Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2004
So much for let the music do the talking! This is not a proper live concert DVD as the cover suggests.

It is spoilt by the interviews between songs, which happen to run over the beginings of many of the tracks. Indeed, Joe Perry's slide solo in the middle of Draw the line is also ruined.

It is quite unbelievable that a band as big as and as long running as Aerosmith, still does not have one true concert DVD on official release.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2004
In summing up the Aerosmith sound, it was once said "we make music that really speaks to the groin" - that, in a nutshell, is what Aerosmith have always been about, and 30-plus years into their career it doesn't look likely that's ever gonna change (we hope)!
Aerosmith are a pretty polarising group - you either like them or you don't, so you'll either relish the prospect of this first official live DVD or you won't see what all the fuss is about. As I fall very much into the former category this review takes the initial assumption that you an Aerosmith fan wondering whether to shell out for a nice shiny platter of your favourite band?
Well, first things first, the DVD description is a little misleading. This is Aerosmith Live - but it isn't simply an Aerosmith concert, it's an expanded version of the TV special that was shown on A+E in the USA earlier this year. Therefore, the live footage is regularly interspersed with short interviews, behind the scenes footage, the recording of Honkin' On Bobo and other pearls of wisdom from the Boston Bad Boys. Personally I found this method of filming was more distracting than beneficial. With the use of a DVD this footage would have been far better wrapped up into a documentary than cut into the songs - occasionally the songs are even faded down halfway through to drop a bit of split-screen interview into the mix. The most criminal use of this technique was during Draw The Line - Joe Perry's blistering guitar work is suddenly interrupted by.... Joe Perry talking about gigging with the band. In the words of a not-unrelated song, Let The Music Do The Talking!
Musically, the boys are as good, if not better, than ever. Joey's powerhouse nature whilst drumming has to be seen to be believed - particularly during the opening tracks when the band uses the small stage, you can almost hear the drums screaming with the pounding they receive! Joe's guitar work is some of the best I've heard, and Steven seems really energised throughout (watch out for that trapeze)! However, I feel the format of the DVD will leave most people feeling frustrated. It is not in-depth enough to work as a documentary, and the stop-start nature of the concert footage breaks up the flow of live atmosphere.
Aerosmith are no strangers to the live CD - 1998's A Little South Of Sanity was their last official foray into the genre and, as always, proved their mastery or the game. Film of those performances or a complete show from the latest tour would be a much better option, but as live Aerosmith performances are pretty thin on the ground in the UK I guess beggars can't always be choosers.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2004
I've been waiting for this for a long time!!..A DvD of one of the best rawk bands of all time, doing what they do best: playing live. Aerosmith are a 'live band' and this is how they should sound; loud and raw. I've been fortunate enough to actually have seen them perform live, back in 1999, in Wembley Stadium, and they were amazing. Although this DvD could never compare to actually being at an Aerosmith concert, it none-the-less captures the incessant energy of the veteran rockers, in a 2-hour show of searing Perry-Whitford-Hamilton guitar riffs; Joey Kramer's unstoppable drumming and of course..Tyler's incredible vocal range and constant performing.
The Track list/ set, includes songs from all four decades that these guys have been rawking: From their inception in 70's right through to their last/ most recently released(March 2004) album Honkin On the Bobo. Their are 16 tracks:
Toys in the Attic, Love in an elevator, Road Runner, Baby Please don't go, Cryin, The other Side, Back In the Saddle, Draw the line, Dream on, Stop messin Around, Jaded, I don't Want to miss a thing, Sweet Emotion, Never Loved a girl, Walk this Way and Train Kept A Rollin'.
Also 5 extra tracks: Fever, rats in the cellar, livin on the edge, last child and Same old song and dance.
If the live show wasn't enough, this DvD also includes footage of the making of Honkin On the Bobo; a Discography and a 6-song live audio CD.
The sound and visual quality are both good and consistant throughout.
If you're a fan then this will be everything you could wish for. If not, then you will become a fan after watching this. I just hope they come and tour Europe soon.
Definitly worthy of 5 stars!!!!!...Aerosmith Rawk!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2005
This DVD was filmed in Orlando & originally broadcasted on American TV. The concert itself is amazing. The only thing that ruins it is that between songs they have this 'interuption' that shows the making of their latest album, Honkin' On BoBo. Maybe they could of made this dvd better by showing the concert uncut and putting 'the making of' in bonus features. Regardless, it's still a great dvd and is excellent for fans that haven't seen the band in concert.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2005
This is a must have for Aerosmith fans mostly filmed live in concert. It does however cut away showing the band talking in between songs which I find adds to the DVD. The sound and picture quality is spot on.This is a long overdue dvd by Aerosmith and one that every fan must have.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2011
Not a fan of concerts interupted by interviews or in this case 'on the road' and studio clips.
Needed something in my collection to represent Aerosmith who are after all the real deal when it comes to rock.
all in all I can't share the total enthusiasm of the audience as the general strength of the songs do not match
the bands 'rock elite' image.
The numerous young ladies in the audience doing the text book wiggly hips with hands in the air, seem to be there
for their own performance rather than for the band.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2005
This was long overdue from the band...............but well worth the wait.
Every self respecting fan of rock music should own "You Gotta Move". The mixture of new and past tracks clearly shows the breadth and depth of this fantastic rock band shown to great effect on this live DVD.
Excellent all round performance.....lets hope they produce another from their nexr world tour!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
I like Honkin' on Bobo a lot because it shows how great musicians Aerosmith are and the easygoing atmosphere of the whole album and all the great covers of those old blues and rock and roll songs make it my favourite cover album. Now this DVD was shot on the tour of it and it also has some real classic old Aerosmith hits like Toys In The Attic, Sweet Emotion, Draw The Line, or Dream On. Besides the DVD there is a live CD as well, so it is worth each and every penny you spend on it. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2005
In response to the reviewer below:
I read your comments before I watched the DVD for myself and I recommend you check your audio set up.
Seriously, there is no problem with hearing Joe Perry's guitar - it is perfectly loud enough in the mix and considerably clearer than Brad's second guitar volume.
The sound is very well mixed and produced.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
If you want to see and Aerosmith at their best I recommend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)