Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
330
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 1 August 2007
This was a collection that I had waited years for and it didn't disappoint. Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce will always be Holmes and Watson for me and the chance to see these great 1940's films in a clear remastered form was too good to miss.

I'm not going to go into plot details of each film as that has already been done, the boxset's highlight apart from the remastering of the films themselves is the great documentary on the restoration of the series, the amount of work that went into restoring these old prints was staggering and took years but the results show, depending on the original condition of each film a handful of them look as if they were filmed yesterday while the others have been improved enormously. The one downside is that I would have prefered a mini documentary on each of the film's restoration rather than the same general overview of all the films that is repeated on every disc, good though it is.

A selection of the films has the original movie trailers attached and these have not been restored but are so interesting and rare that I don't really care and in a way being presented in their raw form as it were does invoke a strange kind of Pathe newsreel type footage feeling and I can imagine being in the old cinemas watching this, another great special feature.

There are audio commentaries on selected episodes by various Holmes experts and they are among the best that I have ever heard, the amount of information that they provide is astounding, not only about the Holmes films but movies of the time in general. There are also reproductions of a selection of the movie posters on postcard that are varied in each boxset, a friend's set of 5 cards are completely different from mine.

These films are classic and brilliant and for the remastered footage alone any Holmes or old movie fan simply must own this boxset, with the excellent and rare special features making it even more indispensible.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
The Definitive Sherlock Holmes Stars In The Definitive Collection Of Movies Featuring Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Fictional Detective. For movie goers world wide back in The 40s Basil Rathbone was Sherlock Holmes alongside Nigel Bruce as The bumbling but loveable Dr Watson The duo really set The mould for all other actors playing The Detective To follow. starring in 14 films Together all The movies have now been gathered Together for This newly restored lavish boxset. Titles like Dressed To Kill, The Woman In Green, Sherlock Holmes & The Spider Lady and of course To Name but a few The ever popular Hound Of The Baskervilles. The films really need no introduction and reek of elegance and charm Throughout it's The 40s when Gentlemen were Gentlemen and Ladies were Ladies. speaking of ladies just marvel at The gowns and dresses some of The female leads wore Throughout These films simply class. watching The films again you really can't see anyone else other Than Rathbone playing Holmes he his The one and only Sherlock Holmes. as mentioned all of The films have been beautifully restored a fascinating Documentary on The restoring of The films which does appear on all The Disc's is a real eye opener. really interesting To learn had They not acted when they did on The restoration process some of The films would have been lost for ever To The ravages of Time. some Titles all new end credits had To be created as The original Titles were unusable for Transmission. fear not movie lovers The films are now all Thankfully preserved for future generations. along with The impressive restoration documentary all Trailers for The films are included along with audio commentaries on all The movies by film historians. a lavish photo gallery for each film will keep fans of The Detective viewed for hours while reproductions of all The movies original film posters rounds off one of The best DVD packages you will ever see. it's all really Elementary My Dear Watson.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
First watched these, I think it was in the middle to late Seventies, on BBC2 around 6pm. Loved them then and still do now. Far superior to the infantile Sherlock made by the BBC!

The movies have plenty of atmosphere and also have short running times so they never outstay their welcome - something the modern movie director needs to work on.

Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce are a delight. I know Bruce gets a lot of stick for his portrayal of Dr. Watson but the actor himself said in an interview that his Watson was there to provide comic relief and not a true representation of the character as written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Remember, at the time these movies were made there was a war on and people needed some light relief.

Even though these movies have been remastered there is still evidence of their age: scratches, speckles, etc. But do not let this put you off. They look and sound far better than when I first saw them.

If you're a Sherlock Holmes fan and you've never seen them before then please give them a go. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
I love these old movies! The quality of the box set is very good, and the format is suited to widescreen unlike some - result!

Lots of the movie titles are rarely shown - TCM aside that is.

Quality is remarkable frankly, and given the age of the original productions, more so...

For the price, this is outstanding value for money in my humble opinion :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
I already have this set so bought it for my friend who is also a Basil fan. Friend very happy with collection and looks forward to many an enjoyable evening watching these classics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
Excellent buy. Lovely to watch whenever we need a Sherlock fix
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
Not quite the quality I expected, but there again they are very old films. Nice to have the full set now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2017
Vintage stuff!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
Classic...would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2005
This set is absolutely stunning. And at the price - its also a 100% bargain.

As a big Sherlock/Rathbone fan, in a mad attempt to get decent copies of these films, I've been buying Sherlock DVDs on many different labels since I've had a DVD player. Most of the ones I have acquired originate from USA. They've all been released in this country by Orbit Media. The quality of the pictures & sound is generally poor. Some of the copies I've paid out for are nothing short of miserable.

This set absolutely wipes the floor with EVERY other Rathbone Holmes DVD on the market. For picture quality & sound clarity it is positively without rival. Quality is simply pristine.

As for the films themselves - you probably know! I'm aware the Brett fans will argue til the cows come home that he was the best (and I can see why), but for me, Rathbone WAS Holmes. Nigel Bruce's bumbling Watson has been an iritant of serious Sherlockians since these films were made, but as someone who largely came to Holmes through this series, I personally have a lot of affection for both the actor and his clumsy, pompous Watson.

One of the discs contains a short documentary, detailing the lengths that the producers went to get this set as brilliant as it is. It was 10 years in the making!

There are expert and insightful audio commentaries by David Stuart Davies on 5 of the films. These were full of fascinating facts about a whole range of subjects connected to the pictures you were seeing; from subtle props (that I hadn't previously spotted) through to mini biographies of the actors who pop up throughout the 14 films. It's honestly just wonderful!

The films are;

1939: The Hound Of The Baskervilles
1939: The Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes
1942: Sherlock Holmes And The Voice Of Terror
1942: Sherlock Holmes And The Secret Weapon
1943: Sherlock Holmes In Washington
1943: Sherlock Holmes Faces Death
1944: Sherlock Holmes And The Spider Woman
1944: The Scarlet Claw
1944: The Pearl Of Death
1945: The House Of Fear
1945: The Woman In Green
1945: Pursuit To Algiers
1946: Terror By Night
1946: Sherlock Holmes And The Secret Code ("Dressed To Kill" In The USA)

Cheers to whoever's idea it was to finally give these films the respect they deserve! You've made my decade (at least in a DVD sense)!
1010 Comments| 618 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)