Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
13
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2004
Ashanti's third album "Concrete Rose" is by far her most personal work to date also her voice has matured and she sounds better then ever so all u haterz keep on hating coz she aint going nowhere shes here to stay
1.Concrete Rose (Intro)/Just tellin us why she called the album "Concrete Rose" its pretty smart actually and no she aint claimin shes from the streets so dont hate 10/10
2.Still Down (Featuring T.I)/Good hip-hop fused track featuring the prince on the south T.I (dont u jus love him!)hes flow is good the beat on this one is catchy the lyrics are good shes jus sayin shes here to stay in a methphoric way clever Ashanti :) 10/10
3.Message To The Fans (Skit)/Jus' the intro to "Only U" 10/10
4.Only U/The 1st explosive single which didnt do very well in the US which was a bit of a downer but i really hope it does well over here coz its crazy the beat is so original and its a different approach to R&B even tho i have the album ima buy the single too hehe 10/10
5.Focus/Cool song kinda 80's soundin the bridge is my favourite part in sum parts on this song she sounds a tiny bit like Erykah Badu 10/10
6.Don't Let Them/Nice laid back song the lyrics are really good its a bit similar to "Dont Leave Me Alone" 10/10
7.Love Again/Mixed feelings on this one its sweet but the beat is really repetitive and gets boring after a while 7/10
8.Take Me Tonight (Featuring Lloyd)/This is a great duet Lloyd is obviously returnin the favour that Ashanti did for him on hes #1 hit "Southside" They're voices play off each other really well 10/10
9.U/This is definatly an album highlight its so different to her usual style its really sexy she even sings bout sexin a man "Now I've been known to crush a brother once or twice" Naughty Ashanti hehe great song possible single? 10/10
10.Every Lil' Thing/It's like "Love Again" a bit annoyin but the harp-esque beat is really nice and the vocals are good 8/10
11.Turn It Up (Featuring Ja Rule)/This songs been buzzin around for about a year ive tried to like this song but i jus cant its really weak but Ja rule's flow is good jus not feelin this one 6/10
12.Buck 3000(Skit)/Unecessary 0/10
13.So Hot/A really nice slow jam its cute her vocals are nice and angelic this actually could be a single 10/10
14.Don't Leave Me Alone (Featuring 7 Aurelius)/This is the best song on the album i really hope this is released as a single coz its really good she voice is really good on this shes definatly improved alot and we all can relate to it as well 10/10
15.Sister Stories (Skit)/She did this on Chapter II as well its not as glass shattering as that one they seem to have more control of theyre voices 9/10
16.Freedom/The lyrically and vocally stongest track its great this is one of the haterz its realy sad that people actually hate her how can anyone hate anyone this also is single material 10/10
**Bonus Track**
17.Wonderful (Featuring Ja Rule & R.Kelly)/This former #1 is a great song its one of the best collabo's of the year 10/10
**UK Bonus Track**
18.Touch My Body/She performed this in Bride And Predjudice its a great song its reggae infused should have been on the original tracklist instead of "Turn It Up" 10/10
Top 5 Concrete Rose Tunes
1.Don't Leave Me Alone
2.Freedom
3.Only U
4.U
5.Take Me Tonight
Overall "Concrete Rose" is her most personal work yet shes vocally blossomed and sounds just great i would recommend this to anyone that likes her its definatly one of my favourite albums of 2004 which include Brandy,Jill Scott,Van Hunt, Tamia,Janet & Kanye West Buy it you'll love it
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2004
As ashanti says in the intro (first track), this is her best albumn so far... Ashanti & chapter II were both v.good albumns but this is the best fo far. it has more of a R'n'B/ hip hop sound to all of her songs, whereas the previous two had a more R'n'B feel which was gud but it does not have the bite that this one has. so if you dont already have it go out and buy it!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2011
The third album from Ashanti must be purcahsed by her funs
The album is really into R&B and hip-pop
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2004
This album is hot as hell. Ashanti takes it to the next level with this one. She has progressed a lot in terms of vocals, beats and lyrics. She has always kept R&B on lock but this time has got even better on Concrete Rose. Songs such as Freedom, Don't Leave Me Alone, Don't Let Them and Only U really shine as well as all the other hot tracks such as Still Down and Focus. With guests such as T.I, Lloyd, Ja and 7 Aurelius she has kept the CD dope from beginning to end. It just clearly shows Ashanti is here to stay and will keep making hit records as she has what it takes to be one of the hottest females in the R&B game. You'll love this CD if you enjoyed her CD Ashanti, Chapter II and if you like artists such as Ciara, Destiny's Child, Brandy, Monica and Aaliyah. This CD is a must have in your collection...You won't be dissapointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2004
Conrete Rose is sexy, laid back, soulful and full of creativity. It displays Ashanti at her finest in terms of her beats, lyrics and vocals. She has grown as an artist and as women and displays her true feelings on this LP. Tracks such as Freedom, Don't Leave Me Alone, Focus, Only U and Still Down are crazy and others such as Don't Let Them and So Hot are all hot trakcs which you could play over again. If you love Ashanti & Chapter II then this one is a cut above the rest it displays her drive and talent she has and puts her at the top of the R&B game along with others such as Monica, Beyoncé, Brandy and the late Aaliyah. If you love Ciara, Usher, Destiny's Child and other R&B then this CD is a must have in the collection. She keeps it on lock and shows every track as a sure fire hit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2005
Ashanti's debut was really fresh and didn't sound just like any other "R'n'B Princess". Then came Chapter 2 which was just a huge let down. Fortunatly Ashanti has reminded us why we liked her so much in the first place by releasing Concrete Rose.
01.Concrete Rose (Intro)
02.Still Down (6/10)Not a very strong way to start an album.
03.Message To The Fans (Skit)
04.Only U (10/10)Breathtaking.
05.Focus (9/10)Really good beats.
06.Don't Let Them (9/10)Laid back, nice song.
07.Love Again (5/10)Boring.
08.Take Me Tonight (7/10)Her 1st sung duet.Smooth.
09.U (9/10)An atmospheric grind.
10.Ev'ry Lil Thing (4/10)Sounds like an even crapper Love Again.
11.Turn It Up (8/10)OK but a bit too poppy.
12.Buck 3000 (Skit)
13.So Hot (8/10)Sexy ballad.
14.Don't Leave Me Alone (10/10)Excellent.A different sound.
15.Sister Stories (Skit)
16.Freedom (7/10)Meaningful ballad.Doesn't do it for me.
17.Wonderful (Remix)(8/10)She gets her own verse in this one.
18.Touch My Body (8/10)Good but you can see why it's only a bonus track.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2005
This third album of Ashanti's is great, I thought the first album was good and the second was ok. But she has got it back on track with Concrete Rose.
The song featuring Ja Rule is great, they work really well together.
All Ashanti fans should buy this album!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2005
I Only Bought This 3 Weeks Ago And I Am Impressed!!
Here Are My Top 5 And The Reviews Of Them: No. 1- Best:
1. Only U (10/10) A Great Catchy Breathtaking Song!
2. Touch My Body (10/10) Why Is This A Bonus Track? It's Way Too Good To Be A Bonus Track
3. Turn It Up (9/10) Very Very Good!
4. Focus (9/10) Again, It's Very Very Good!
5. Freedom (9/10) I Love This Ballad!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2004
what a great album! the lyrics are much deeper than the previous album!the songs are really catchy! she still got that r&b thing with ja rule what is garanteed for a great production!! also the songs are much groovier than on chapter two!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
This album contains Ashanti's best and most adventurous selection of beats. Unfortunately, it also contains the sketchiest and most irritating batch of songs. Only U is the only worth wild song.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)