Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
73
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2005
The Forgotten is a surprisingly entertaining thriller, most notable for the performance of Julianne Moore who readily throws herself into the role with her customary abandon and bravado. Part psuedo science fiction, and part supernatural mystery, the producers can probably be forgiven for the many plot holes, and unanswered questions; also, you know there's really a problem when malevolent looking federal agents try to cover up the evidence with mere wallpaper. But the movie is certainly beautiful to look at with the gorgeous Julianne constantly bathed in ghostly and ethereal hues of blue and grey that contrast startlingly with her fiery red hair- there's also some fabulous aerial views of New York City, the symbolic significance of which becomes obvious later in the movie.
Questions of loss, grief, and the special union between mother and son form the thematic center of the Forgotten, as Moore plays Telly Paretta, a woman haunted by the memory of her son Sam. The child died in plane 14 months ago, and her worried and affectionate husband, played by Anthony Edwards, and her composed, consoling psychiatrist, Dr. Munce (Gary Sinise), try in vain to help her cope with her sudden loss. She constantly watches a video of Sam, moons over photographs of him, and lovingly touches a baseball mitt that he left behind. Telly is obviously exploring the emotional pain and grief experienced by a mother, and is trying desperately to move on. She's recently decided to return to her job as a freelance editor.
It soon becomes clear that things are not as they seem. Sam's image mysteriously begins to disappear from the photographs, and then her husband, her doctor, and even her neighbors tell her that she never had a son. Telly is convinced they are wrong, and fiercely maintains that her son was real. One night, in the local leaf blown and windswept park, she meets the drunken Ash Correll (Dominic West), the father of a girl who was also supposedly killed in the same plane crash with Sam. She desperately tries to make him remember. Ash, a former professional hockey player, is drowning in booze and fiercely denies ever having a daughter. At first he thinks Telly is crazy but then he uncovers some evidence, and is forced to face up to the truth.
There's lots of gratuitous action - mostly a lot of running - interspersed with some quieter moments as Telly and Ash try to reconcile their differences and stay focused on finding out whether their children are really dead and where they might be hidden. There's also a constant eerie and peculiar atmosphere created as Telly becomes convinced that both her and Ash are constantly being watched by "something." The acting is pretty good, with Moore and West giving the strongest and most provocative performances, and the interplay between them full of tension, but also interspersed with some nice moments of quiet intimacy. Moore is particularly good - bring a blunt, gustiness to the role, and she is totally convincing as a mother who obviously had a very special bond with her son. Telly and Ashe are two very different people who normally wouldn't have had much to do with each other, but who have been flung together through monumental adversity.
The cinematography is quite beautiful and the film generally has a great sense of pacing. Viewers will find themselves trying to figure whether there is some grand conspiracy or not, and the eventual resolution, while surprising, still leaves a lot of questions unanswered. But with all its faults, The Forgotten is an interesting, mind twisting thriller, that effectively explores the intensity of memory, the sadness and desperation of grief, and how the human mind ultimately handles these intense emotions. Mike Leonard January 05.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2005
To say much about the plot is to give too much away. Suffice to say that if you want to really enjoy this movie stop reading the reviews as some other customers have 'given it away'.
This film dares to cross genres every twenty minutes, starting as an intriguing mystery and developing into a complete mindbend. Yes, it's far-fetched but so was 'Jurassic Park' and no-one complains about that! If you like your drama a little unpredicable get this now. For the rest of you, there's always 'Fantastic Four'...
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2005
I saw this film at the cinema. It is all about a woman who has a child, and then suddenly he is gone, and everything about him has gon, except the memory of him in his mothers head. She wants to know what happened, and everyone makes out she is crazy, but she is not. Its full of mystery, and the way in which the film has been done in very clever. Its not the bestest thriller film, but it is a good one. Worth the watch. Involves the woman then going in search for clues and ideas to what happened, she has flashbacks, she meets another person who has had the same thing happen, but he doesn't remember his child, and thinks she is crazy. It is a desperate struggle of a woman trying to get her son back, and convince this man to get his daughter back, and to find out what happened and why. Good plot, sounds boring but is really good. All revealed at end of film. Good ending. Worth the watch.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 April 2005
I didn't expect to enjoy "The Forgotten" as much as I did, expecting a more conventional plot line than the one that materialised. The film starts off slowly, but the mystery that unfolds is intriguing and shocking and there are at least three chilling jump out of your seat moments as the character played by Julianne Moore ,convinced she is not delusional and insane, hunts for her missing son against the backdrop of an autumnal New York City. With the NSA in pursuit, you realise that something Sinister Big Time is up and a thrilling supernatural denouement ensues. Well acted , well paced and the suspense was maintained perfectly throughout. Food for thought about the possible unseen influence of non-human lifeforms on this planet and the unseen ties which make up the essence of the human life experience.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2005
There are a couple of moments in this film that I won't forget in a hurry. To be fair, it's nothing new ideas-wise, tapping into the popular all-American conspiracy theory. It is also very much like Dean Koontz's "Sole Survivor", which is also a movie about children vanishing after a plane crash and NSA cover-ups, though the premise turns out to be different in the end. A whole star has to be given to this review simply for the way the detective is taken off the case - you'll have to see the film to see for yourself, and that's the bit I won't forget. But I had to take the star away again because of the Hollywood ending ... it could have ended so much better ...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
I heard about this movie when I was lying in a hospital bed, it came highly recommended by nurses. It was good, possibly better than similar movies ("Flightplan" springs to mind immediately at this point as being faintly similar in plot) - but it still lacked that certain something. I would recommend watching it, but it's not one I would necessarily return to over and over!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
Welcome to the era of humans disappearing into the sky. The Forgotten is such an inspirational film that opened the door for films like Left Behind. That's why it deserves 2 stars while Left Behind deserves only one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
This DVD is a modern one for me I useualy prefer the older films but thought I would give this one a go as it was resonably priced, this lady is looking for her lost son but other people including her husband are trying to persuade her that there never was a son.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
a thriller as a women is adamant she has a 9 year old son and meets someone to find that after making him remember he has a daughter,fbi try to hide it,police try to solve it and alien experiments come and go ,in the end her psychiatrist tells her the truth and a happy ending,a great dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This movie reminded me of the little girl who had a little curl, right in the middle of her forehead. When it was good, it was very, very good, but when it was bad - hoo boy!
As a mother myself, the beginning of the movie was an emotional whirlwind, and I could fully sympathize with Telly Paretta (Julianne Moore), who had lost her only son Sam, in a plane crash just over a year before. As the plot unfolded, I recoiled with horror as her husband Jim (Anthony Edwards) and psychiatrist Dr. Munce (Gary Sinise), tried to convince her that Sam had never existed, and when her memorabilia started vanishing, I could have cried with her. (I didn't, but I could have)
So far so good - it was like an X-files special double length episode. There was an intelligent red-headed woman at the center of the plot, she had a male sidekick named Ash, (Dominic West who played Lysander in A Midsummer Night's Dream), which I guess comes close enough to "Fox", except he was neither as cute or as smart as Mr. Mulder. There was even a cast of actors normally known for TV roles, and of course there was Alfre Woodard, one of the best and most underrated of character actors of all time.
I enjoyed the movie until the clouds started acting up, and people with badges started to disappear in the most bizarre way. I took away half a rating star for what happened to Alfre's character, which was just too much tripe at the end of a movie that promised so much. The ending? Enough said in my previous sentence.
I'm rating this movie at 3.5 stars, because it began well, and I thought Julianne Moore was excellent.
Amanda Richards
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)