Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
21
4.8 out of 5 stars
Nabucco: Metropolitan Opera (Levine) [DVD] [2005]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 September 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
excellent production and amazing chorus . thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
enjoyed it. will be watching it many more times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
this was purchased as a gift, my friend thinks its a magic opera
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
I do have another version of this opera on CD Verdi: Nabucco which I love but this one is not a disappointment. I loved Maria Guleghina as the warlike Abigaille; I can see why she is so popular in this role - sexy, passionate and fierce yet touching, vocally as well as in person and she really can get the part across, Juan Pons is very good as Nabucco. The staging is simple but effective. Gwyn Hughes Jones makes a very hot, sweaty Ismael but his voice acts the part especially in 'Che si vuol?' and Wendy Smith bravely takes up the baton of the relatively uninteresting role of Fenena. Samuel Ramey, a true veteran of opera, carries off the High Priest's role, although I prefer Evgeny Nesterenko on the aforementioned CD.

James Levine is outstanding in his conducting. He brings out everything that is beautiful in the music, subtle and understated and the choral parts have real depths. He is able to rein together those passages where everyone is singing something different to let you hear what Verdi had in mind when he wrote it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2017
Excellent product, quick delivery and no problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
The opening set is impressive in scale, inside Solomons temple with multi layered terraces, the activity of the chorus is on a par with the set.
Samuel Ramey as Zaccara is past his best, but still pretty good. Gwyn Hughes Jones as Ismael is however a real treat to listen to, a beautifully clear voiced tenor. Wendy White is only a pace behind with her excellent mezzo. When Maria Guleghina as Abigail starts her first aria, you realise she is a real showstopper. The trio Lo t'amava is a piece of real quality.
At the end of the act Juan Pons as Nabucco arrives in a chariot, he cuts an impressive figure, with his usual impressive voice. The ensuing mix of chorus and soloists is surely one of operas magic moments. The burning of the temple is quite a surprise and excitingly staged.
In act two back in Babylon the set is also expansive, Abigail reveals her prejudices and ambitions with her impressive voice. She is joined by Stephen Morschich, high priest of Baal, who does not have a lot to do but he does do it well. Pons comes into his own later in the act, he is very good in character, and has a magnificent voice.
Act three sees the return of Morschich, who confirms his earlier promise. The duets between Pons and Guleghina are most enjoyable.
Scene two is the Hebrew chorus , it is everything one could wish for, and does have a little suprise at the end.
In act four scene 1 Pons gives a moving performance in his re-awakening as a convert to the Hebrew faith.
Scene two, after the funeral march Wendy White is superb in her farewell to life as she awaits execution.
In the nick of time Nabucco comes to the rescue, frees the Hebrews, abd reveals the fate of Abigail. In true operatic fashion Abigail has a dying aria, beautifully done by Guleghina, in which she confesses how bad she has been, and asks forgiveness.
Thoroughly recommended, good picture, clear sound and a comprehensive booklet, all that you could want.
11 Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
i had never before listened to this opera and was only familiar with the slaves chorus. Reading a critique in the Mail on Sunday
persuaded me that should put this right. It is all that I could have hoped for and more. Pe3rhaps having played through it a dozen or two more times I will be able to form a more considered opinion of the performers,but, for now, I love it all.
Well packed and excellent deliver time, well up to Amazon standards
Eric Hulme.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2011
Not much to add to the title, a great joy to watch and listen.
Perhaps the encore of the Slaves' choir being the top feature.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2010
EXCELLENT CLASSICAL PRODUCTION OF THIS OPERA FROM THE MET. MUCH BETTER THAN THESE MODERN PRODUCTIONS. WELL CAST AND BRILLANTLY CONDUCTED BY JAMES LEVINE AS ALWAYS. WELL WORTH IT FOR THE PRICE TO. BOOKLETS ARE ALWAYS EXCELLENT TO.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)