Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
47
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2017
Superb asthma christie as always
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
Agatha Christie at her best! Geraldine Mcewan is a wonderful Miss Marple, and the stories are beautifully played by excellent actors. The bonus is that the first story gives you an insight to Miss Marple's past, and why she is still a spinster. Despite knowing who the murderer is I watch these over and over again, as they are so enjoyable!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
It doesn't matter how many times I watch these episodes I always love them. I once read that the Marple mysteries were set in an age that didn't really exist and these re-workings of such well-known stories add to that feeling. The settings and costumes are fabulous and Geraldine Mcewan is a deliciously twinkly amateur detective.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
The review details appear to suggest that this collection contains 'Sleeping Murder', 'By The Pricking Of My Thumbs', 'The Moving Finger' and 'The Sittaford Mystery'. This is not the case. The collection actually comprises '4.50 From Paddington', 'The Body In The Library', 'Murder At The Vicarage' and 'A Murder Is Announced' as indicated in the synopsis at the bottom of the page. A good collection, nonetheless. Brilliantly acted and filmed, but not quite as absorbing as the Joan Hickson versions. However these Geraldine McEwan adaptations bring a refreshingly subtle humour to the role and make an interesting comparison to the earlier Hickson films.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Love Marple, I can't get enough of it. Love Geraldine Mcewan, She is the sweetest Marple ever!!!! I have recently starting watching it and will be buying the whole collection slowly!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
very good versions of the novels so famous. i recommend this collection to fans of her works. good value too
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2007
I started watching these adaptions, quite prepared to dislike them. Calling them 'Marple' without the 'Miss' didn't help. And you could easily be put off these adaptations after reading some of the reviews by the Joan Hickson devotees. It really depends how strictly correct you want your Christie to be. Joan Hickson is undoubtedly the definitive Miss Marple, and I think that the production team on this newer adaptation realised that. They knew they couldn't hope to out-Marple her and haven't wasted time trying. I found this newer version very entertaining, beautifully shot with charming settings, costumes, cars - all the trimmings. It is slightly racier, but fear-not, you can still watch it with your maiden aunt in the room, she won't faint. The surprising number of famous faces helps to hide who the baddy is as well. Quite often in murder mysteries, there is one star in them and 9 times out of 10, they `done it'. Geraldine McEwan's Miss Marple turns out to have a bit of a past, which is certainly a new departure, and makes for an interesting twist. If you want Sunday-evening escapism, and you can bring yourself to overlook the irregularities, then this is for you. If not, stick to Joan Hickson, who will not fail you.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2010
I loved each and every story and have watched them numerous times. I will defiantly be buying the TV series too.

What attracted me to this particular box set was that Joanna Lumley co-stared in one of the features and she certainly lived up to me expectations.

I really enjoyed the retro styling and attention to detail.

Miss Marple fascinated and delighted with her doddery first impressions, only to reveal a brilliant mind and gift for solving murders.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2006
Agatha Christie's work was always as camp as christmas but there are those too straight and too square to notice it. Taken at face value, AC's work (and I have read them all) is fairly tame and simplistic, hence the wide following from the lowest-common denominator. However, take the roles and serve them up with plenty of outrageous hamming and camp and you have something worth waiting in for. A worthy successor to Albert Finney's Poirot on that dangerous Mediterranean train, and knocking the smug spots off Suchet's safe little Belgian as well as Hickson's safe-for-a-sunday-night gentle trot-by-numbers.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2007
I can't help wondering why this attempt of a new adaptation of tried and tested material when we have THE ultimate Miss Marple and that is Joan Hickson? Because whatever it was, lack of other quality stuff, necessity to engage certain cast, production team' indulgence - it just did not work, there is no purpose other that re-modelling familiar stories badly in the flashy surroundings and elaborate interpretation. Just hope no one will come up with the idea of a another Poirot after David Suchet!!
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)