Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
25
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 25 October 2010
This is the embodiement of punk in some ways (short songs with no messing about), but to label it in such a simplistic way is to do this album a massive disservice.

Wire were and are a massive influence on a number of bands, they took the essence of punk, stripped it down even further and married it to the spirit of the Velvet Underground and the Ramones. If that sounds like a melee, well, it isn't. This is art pop at its finest. A minimal stripped back album where each song is a tale in its own right, short, sharp but eminently listenable.

Punk lasted but 100 days, it's legacy, it's effect allowed bands like Magazine and Wire to push their listeners into new avenues of pleasure and in Pink Flag, you find, arguably Wires best work.

It is ridiculously cheap so if you don't already own this work, what on earth are you waiting for? This is a stone wall classic and I don't just say this as a fan, I had no clue of this band until around 3 years ago and in the meantime, it has never left my ipod playlist and with the amount of music I buy, that is something in itself.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
haven't heard this cd for some time...doesn't let me down...great. many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 November 2003
True winners of the most influential forgotten band of the 70's punk scene. Enjoy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2016
Seminal punk album. A must buy. Short but very sweet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 October 2006
The first Wire fan I ever met told me that the great thing about this album was that if you didn't like a song you didn't have to wait long for it to end. It so happens that there are three epics of over three minutes long here, including the outstanding title track. More striking is the band's chameleonic nature. Many of the songs come across as punk rock stripped as naked as it could be. Yet the patient, plodding opening of the gloomy 'Reuters' belies such a tag, as does the prolonged ending with its 'rape' chant grinding to a halt. Not exactly art as The Sex Pistols would have understood it. Wire's worldview is as cynical but more incisive, sometimes oblique and mysterious. They don't always go for subtlety in the lyrics though, as the expletive-laden 'Mr Suit' proves.

Not allowing to let songs outstay their welcome and infusing them with so much dirt and energy is one of the positive aspects of the punk ethic. If there's a drawback, it is that some of the later songs on the album begin to sound rather like some of the ones you've already heard. Though 'Pink Flag' is a prominent milestone of the late 1970s, I find I prefer the slightly more mature follow-up, 'Chairs Missing'.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
What is left to say about this album?: For those of you who hav'nt, you should; those that might, had better, and for the rest,
tracks like 12XU, Outdoor Miner are proof of higher thinks...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
An essential ingredient in the early punk genre. Wire packed their work wIth humour and style. Later sampled by bands like Elastica.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Never heard of Wire until I was reading something the other day about Punk pioneers, back when we was punks I would have loved this but somehow it passed me by. The music on here is punk that is about to become post punk whilst you are listening to it, the mind blowing and pre hardcore use of extra short songs is so ahead of the time. Sometimes music is able to span genre and time, PIL spring to mind and Wire are right up there with them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
THE post punk masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
Just an amazing album . Why is there a minimum amount i can write that's fucking stupid. . . .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)