Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
8
Cirque Du Soleil: The Fire Within [DVD] [2005]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 17 March 2005
If you've ever seen and loved a Cirque du Soleil show you HAVE to get this DVD. The show consists of 13 emmy award winning episodes which go behind the scenes of Cirque's headquarters and follows a bunch of young artists preparing for their new production, "Varekai". It provides a real insight into just how much hard work goes into one of their shows and also highlights the fact that Cirque is an extremely demanding company which will only accept the absolute best. The last episode almost had me in tears as some peoples 12 months of hard work doesn't pay off and Cirque simply sends them home. This is a double DVD box set which also includes the complete performance of "Varekai" with impressive extra features.
11 Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2010
This is more than a simple making off from cirque du soleil.Do not expect to watch the show varekai there is another dvd one especifically to watch the performance. This dvd was filmed from the very beginnig when the show was ony an idea by the ciqrue, they didnt even have neither the name of the show nor the artist.You will see the casting,the artists personal lifes and how they face different drawbacks, the difficlt training they to do everday and the ambition to join the best cirque cirue in the world that will change their lifes forever.
you will get a different point of view about the big indusry of cirque du soleil taht i am sure it will make you be a great fun.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2011
My partner bought me tickets to see Totem in London for Christmas and as soon as we got home I wanted to see other shows Cirque du Soleil had done. This wonderful dvd set goes one step further and lets you see the work that goes on behind the scenes into the productions as well as including a dvd of the finished article. Nothing could ever fully portray the intensity of effort required to perform at this level but this gives a fascinating insight and enhances appreciation for whole team responsible for the theatrical circus experience. The narrator is slightly annoying and the episodes could have been longer but it wasn't made for the uk market so it is understandable, and there are many more positives than negatives for this set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2007
I watched this over a couple of days and loved every minute of it. I've been to see La Nouba twice in Florida, Dralion in London and next week I'll be in Las Vegas for Ka, I just can't get enough of Cirque du Soleil. This DVD shows the "behind the scenes" view of Cirque and demonstrates how all the hard work by the artists make this the best circus company in the world.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2013
Like I say...having seen CdS live this is not as good...but it's the next best thing.

The show is spectacular and great entertainment (if you've never seen them then think artistic [and spectacular] acrobatics, juggling, trapeez, fire juggling all to an abstract theme)

Worth it for a relaxing piece of entertainment
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2013
A really interesting look behind the scenes at Cirque du Soleil. You realise the physical pain and angst the performers go through to achieve world class performances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2013
Exactly like the picture . . . . . . . .. .. . . . . . . . . . . . . ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2016
My good lady was very pleased with the product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here