Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
26
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
Choke is an account of Rickson Gracie's rise to stardom in Japan during the second Vale tudo Japan tournament. He arives at the tournament as the reigning champion from the previous year and Choke delivers an insiders point of view of what happened. There are interviews and footage of family members including the late Helio Gracie (Rickson's father and pioneer of Gracie jiu-jitsu)regarding training and ability of the undefeated champion. This film is not in the same tone of "The smashing machine",which envokes an emotional link with the fighter. Choke is just a behind the scenes look at what happened in the build up and at the time of Rickson's peak in MMA.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2008
A fantastic insight to the world of MMA and Vale Tudo.

Its a well filmed documentary that caters for both the martial artist and the average joe.

I watched it with my wife who generally detests anything to do with martial arts (thats my fault because of my 'un'healthy obsession with training and going to fights!) and she enjoyed it!

So, martial artist or not, get a copy and enjoy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
I'm an experienced martial artist (20yr+ karate) who's recently taken up BJJ. I first saw Choke on VHS format a few years ago, and was mesmerised by Rickson's skills and attitude. This guy was (and still is) a real warrior.

There are a lot of MMA/UFC/Vale Tudo products out there now, but - for me - this gives a unique insight into Rickson's psychology and performance. The thing that sets him apart from his brothers (for me) is his strength and striking, which obviously are coupled with amazing technical skills. He hits with real venom, and his striking is a major threat that sets up decisive and relentless finishes, usually by rear naked choke. The quality of the opposition is obviously below what's around today in terms of well rounded fighters that train to grapple and strike, but the Japanese Shoot & Jiu Jitsu fighters are good (though I was annoyed to see Yamamoto hanging on to the rope to avoid being taken down & dragged to the centre of the ring, and him ALMOST getting a guillotine on)

I'd love to see Rickson (in his prime) competing today...think he'd still dominate. I've also watched Renzo's 'Legacy' DVD, which is fantastic too...but Rickson's conditioning is far superior and his striking a lot more decisive. Excellent product if you're a BJJ or MMA fan, strongly recommend it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
Before the UFC, before Pride, there was the Vale Tudo. This is an interesting and entertaining re-telling of the second Vale Tudo in '95 in Japan. The action mostly follows Gracie, but spends some time on two of his potential opponents. The difference between the Gracies, fearless, give everything approach to the philosophy of combat, juxtaposed with the other two fighters the film features, highlights the difference between sportsmen, involved in the sport for various reasons, and the true martial artist, involved because it is physically impossible to do anything else. The subtext is fully glossed over, due to the sports doc style, but anyone with an ounce of intuition can see that whilst Rickson has the ultimate support and training structure, the other athletes are way over their heads, from the kickboxer complaining about the gloves, to the Japanese wrestler trying to convince his parents that he will survive the contest.

A must for all martial arts students and fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
An interesting film, a bit of a documentary and interesting look at attitudes of competitors to a major sporting event and there motvations. Also a good in site into the approach of Rickson Gracie.

a must watch for any serious marital artist studying combat sports and BJJ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2016
Bought this for my husband who's a big mixed martial arts fan. Really enjoyed watching it with him, a fascinating guy that Gracie - so for once my husband was actually delighted with my gift! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2011
Gritty powerful insight into the Gracie persona. well documented behind the scenes footage. I've watched this 3 times now and still finding insight on pieces I'd missed 1st and 2nd time around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
absoloutly excellent film! watched this for years and always watch it often. would recommend to anyone with a slight interest in martial arts or just looking to learn from a master!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
I can't really add anything that hasn't already been said. This is an excellent behind-the-scenes 'documentary' featuring arguably the greatest one-on-one fighter of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)