Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
35
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2017
Item as described, fast delivery, well packed – a great seller. Thanks A+++++++++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2009
This DVD was a dream for me personally - Al Pacino, one of my Top 3 favourite actors, covering the subject of William Shakespeare, my favourite author. It was also great because although I've read a lot of Shakespeare, I didn't know this particular play too well, so I came out a little more educated than before as well as more than a little entertained.
Thanks Al for a class act.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
I've always rated Al Pacino as one of those rare actors who becomes every part he plays. I'd seen him as Shylock in the film version of The Merchant of Venice, and had heard that Looking for Richard was as much about him trying to reconnect people with the plays of Shakespeare as it was about performing the play Richard III on film. Risky. It could have been very "worthy" and a bit reverential and remote from a modern audience, but it is utterly fantastic. The film follows Pacino's creative journey as he tries to get "under the skin" of Richard III and it features script readings, impromptu rehearsals in the street with a great cast of American and British actors, lots of off-the-cuff humour and performances of snippets of the play in full costume. Make no mistake, though. This isn't an American actor trying to be Laurence Olivier or something he isn't. He plays it with complete integrity, from the heart, and is in full command of the character. For me the high point of his portrayal of Richard is the soliloquy (piece to camera) before the battle of Bosworth, which is quite stunning. Looking for Richard is inspiring, funny, moving, powerful and if you want to move a modern audience to read Shakespeare or go and see one of his plays at the RSC in Stratford, THIS is the film to give them!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2011
Having studied Shakespeare as part of my English degree it has to be said approaching 'The Histories' was somewhat daunting. But, I read the play and enjoyed it. The next challenge was understanding the play enough to write about it in a 3 hour exam. Cue Al Pacino. The documentary breaks down the most important parts of the play, with the scenes and motives of the characters often being discussed by the actors playing them which helps in the understanding of the play's events. There is also discussion of the historical background of the play by academics which is helpful too. A lot of the events that happened before the setting of this play is complicated and involves many people so an explanation of what is going on by the time of Richard Gloucester is very handy! Some of the scenes are in shown pretty much in full, such as the seduction of Lady Anne by Richard and the final scene so to see this performed was also valuable. This documentary really woke me up to how fantastic and grandly theatrical this play is. Why cant this kind of documentary be done for all of Shakespeare's plays??! A MUST FOR ANYONE THAT IS STUDYING THIS PLAY.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2010
I am currently reading Richard III and would say that this film is an absolute must for anyone who is studying the play. Al Pacino's portrayal of Richard III is the greatest that I know of on film, far superior I think to Olivier's very dated and mannered performance and even Ron Cook's better interpretation in the BBC Shakespeare version. The film presents a stellar cast of actors and academics taking an in-depth look at the play, its complexities and various layers of meaning. The film really brings Shakespeare's great play alive, presenting a very fresh and relevant reading for our own times. Pacino set out in this film to show how Shakespeare and this play in particular is relevant to a comtemporary lay audience who perhaps had little or no experience of Shakespeare's work and I think he succeeds admirably. An enthralling and moving account of one of Shakespeare's great plays. HIghly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 August 2007
First off lets be clear, this is a documentary about Al Pacino making a version of Richard III. As someone who has very minimal knowledge of Shakespeare I found this to be very interesting and it made me want to watch a complete film or see it performed at a theatre.

Contrary to some previous reviewers I'd say that Pacino showed great respect to the material and to the more famous British actors who have been involved in versions of this story down the years. He interviews Sir John Guilgud and Kenneth Brannagh to try and understand what the lines he is saying really mean. I have no doubt that if Sir Lawrence Olivier had still been alive Pacino would have wanted to interview him about his famous performance.

Pacino proves himself to be an engaging and intelligent presenter, and his Richard III, whilst undoubtably heavily influenced by Oliver is a striking performance. If like me you have never studied Shakespeare, and have little understanding of what is now frankly almost a foreign language then this film gives you the opportunity to be educated and entertained at the same time.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2011
This is a really enjoyable documentary/play where Al Pacino is attempting to deconstruct the works of Shakespeare to appeal to American audiences who as the films voxpops show think of Shakespeare as boring or irrelevant.

Pacino and a few othe ractors including Kevin Spacey and Winona Ryder are rehearsing for a production of Richard III and act out some of the major scens in the play and then analyses what is happening and where the plot is leading.

The film also employs some interesting interviews with Kevin Kline, Kenneth Branagh, James Earl Jones and John Gielgud.

Ithink this would be an excellent film to show students who are studying Shakespeare in school as the film shows that the works of Shakespeare aren't old, stuffy relics of a bygone era.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2004
Al goes and does an in depth analysis of Richard 3rd (III), for example the opening sequence (about 15 minutes), is about the first line in the play, and by god I've never been so interested.
The whole film is an in depth view not only of the play but the way this (amazing) actor approaches the subject matter, to get inside the characters head by not just looking at the historical context of the play, but how a human being would react.
And as Pacino says this play has murder, incest, war, love, betrayal, witches everything, so it has allot to offer the actors and viewers.
I must admit, if you buy this film, it may take you ages to get around to watching it (it's not specifically action love or comedy so you'll never know when to watch it). But one day you'll sit down put this on, and remember it for the rest of your life.
What other sign is there for a great film.
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
This Video is not to get in Germany, so I bought in in UK.
In Germany the people did not knowing so much about Shakespeare (we have Goethe ;-) so I was really surprised and I enjoyed every minut of these documentary/movie/rehearsal or how ever they should call this movie.
I love the language and the athmosphere and I began to UNDERSTAND, because if you only read Shakespeare, it might be boring, but if you SEE it and HEAR it, played from really great actors, you understand the fascination about the play Richard the III. A great movie and a really, really great Al Pacino.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2001
Al Pacino's take on the Bard's Richard III is a refreshing one. For those for whom the language of Shakespeare seems alien and archaic it gently opens up the themes and politics of Richard III, and shows it to be a play remarkable for it's insight into the human condition and the politics of power.
Movie stars, pretentious hangers-on at New York arty parties, and scholary academics - all have their say. It's fun, witty and laid back, and leaves you with a renewed respect for Shakespeare's talent.
Pacino selflessy casts the stagelight on Shakespeare's genius, but he should take a bow for this witty and wise commentary.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)