Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
59
4.6 out of 5 stars
Jour De Fete [1949] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.68+ Free shipping


on 23 June 2017
EXCELLENT COMEDY. SAW IT WHEN IT FIRST CAME TO ENGLISH CINEMAS AND THOUGHT IT WAS BRILLIANT.
HAVING SEEN IT AGAIN, AFTER SUCH A LONG LAPSE IN TIME, I STILL THINK IT IS HILARIOUS. IN MY OPINION
IT HASN'T DATED BUT STILL RETAINS THE MARVELLOUS OBSERVATIONAL HUMOUR THAT EPITOMISED JACQUES
TATI'S FILMS.
WELL WORTH BUYING, ESPECIALLY AT THE PRICE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
A joy to watch ,days of old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
Excellent early Tati material.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
A brilliant and charming film. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
Great Product Great transaction
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The adventures of a postman in a sleepy little French village who tries to speed up his deliveries after watching an American training movie. Even funnier than M Hulot's Holiday, in my opinion, and a perfect example of the very best visual humour - innocent, breathtakingly original and beautifully timed. I've loved it for years, and now my five year old son thinks it's really cool! This film might persuade him that Europe has more to offer than just the language.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2009
Jacques Tati plays Francois, the village postman, stung into an effort to bring the postal service into the 2oth century and speed up his delivery methods. A village fair proves the stimulus - it's nothing more exotic than a roundabout and a couple of stalls, but in one tent there's a film about the modern American postal service ... and comparison with Francois' bike, banter, and bucolic blundering are inevitable. We get every visual gag you could imagine involving a bicycle and a postman. Francois makes Cliff from 'Cheers' look sober and taciturn. The postman is a respected man - his advice is regularly sought on practical problems ... like hoisting a flagpole - but nobody places much stock in the chances of the mail arriving on time, if at all.

Filmed in 1948, Tati used a colour process which proved impossible to transfer to print at the time, so the original release was in black and white (Tati used two cameras, shooting in b&w as a back-up in case the colour failed). The colour version was finally transferred to print in 1995, and it's the colour version I watched. Colour is quite subdued, quite bleached compared to modern processes, but it adds to the atmosphere, conjuring up a bygone era and imparting a contemporary but vintage dynamic to the film.

Shot so soon after the end of the Second World War, the film makes no allusions to this, other than a quick dig at the American army ... and that briefly as part of the main thread of the film which satirises the Americanisation of attitudes and its absorption into French culture. The satire is of the French themselves, not America.

Tati is a comedy genius, on a par with Keaton and Chaplin - he deserves to be far better known in the English-speaking world. Comparisons with the silent era are inevitable: 'Jour de Fete' does employ dialogue, but most of the comedy is visual - sound effects are employed to enhance the visual. Tati was a very funny man, and his films abound in gentle, and sometimes not so gentle, digs at pretension and human vanities. An extremely funny and delightful film which has aged well, losing none of its humour, charm, or wit.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2008
Tati's first feature film (he has made some shorts before) from 1949 is about an inept bicycle riding postman (Tati himself, of course) trying to adopt more efficient ways of delivering mail in a quaint French rural village, after watching a documentary of the American postal system. One must say first that the gags here are not as good or as funny as in Tati's later films (especially Mr. Hulot's Holiday and Mon Oncle). Still, this is worth seeing, especially in its color version (Tati was disappointed with its primitive color system, so he finally decided to release the film on black and white; the color version of the film was restored and released to the public many years later, after Tati's death). What is more striking of the movie when one sees it now is to look, even in a color that leaves much to be desired, at a rural France that no longer exists.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2010
This DVD quite simply brought back memories of when I first saw it, and it was just as hilarious this time around. Whether the addition of colour is an improvement I don't know, but it will have to be up to the individual to decide. Nevertheless, my sides were aching through laughter when I played this DVD. In his day Jaques Tati was the master of mime, and it was his foresight not to keep to the same character of the postman, but to move on and introduce different characters in each film. Overall I really enjoyed this DVD, and it was not until I saw a documentary on Tati that I discovered the name of the film, hence the inordinate delay before buying the DVD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2005
Tati's first feature has been overshadowed by the marvellous films that followed it, (particularly "M. Hulot's holiday") but this little masterpiece deserves to be seen. The pace is slow and the action mostly lugubrious but it is worth giving yourself time for the little details to work their magic. The droll story links a series of priceless set pieces that had me crying with laughter. How can a drunken postman making his way home on a bicycle be so funny? This is visual humour that is both refined and brilliantly funny and there is something wonderfully uplifting and humane in the tone of the film. As so often with Tati, the children seem much more socially adroit than the adults but all the characters are vivid and convincing. Tati beautifully captures a rural French postwar past that was fast disappearing even as he made the film. Hilarious, but much more than just funny.
0Comment| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)