Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
124
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2017
Excellent cd, as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Amazing album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2005
i think this album is superlative. it's raw, it's edgy, it's fusion, there are so many influences at work in this album that it's exhilarating to hear - you know that the musicians have listened to a lot of different music, and they have a lot of ideas. it's original, it's interesting, it's honest, it's very very british, seeming to come from that same ska-punk-fusion late 70s-early 80s approach, if not the sound (kele okereke's voice has the 'punk' sound, but the rest of the music crosses boundaries, some of the drumming sounding drum-and-bassish without ever falling into the trap) - there are bits of this album which make me think of kate bush at her finest moments, as strange as it may sound - totally original, thoughtful, serious, dedicated, visionary, idiosyncratic musicianship, never flawless (but who wants flawless?) - an excellent album, on first hearing i felt that a couple of the last tracks were noticeably weaker than the rest of the album, although i love the final track (compliments). the album works as a whole since the more melodic tracks act as relief against the harsher sounding, deep tracks with heavy bass and crazy guitar riffs and drum battering and these keening vocals wailing over the top. i don't listen to hype, i'm not into any one scene, i have a wide variety of tastes and in my opinion this is a great album. and i don't like franz ferdinand.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
its okay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2006
"Have you heard any Bloc Party?"
"No, who do they sound like?"
"Um..."
Bloc Party have produced an excellent album here. Edgy opener 'Like Eating Glass' sets the tone, with Kele Okerere's unique voice grabbing your attention immediately. Songs such as 'Helicopter' (which is becoming a bit of a cult classic - at least where I am!) and 'Luno' show off some thoroughly individual-sounding, upbeat indie, whilst the slower songs, particularly 'This Modern Love', are very relaxing, somewhat romantic and prove some versatility.
Lyrics are also great - again, 'Helicopter' stands out, as it's an effective, wry and subtle attack on George W. Bush, and also 'Price of Gasoline', an angry anti-Iraq war message ("The price of gas keeps on rising/Nothing comes for free").
Bloc Party show intelligence, enthusiasm and a unique sound - let's hope for more British music like this, to save of from some of the very poor music being hyped at the moment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2007
This is astounding music. Energetic but calming, spikey but ethereal.

At it's essence it is pop music, but it has an intelligence to it that cannot be overlooked. And surprisingly for a British guitar band, it isn't a rye, 'knowing' type of intelligence. Yes, Kele Okereke and his band take themselves very seriously, and yes they do look like archetypal students, but this debut is proof that they are making some the most sophisticated guitar pop in music today. The new album has a slightly bigger sound, and the themes are more urban. This album is different, the cover-art captures the shimmeringly austere sounds that are burned onto the disc.

One of my favourite records of the past 5 years.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2007
In a word - AWESOME.
Their debut is brilliant and hits all the spots for me. With amazing songs such as Helicopter where you could recognise it anywhere and She's Hearing Voices Bloc Party are really one great band. The drumming is great as is the singing. Everything about them is great.
The lyrics seem to actually mean something and will have you singing along if not out loud then in your head!.
For all fans of Brit pop/rock Bloc Party is the band for you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2005
When i first heard of Bloc Party, i thought they would be a small understated group who produced average music. On buying the album i didnt expect that much, despite the hype. After listening to the album several times it dawned on me that this group really were something special. Each track is sprawling with raw energy and edge. There is so much determination and ambition in these songs that i know they are going to get bigger and bigger.
In my oppinion, Bloc Party are the most talented new indie band, with such a diverse and individual sound, they are set for a long and successfull career contributing more fantastic music to the brittish scene. Expect big things, and make sure you have a copy of thsi album. When you need cheering up, or just feel really excited... stick this on and jump around the room to the raw sound of %100 pure indie rock!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2005
From the moment I put silent alarm into my cd player and the thumping opener 'like eating glass' almost blew my speakers i knew i would love this album. Its the drummer, matt, who really drives this record, his drumming often quite extraordinary. For a first album this is a massive achievement, effortlessly mixing anthemic rock songs (banquet, helicopter), towering and beautiful epic tracks (so here we are, this modern love, pioneers) and insanely frenetic songs which leave you slightly dazed but in a good way (price of gasoline, she's hearing voices). Talk of filler in some reviews is only true at the albums closing moments, the only obstacle to silent alarm being a true classic. This is though, easily the best debut of the year and leaves the listener salivating for more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2005
I have to admit that i have only started getting into the british rock music scene and this is the 1st cd that i have bought that isnt an american pop?punk or punk rock group other than than the killers whos album i also own and think it is amazing. But i can honestly say that this is one of the best albums i own. It sems to me to have its own sound which is good. The melodic guitars that run over eachother create there own unique sound and this record also contains some amazing drum parts. Each song is good in its own way.
Like eating glass - 8.5/10 - Great opener to the cd. Suprised it hasnt been released as a single.
Helicopter - 8/10 - Agood song with very good guitar parts
Positive Tension - 9/10 - Amazing song. It kind of builds up throughout the song and ends with some amazing guitar work
Banquet 9/10 - Kind of has a bouncy feel to it with the two guitars almost echoing off eachother. Great chorus in this song.
Blue Light - 7/10 - A real laidback song i feel. Still quite good. One to listen to when your relaxed.
Shes Hearing Voices -8.5/10 - Very different from anything i've heard. The verse does remind me of elvis presley for some reason. Still a great song though.
This Modern Love 10/10 - Best song on the album. Also contains the best lyrics as well. Its just so melodic and just sticks in your head.
The Pioneers -8/10 - A good song, nothing wrong with it at all.
Price of Gasoline - 6/10- This song doesnt really work for me. I like the into at the beginning of the song.
So here we are - 8/10- A good quiet but very melodic song. KInd of gives the song a haunting feel with the echo on the vocals.
Luno - 7.5/10 - Good fast song. Very upbeat, you cant help but nod your head to it.
Plans - 8/10 - Was my 2nd favourite when i 1st listened to it. Good lyrics as well in this song.
Compliments - Great way to end the album. Very melodic and quiet again. It stays in your head.
This band has introduced me into more music other than your blink 182, alkaline trio, the ataris ans so on. Any one can enjoy this album and i urge any real music fan to get it. It will be money well spent.I hope and think that Bloc party have a very promising future ahead of them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)