Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Best of 2017 Shop now Shop now



on 2 October 2013
Love love love this movie, really great. Wish everyone could be forced to watch it to be honest! thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2014
See this and you should double/tripple/supersized thoughts about eating at a fast food place ever again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2005
Following in the wake of other successful movie-documentaries here we have Morgan Spurlock taking up the challenge to live on only food from McDonalds for a whole month. 3 square meals a day, and every time he is asked if he'd "like to go super size", he has to answer yes.
Spurlock is rigorously medically examined both before and during the experiment and the results and pretty horrific. Even taking into account no-one surely eats McD's 3 times a day, the changes in Spurlock's health is worryingly extreme.
Spurlock also looks at the mess that school meals are in and makes some general points about how the massive food corporations lobby and effect government.
It is terribly one sided and with McDonalds refusing to appear to answer any of the criticisms we only get Spurlock's biased opinions. But really that is only half the story, the most shocking factor is the realisation of how bad for you even one single fast food meal is. When you consider the McDonald's themselves consider a once a week eater as some sort of "extreme user" you really do have to wonder how unhealthy their food is.
Finally what makes the film so watchable is the very likable Morgan Spurlock who seems to come through his ordeal whilst never losing his sense of humour.
Of course you shouldn't eat fast food every day, and of course we know that McDonalds is unhealthy, but did we know exactly how bad it really is?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2015
Much funnier and interesting the first time round, still worth an hour or two of your time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2005
I watched this film at school as part of my media course (dont ask)at first alot of my mates were a bit skeptical on this film as it wasn't really big in the UK but we kept our mind open and boy!..were we surprised.I learnt soooooooooooo much in this film about McDonalds and fast food overall, it's EXTREMELY funny,sounds as accurate as it can be and is just so well structured and informative. I would say it's the equivalent 0f Michael Moore's Bowling For Columbine, except the Fast food version.It's quite scary though cos as much as this film exposed McDonald's toxic ingredients, I still craved it LOL. One thing to look out for in this film which i found quite disturbing was when Morgan (the filmaker) was flashing the picture cards to the '1st grade' kids and they didn't recognise Jesus, one recognised George Washington..they all recognised Ronald McDonald (mmm i wonder why?) but none knew Jesus's face.However one made a guess to who it was...George Bush!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 October 2005
There has been a recent trend to cinema documentaries some are confrontational and merit watching in a movie form such as Bowling Columbine but others are just documentaries. This is one of the others. Now don't misunderstand that, viewed on its own terms as a documentary there is little wrong with this but its not something to sit down and watch as a movie experience.
Spurlock's arguments are all perfectly reasonable but facile, anyone who is inclined to watch this will already know that fast food is bad for you and anyone who doesn't is not watching. So watching this only really serves as an exercise in patting yourself on the back. You might come away with a few more arguments if you wanted to challenge your neighbourhood fast food fan but asking them to watch this itself wouldn't change anyone as the situation Spurlock creates of eating nothing but McDonalds for breakfast, lunch and dinner for a month is so unlikely in the real world that it's not useful. Anyone can refuse to listen because the scenario is unrealistic.
It's easy to hold this in high esteem because Spurlock has adopted an unarguable moral high ground. Criticising it would be like criticising good manners. But it's also easy to hold this in low esteem as it does not work in movie format. Put simply this is a good but non controversial documentary, but it is a mediocre movie.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2005
Very funny, very informative and very clever, really enjoyed this film,i shall never eat a big mac again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2015
Great thanks, a salutory lesson for my 13 yr old!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2016
Interesting documentary, enjoyed watching it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2009
Guess what happens if you eat lettuce and nothing else for a whole month. You get sick!
Guess what happens if you eat lard and nothing else for a whole month.
You get sick!
Guess what happens if you eat fast food and nothing else for a whole month.
You get sick!
Hardly a revlation. Morgan Spurlock jumps on the Michael Moore band wagon and makes a factual documentary about how fast food is bad for you. It amazes me how this drivel generated so much hype when it was first released. Taking pot shots like this at a fast food giant is like shooting fish in a barrel.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)