Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 13 June 2013
I've come to Bloc Party very late, but after I heard Helicopter (on a Guardian give-away CD), I wanted more, so bought the CD.

And I wasn't disappointed. Helicopter isn't really typical of the rest of the album, so I could have been disappointed, but the quality of the other tracks is so good that I was completely won over. There's an amazing variety of styles and sound on this album.

If you like good music, well played by gifted musicians and are open-minded enough to try something a bit different, I highly recommend this CD.

It comes with a DVD with 4 tracks played live at Heaven, which is well worth watching in its own right. I was impressed at just how good their live sound is - they manage to reproduce what they do in the studio, much of which I assumed was dubbed or double tracked, but they still create the excitement of a live act a the same time.

I only wish some of the other bands you hear and see lauded so much were as good...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2016
Perfect. No noticeable wear except for some slight scratches on the back of the case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2005
I downloaded this album completely illegally before its release but one of the first things I will do on February 14th is go out and buy it because if there is one thing bloc party deserve for their debut effort it is payment. It is certainly a fine record the likes of which I have not heard since 2002's "turn on the bright lights" saw Interpol burst onto the scene. Similarly bloc party's music owes a lot to the early eighties but the true beauty of this album is how many different genres it seems to encompass and in doing so creating something unique and special. Stand out tracks include "positive tension" which begins with a thumping bassline and vocalist Kele Okereke almost rapping before exploding into graham coxon like power chords has he proclaims, "something special is about to happen." And he is not wrong the ensuing guitar work is what jonny greenwood would sound like if he wanted to get people dancing. But whilst many of Bloc Party's tunes will be adorning the floors of indie clubs worldwide perhaps their greatest talent lies in their more subdued numbers. "This Modern Love" and "So Here We Are" in particular are stunning in their beauty and pure musicality.
Silent Alarm is an album, which at times seems like a summation of some of the best music of the past 25 years and at times seems completely fresh and unique but whatever influences it draws from it is always majestic and is certainly destined for great things.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 January 2006
Bloc Party's career in the music business really kicked off due to the hype of nme. They stole the show during the nme tour and their debut album, "Silent Alarm" received a 9/10 rating from the magazine. The rating it got was easily deserved. This album is quite simply the best of 2005. Things are reall happening for Bloc Party, they missed out on the Mercury Music Prize to Antony & The Johnsons but once again in Nme, won the album of the year.
There are many reasons why it was given album of the year, due to the pure originality of the album. There had been comparisms to the likes of Franz Ferdinand. However in no way do they sound anything like Franz Ferdinand. The album opener,"Like Eating Glass" is pure and exciting, is builds up into one of the best album opener's ever made. Then comes Helicopter, political and edgy, "Just like his Dad, some things will never be different" referring to the American President George Bush. "Positive Tension" was an exciting bassline and is supported by a catchy drum beat and superb vocals once more from Kele Okereke. "Banquet" is a weird point in the album, some say that it's their favourite on the album, some say it's their least favourite on the album, in my opinion, it's average compared to the other opener's on the album. " Blue Light " is peaceful and funky. "She's Hearing Voices" is beautifully put together by producer Paul Epworth and is steps ahead of the original demo version, Then comes the best on the album "This Modern Love". With peraceful riffs ending up in all the band members giving it their all. It has everything. "Pioneers" is one of the best songs of 2005. Kele sings "We will not be the last" in this monumental epic. "Price Of Gas" and "So Here We Are" give the album even more balance, every track is different from one another, and every track is superb. The album doesn't end as well as it started, with "Plans" being the weak point on the album, however it could still be a successful single. "Luno" like "Positive Tension" has an edgy bassline and haunting lyrics "Your Nose Is Bleeding". Compliments is a five-minute solemn epic, it is careful and slow for the first three minutes, however by the end of the song, it has built up beautifully. The whole album is beautiful. It is one of the best debut albums of all time.. There are no weak points involved throughout the album. It is easilty the best of 2005, in what has in no way, been a bad year for indie music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 February 2006
Very good album but be careful you don't mix this up with the other newer CD and DVD release of Silent Alarm. This version DOES NOT contain the 2 most recent singles (two of the strongest tracks on the album in my opinion) - Little Thoughts and Two More Years. Also, the bonus DVD DOES NOT include the 25 minute tour documentary, music videos and has one less live performance (although I think the ones on this edition are different to that of the other version). If you're thinking of buying this album make sure it's the most recent edition. To make matters even more confusing it looks like both versions have the same front cover so make sure you check the track and DVD listing before buying. This album has been re-released a good two or three times with something extra each time so let's hope the next Bloc Party release is a brand new album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2005
Another year, another band hyped to the heavens. Alex Kapranos's band took the world by storm last year, so it comes as no surprise that 2005's new hopefuls, Bloc Party, should be touted as the next "Franz". Certainly the Londoners have got the look- there's no mistaking Kele Okereke's grinning mug, nor Russell Lissack's so-indie-you-want-to-kill-him fringe. But do they pay off in the music stakes? Are they just another bunch of bland fashionista wagon jumpers, or maybe something halfway interesting?
First off it does 'Silent Alarm' no favours to compare it to 'Franz Ferdinand'. True, they start off somewhere similar, both brandishing Television and Gang of Four influences. But whilst Franz are off bopping in a disco, winking knowingly at the ladies (and guys), Bloc Party are more likely to be found staring out of a rain bruised window, trying to decide if they're angry or sad about the state of the world. Sure, 'Helicopter' swaggers with a bass line that's practically spitting with rage, but then 'This Modern Love' and 'Blue Light' are terrifically atmospheric and tense. Opener 'Like Eating Glass' sounds like a loose Interpol, and the terrifying closing track 'Compliments' could have fallen off the back of Kid A. Silent Alarm certainly isn't an immediate experience, which might explain the handful of poor reviews it's been getting. Give it time, guys! I still haven't got a feel for 'So Here We Are' or 'The Pioneers', it doesn't stop me listening and waiting for their charm to unfurl.
In the end, the album probably is a bit too long- things sag a bit in the middle, understandable given the terrific string of hits it opens with. But Silent Alarm is Marquee Moon crossed with OK Computer tearing chunks out of Turn On The Bright Lights. Surely that concept alone is enough?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2005
I saw BP on Jools a few weeks back performing Helicopter and they were just amazing! The version on this is neutered, and overall I don't think the production does them any favours.
Still, some (not all) of the songs are catchy, and they have a lot of energy to link in with great musicianship and some decent ideas. I find it baffling that all these new bands so slavishly follow specific New Wave sounds - eg Razorlight/Television, Futureheads/XTC. Franz F the new Chas n Dave ?! At least BP aren't quite so obvious - certainly not Gang of 4. Hope they can carve out their own identity and that the industry leaves them to grow their own way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2005
Bloc Party's debut is probably going to be one of the best albums of 2005, regardless it's certainly one of the best albums of the past few years as far as i'm concerned. Their single Banquet piqued my interest in the Essex 4-piece, and then they released the gorgeous So Here We Are, and i was sold.
Although, overall they aren't really on new ground regarding their sound and style, they do seem to come at it from a different angle to the likes of Franz Ferdinand and The Futureheads. The post-punk edgy guitars and primal drums are there but there's a lot more in the mix, even some nods towards a 'shoe-gazing' sound on some tracks.
The musicianship is top-notch, particularly the drumming, which at times is almost frenetic. But the real star is singer Kele, who obviously likes to play with his vocals, he doesn't sing each song the same way as the one before, and the emotional range of his voice is stunning, at points drop-dead gorgeous.
There are points when they sound almost Blur-like, in fact this is the type of album Blur should have been releasing in their latter days. But forget Blur, Bloc Party could now sweep all before them with this album. I hope they continue to evolve and don't stagnate now that they have had some success with this sound. Highly promising band, they kinda put Franz Ferdinand to shame with this ambitious album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2005
2004 was arguably one of the best years for British music full stop. OK, 90's Britpop was good, but honestly, only Oasis, Blur, Pulp and a handful of groups held it together. The new wave of British music is supported by a wealth of talent, with 'proper' bands such as 'Franz Ferdinand', 'Razorlight', 'The Futureheads', 'Kasabian' 'Snow Patrol'...(the list goes on) holding the flag for British music as a force to be reckoned with. Then there are 'The Killers' and 'The Scissor Sisters', who, while not technically British, we like to claim as our own. So can 2005 follow suit? Early predictions indicate a resounding YES!
'Bloc Party' are the first of many groups filtering into the main stream this year (also watch out for 'Kaiser Chiefs' and 'The Bravery' in weeks to come). Touted as the next big thing (they came second in the BBC's 'Sound of 2005'), 'Bloc Party' have started the new year on fine form. Proof that hype gets you places; 'So Here We Are Now' (single number 3 from the album) rocketed into the UK top 5. 'Silent Alarm', their debut album, heralds a whole different sound to this single, but don't let it put you off. It is one of the mellow moments on an album that can only be described as quirky, jerky, funky, and pretty cool (this is where the comparisons with 'Franz' originate). Exploding on to your stereo with 'Like Eating Glass', 'Silent Alarm' grabs you by the scruff of the neck and drags you through a musical minefield of sex ('Banquet'), love ('This Modern Love'), deceit ('Luno') and quite bizarrely, the price of petrol ('The Price of Gasoline'). Personal highlights have to be the fantastically raucous and dark 'She Hears Voices' and 'Pioneers', and the brilliant 'Positive Tension', 'Luno' and 'Helicopter'.
If you can, get your hands on the limited edition DVD package, which includes live versions of four tracks. This gives you the opportunity to see what all these bans do best, and that is to bring their songs to life (you also get to see the band members in rather strange outfits, including a glowing red-nose, fairy wings, and two outfits rejected by the 'Village People'). This band will be huge, and like others before them, 'Silent Alarm' will gradually climb its way up the British music chart, rather than creating a sudden impact. Get there before everyone else. It's always good to be the one who bought the album before anyone else knew of them. 'Bloc Party' are here for the duration, join the ride.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2005
Joy Division, Gang of Four, Cure. I want to mention those bands only to say that they do not really sound like any of them as much as I'm sure they're influenced by any/some of them. The main thing that captivates me about Bloc Party live and on CD is the urgency and excitement of the music. The quality of Kele's voice injects a sort of excitement and freshness into the music. It sounds like he really should be wailing and clapping his hands, but the songs require some discipline and on the slow ones he manages to change to a lower, softer, more dreamy tone. There are no wasted parts on the tracks, no boring outros or pointless middle eights, just beautiful bass riffs, pulsating rythyms and grating guitar stabs. The album is well paced, (though I would have liked tulips on the album) and kicks off with the high energy Like Eating Glass and frenetic drum beat song Helicopter. As much as I'm sure Bloc Party have been helped by music industry trends over the last (FF) year, we need to support them when the hype dies down (I know it's just picking up), because I hope they're more than 80's punk-funksters etc and are people that can make a few excellent albums. What is clear is that Bloc Party have worked hard to get where they are right now and deserve the success that is undoubtedly on the way. It is a good sign for contemporary pop music when we see a single like Here We Are performed on CD UK (i was looking out for Britney). Good Luck Bloc Party. Oh yes..Buy the album and tell all your friends to, it'll make you want to dance around the house.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)