Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2005
What an album,the boy butler has done some pretty skilled stuff in his time,but this is the best. The prettiest album i have ever heard. I dont think there is a bad point on the whole album,i was even down with J.B playin the banjo cos it sounded so damn good. Its nice to hear something with so much heart and that has obviously been put together by a man who is actually a muscian first and foremost. I have must be over 700 cd's maybe a couple of thosand vinyl and a hell of alot of track on my computer but somehow this is still the only album i have been hearing the past year - absolutley brlliant!. if u want good music in any form this aint for you. If you live for music and need your next yearly fantastic album hit before you dry up BUY IT.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2005
I was lucky enough to see The John Butler Trio play at Brixton Academy in April and I must have been one of the only Brits in the crowd. It was as though every Australian in London had made sure they were there, and rightly so!
These are three outstanding musicians and this latest offering from the band is a real testament to that. The album has plenty of variation and mood change throughout, and it's more easy going than 'Three' - their previous album - which had much longer tracks with more instrumental. Incidentally it looks as though the Trio have added 'Betterman' onto this album as a bonus that didn't feature on the original version of 'Sunrise...', but on 'Three'. It's a great track, so a bit of a bargain there for all new fans. If you want to get a feel of the album before you buy, I suggest listening to Peaches and Cream, Company Sin, Zebra and Oldman - four choice tracks. There really isn't a bad song on this album though so you'd be doing well with any.
This is an essential buy for any Ben Harper/Jack Johnson fan, and if you like it, then check out Missy Higgins as well - slightly different vein, but another Australian gem.
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2004
Yet another fantastic release from John Butler and his trio. This, their third album proper(and 1 Ep), is an amazing offering in which the the band, with new bass player and drummer, sound much more musically "together". They have cut back on the 10 minute epics, and made the music sound a lot more tight knit. Anyone who has seen this band, one of the very best live performances I have seen, will appreciate the fact that the recorded music still has the same quality, whether live or listening to it in their lounge. Of course the live show does exceed any atmosphere expectations you could imagine, although if you can't see him live, the cd is great!! A special highlight, the funked up "Treat yo Mama" and the single "zebra". SUPERB!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2004
I have recently returned from australia and it saddens me that no-one back in the UK seems to have heard of JBT. Simply belting!!! The laid back 'funk' reflects a typical way of life in australia and you can see elements of the album in life itself in australia, all in all worth a listen. And like previous reviews have stated, they are talented and interesting live, they seem to add an extra dimension.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2004
I cannot understand why the likes of John Butler are so little known and appreciated here in the UK. This album is a superb collection of well written, intelligent songs about life performed by an understated genius, backed by a solid band. Simply unmissable. UK radio producers please talke note - play it, not all good music comes from the UK or USA.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2005
It seems that a lot of John Butler fans prefer his early efforts (S/T, and Three). But personally i think this is by far the best JBT album so far. With tracks like Treat Yo Mama, Hello, Bound To Ramble and Zebra. John Butler shows just how many levels there are to his talent. If your looking for a head on Acoustic rock album go for Three, if you want some sublime 12 string instrumental epics go for S/T. This however has the whole package in 1. If you love John Butler you should also keep a look out for Xaver Rudd, Jack Johnson, Big Midget, Ash Grunwald, some more great acoustic acts there.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2005
I first heard the JBT whilst on a flight from Sydney to Hong Kong on 5 Jan. British Airways are playing of selection of Aussie stuff (including the wonderful Missy Higgins) after the 'main course' on their film channels. To find these two artists was a real bonus to a fantastic holiday - okay the Great Barrier Reef shaded both in terms of magnificence but it's always a treat when you come away from somewhere with something you didn't expect. This text may not be a musical review but it may prompt you to find out more about the JBT and Missy Higgins. I defy anyone to enjoy at least one of these offerings. I now have the JBT 'Living' CD as well, their live performances seem to be even better than their studio stuff - check out the free to download audio files on the home page [...] (especially 'What You Want' - superb!). ps S.O.S also has the latest single Something's Gotta Give as a bonus track.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2004
Simply superb. New band members and less mucking around at the end of songs. Chilled and happy at the same time. Lie back and appreciate the genius in songs like 'peaches and cream' and 'what you want' or get up and dance to 'Treat yo mama' and 'zebra'. What more can i say? ... simplyexcellent!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2004
Another outstanding album from one of the best acts touring at the moment. Any onbe who has seen John Butler live will know what an amazing guitarist he is and somehow this album (like his debut Three) manages to maintain some of passion that his live shows do. All I can say is this is highly recommended to anyonbe who loves good and intelligent music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2005
Thanks to all the other reviewers who raved about this album. One listen and I'm hooked. There is no time wasted here on trying to be fashionable or cool. They mean it, with their whole heart and soul they mean it. This album truly has the energy and presence of a live gig. Passionate songs delivered with sweat. Great stuff.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.43
£7.37

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)