Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
116
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£18.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2017
I was so pleased to be able to buy this 1953 classic film at such a reasonable price. I first saw it in 1954 and it established a lasting memory for me. A wonderfully funny film. My grandchildren found it equally as funny as me. Brilliant!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Absolutely loved it!
I saw this film when it was first screened in 1953, which rather dates me. I, and all the audience in the cinema, were virtually
"rolling in the aisles" at the comedic antics of Jacques Tati (Monsieur Hulot). Very few words spoken, but the visual comedy, based
on his observations of people and situations in real life, spoke volumes and provided the wonderful persons, scenes and actions in
this classic comedy.
After all the years which have elapsed since I first saw this film I admit to still finding it incredibly funny. If anybody wants a
good laugh, and wishes to be uplifted from normal worldly cares then I heartily recommend this dvd/film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Seen this lots of times but never tire of watching it again. An absolute classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
The more you watch this film the more you see ! All my family love this film it is a great comedy and Jacques Tati is so funny and his timing is spot on.A great people watcher he cheers me up well done to him .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Happy memories for my dad from back in the 50's.The picture quality was excellent
Sound good too. Perfect gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
Item was described as new, but was in fact used. A little upset as this was a gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 October 2001
Mr Hulot's Holiday is simply one of the funniest films you'll ever see. In a series of hilarious episodes the blundering Hulot unwittingly causes havoc in a seaside resort. Tati's genius for mime is breathtaking at times - the perfect slapstick timing of Laurel & Hardy without the melodramatics. There is shrewd social observation and a host of real characters with endearing quirks and habits. There are so many visually comic ideas that you only become aware of them after many viewings. A film which holds you in a spell and generates timeless comedy at no-one's expense.
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This came out in 1953. Amazing that it took until now for me to know it existed. Forget about it being in French and black and white, it's just sublime comedy, most of it silent. How did everyone making it manage to keep a straight face?

Mr Hulot bumbles his way through his holiday leaving havoc and a sense of nostalgia for gentler times in his wake. My favourite scenes are the one where he catches a tiger skin rug in his shoe and whisks it around behind him as he walks; and where he arrives exhausted in the mountain hut only to slowly topple backwards through the door and disappear from view, borne down by the weight of his massive rucksack. Pain in stomach and crying from laughter, a resounding five stars.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2004
This is one of the funniest films I have ever seen. Owing much to Chaplin and - to a lesser extent - Buster Keaton and Will Hay, Tati's creation is a bumbling bringer of mayhem who remains oblivious to the chaos he creates around him. As the title suggests, the film follows M. Hulot on his seaside holiday. Each scene is brilliantly executed and masterfully played to squeeze every last comic drop from every situation. Less pacy than Chaplin or Keaton, but no less funny, highlights include the wonderfully choreographed table tennis scene and the closing firework extravaganza. This is an almost totally silent film (the few words which are spoken are in English) which demonstrates the truly universal flavour of physical and visual comedy. M. Hulot is undoubtedly the precursor of such comic creations as Frank Spencer and Mr Bean: as is often the case, those who came after are pale imitations.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
Great Product Great transaction
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)