Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2005
This album, as well as his first album Personal Journals, has changed my life. I can't listen to any hip-hop song without comparing it to those of this album and they usually turn out to be on top.
Tracks such as 'Sea Lion' offer you such interesting and unusual beats and lyrics that its hard not wanting to listen to it again as soon as its finished. 'Bridle' is written in pure poetry. Sage's voice acts more as an instrument in this song than anyhting else as his lyrics and beats meld together to give an amazing listening experience.
I would recommend this album to anyone who wants to try something new and 'underground'. The album sits comfortably right next to my hifi and will probably do so for a very long time.
In conclusion: great beats, great rhymes, great songs and great album
p.s. The last song beautifully finishes the album with a mellow country-ish theme.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2005
When i first heard sage francis was releasing a second full-length album i was the happiest man alive - i am a massive fan having all the albums from the "sick of..." series to personal journals (and non-prophets' hope in-between). however upon listening to the album i was slightly disapointed. this album is different to any other sage francis release. but upon listening to the album several more times it dawned on me that sage francis had not fallen off, he had simply grown up.
the lyrics have moved from introspective to external... focusing on society and how it affects him, rather than his personal life.
for those new to sage francis, i would recommend buying personal journals first... because once u hear that album you'll be able to understand this one.
sage francis is possibly the most intelligent rapper alive; however he is also one of the most skilled technically.
if your into rap which you hear on the radio, you may not like this album, but its never too late to get hooked, like millions others around the world.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2005
Sage Francis of Anticon fame makes his 'Epitaph' debut with an album that can only be described as a corker.
Standout tracks include 'Sea Lion' 'Ground Control' and the hit-in-the-making' 'Escape Artist'. If you're new to underground hip hop leave any preconceived ideas at the door as Sage has re written the rule book a 1000 times and will continue to do so - If you were impressed/moved to tears by 'Personal Journals' then prepare for more of the same only with a greater emphasis on melody. Beats are supplied by (amongst others) Re animator & Joe Beats as Sage 'talks' (not raps) his way through his outlook on life - topics covered include guns, gays and Iraq.
Sage Francis deserves to be massive, he offers a derivative of hip hop that should be heard by everyone in the world, and what's more he's just getting started !!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2005
Sage has more flow the Niagra. If you want to hear what sage is capable of then check out Escape Artist on this record. It's one of those tunes that are few and far between, the ones that can send you into an embarassing frenzy of spazz dancing whilst your driving, it sends shizzers down my arms. Oh, and Sea Lion - another awesome tune, featuring Bonnie Prince Billy on vocals and Alias on production duties.
This isn't a master piece as a whole, but there are genuine moments of hip hop genius on this record that more than make up for the fillers.
And what's wrong with lyrics that are intelligent or meaningful? Would you prefer the typical BLING BLING of the Top40 hip hop tripe we're force fed day in day out? If that's your bag, go hang with 50 pence.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2005
Man i am glad i found out about Sage Francis. I mainly listen to alternative/progressive rock but already being into Jurassic 5 for their similar 'indie hip hop' vibe if i can all it that, i didn't find it hard at all to get into this album. I am ashamed of even owning an Eminem album after listening to this dude - whilst i think he is probably at the same level of word manipulation as one reviewer mentioned, they both do completely different things with that talent. One squeezes dry their past and present lifestyle issues and disses nearly every mainstream celebrity but themselves, the other seamlessly moves between their own life, political, social, abstract, everything, and the latter has a much greater poetic mind. So they sound similar but when you actually *listen*, it is clear who is better.
The standout tracks for me are the opener 'Buzz Kill', 'Dance Monkey', 'Escape Artist', 'Ground Control' and 'Slow Down Ghandi', but they are all exceptional. Some may find issues with 'Sun VS Moon' as it attacks the concept of God and some may find this offensive. Whilst i disagree with Sage on this song i don't let it affect my love of the other tracks.
Buy if you are interested in serious hip hop and not the drivel which populates the mainstream.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
Really good album, angry, eloquent and clever with great catchy rhythms and coherent vocals
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
Excellent service & quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2005
After listening to this album i have lost faith in modern hip hop. Sage has no flow, his lyrics may sound meaningful to some but to me they just sound like a jumbled mess. It's this type of hip hop that seems to be spearheading this new wave of backpacker hip hop with it's snobbery of more mainstream and typical hip hop that is destroying the scene. He belongs more in poetry corner, a spoken word show or possibly a sixth-form english language class. This is not good hip hop. Being crap does not automatically make you original and good.
If you hip hop heads want to chekc out some decent, yet still original and good sounding hip hop then try buying 'Black Dialogue' by 'The Perceptionists'or 'The Sagas Of...' by 'Klashnekoff' and also the new 'Rodney P' album 'The Future'
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.09

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)