Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 23 March 2011
Nowadays, the subject of this series would attract at most a two hour film dramatisation. Eight episodes gives the writers enough time to examine in some detail the ten years leading up to the start of the Second World War when Churchil was out of office and largely ignored. The picture and sound quality are perhaps showing their age but the quality of the acting makes up for this. A strong cast all round with few if any weak links but for me the honours go to Peter Barkworth as Stanley Baldwin, Eric Porter as an uncanny lookalike Neville Chamberlain and Edward Woodward as Sam Hoare. The scenes in the House of Commons are especially effective when the impact of Churchill's oratory is vividly portrayed by Robert Hardy.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2017
Absolutely superb series, tracing Churchill's path from cabinet exile in the 1930s up to the outbreak of WW2 and his restoration to power. Robert Hardy does a fabulous job as Winston, playing the pomposity, gravity and loveabilty of the great man to perfection. The supporting cast are also excellent. The tension grows as the story progresses and one almost despairs at the sheer stupidity of the appeasers. Thank God Churchill never gave up! He was a voice in the wilderness and a man of destiny. Highly recommended made for TV drama.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 March 2015
Superb series. The supporting cast of Eric Porter and Edward Woodward are perfect and Sian Philips gives a wonderful performance as Clemmie. There are probably better impersonations of Churchill from actors but Hardy's presence is what brings the character to life. He captures his wit, impudence and defiance brilliantly. The last episode ends weakly in my view, because I could have happily watched another eight episodes as the war unfolded and we watched Churchill's wartime trials. The picture is rather grainy in places and could do with a remaster but apart from these minor gripes it is gripping television even today. One is left with the sober conclusion that without him our world today would look somewhat different!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2015
This is first rate television of the very best kind. Anyone who has any interest in history or Churchill should watch and if you haven't seen it you are in for a treat.
Television doesn't get made like this anymore in Britain. I've bought loads of copies for friends and watch it again every couple of years. Just bought another copy as I have given all mine away.
The cast is astonishing both in quantity and quality. Robert Hardy is Churchill, no one has ever played him better. Sadly so many of the actors are now dead and it makes you realise what a golden age it was for British acting talent. Every one of the main characters is a masterclass of acting. You just don't get a cast like this in TV nowadays on either side of the Atlantic.
One of those occasions when five stars isn't enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2016
Astonished to find that I bought this DVD boxed set six years ago, and just got around to watching it. We previously had the VHS tapes of this spell-binding production. Sadly it was a triumph of hope over experience. The sound and picture quality are appalling; perhaps not quite as bad as the VHS which was virtually unwatchable. This is not age. Other series from the early eighties (e.g. Oppenheimer, Brideshead, Jewel in the Crown) are fine. I see my experience is shared. It is a scandal that this product is still on sale. What a pity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2015
It shows its age a little in the quality of the picture - from a day long before hi-def - but in all other respects outstanding. Do they make stuff like this any more? Robert Hardy chews the scenery as they say, with able support from an I-Spy of 70s UK acting talent, as it takes you through the twists and turns of the Churchill fighting his way out of the backwoods of history to stand on the threshold of greatness. Pour yourself a drop of your favourite and sit back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2018
Decent DVD of this series. Picture and sound quality are decent (it hasn't been remastered). We had no problems watching it and greatly enjoyed it. Other reviewers have commented on poor picture & sound quality, but we disagree. the technology is of its time, but absolutely watchable and very enjoyable. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2015
First Watched some of this decades ago. Seriously enjoyed it this time around, more so since some of it was filmed at Chartwell. It has Not been digitally re-mastered, which is a pity but the quality of the goods make up for it.
Any film/t v series on Churchill often ends when war is finally declared. Why is that ? Has there ever been a t v series / film that takes up where Churchill becomes P M ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2010
I just want to add to the excellent previous reviews that I think this 1981 production is a great story and that both Robert Hardy and Sian Phillips works fine in their respective roles. However, the sound is not very well recorded - room acoustics are often annoying in the dialogue reproduction, and Robert Hardy has an unnecessarily indistinct pronunciation. The DVD is presumably copied from an inferior VHS copy. It is therefore unfortunate that subtitles are not provided, and a shame that this is not informed at the appropriate place in the product details provided by Amazon.

Not so important, but extremely annoying, is the recorded vignette music which comes through severely distorted and loud.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2018
Robert Hardy superb as Churchill with an all star and excellent cast, especially Eric Porter and Edward Woodward. A must for anyone wanting to be both entertained and learn about Churchill's pre WWII years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)