the formula is looking rather tired now. There are some great moments don't get me wrong, especially the Flaming Lips contribution but some is like TC by numbers and one track in particular is so "cod reggae" that it's embarrassing. I hope they haven't lost the magic that makes them so cool and maybe they will inject some much needed change into their vibe next time. Hearing some of their trademark sounds is not like a comfortable old shoe rather one with a hole in it! Come on Garza and Hilton; you're better than this!
Rafer
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2005
Having built a justifiably outstanding reputation for delivering beautifully produced downbeat music, Thievery Corporation move up a gear on the creativity stakes with "The Cosmic Game". Veering, sometimes wildly, between reggae/dub, cool latin, eastern raga, chill-out & electronica/dance this is not the "easy listening" option that several of their previous albums have been... more a broad sweep across very different musical styles held together by the loc-tite glue of superb production and their brilliantly keen eye for multi-layered, mind-etching "hooks". Featuring vocal contributions from a series of guest artists and with a darker, more challenging feel, the end result is difficult to categorise but is some way away from the cool club music that their reputation has been based upon.
So... if you're looking for more of the same, care is required. But, if you're into creative modern music then it's another five star outing... including, on the way, the stunningly exciting "Warning Shots" with its artillery barrage of reggae vocals and syncopated drum licks, David Byrne's typically "edgy" and insidiously catchy "The Heart's a Lonely Hunter", the beautiful "east meets west" atmospherics of "Doors of Perception" and the rolling laid-back dub of "Revolution Solution". Different and genuinely interesting this one's a real "grower".
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2005
Thievery corporation have come up with a superb cd, every track is a gem, it has a mixture of jazz, dance,dub reggae, even dub world music, but dont let the later put you off, they never drag it on for to long, their is a nice spacey chilled theme throughout the whole cd. BUY IT NOW.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2007
This is really one of the best albums i have had. Prior to the release of the Cosmic Game, I spent a really long time in the UK going to record-shop after record shop asking if they had "Thievery Corporation" to be told "huh?". I'm sorry, but this is music which deserves better recognition. It's not like they are particularly obsecure/specialist. Amerimacka remains one of my favourite tracks.

Its the ambience of chill-out and great vocals on many tracks which really stand this out. If you can get this with Sounds from Thievery Hi-Fi, you can see how far these guys have developed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2005
I am not in the habit of writing reviews for Amazon, or taking advice from such reviews. However, after purchasing the 'Cosmic Game' by Thievery Corporation I feel compelled to advise whoever decides to read my review that this album is one of the most beautifully produced LP's I have had the pleasure of listening to in years. The Amazon rating scale only allows a maximum of 5 stars. The 'Cosmic Game' deserves ten.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.13
£9.99
£11.08

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)