Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
31
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2016
Having been recommended ‘Red’ by my guitar teacher, I decided to try out this album too! I first came across this album whilst reading an interview with a member of Tool, I can’t remember if it was the drummer or guitarist, anyway, he noted this as being one of his favourite albums. Listening to a few of tracks, the influence on Tool is undeniable; indeed, some sections seem to be lifted directly from a Tool album, although obviously it’s the other way around!
Despite being a guitar-driven band, King Crimson features vocals in some form (spoken words, singing, unusual vocal patterns etc) on all of the songs on this album, apart from its title track and the penultimate ‘Sheltered Sky,’ which is pretty unusual for this band as they tend to leave out vocals altogether, to concentrate on instrumentals instead.
Another musical aspect than immediately grabs you about this album is the importance of the bass, or its prominence in the songs. I use the term bass guitar loosely as I’m sure they are using an unusual bass or equivalent, the name escapes me! Some songs almost have the bass and the guitar swapping roles almost (the bass soloing/leading and the guitar providing the customary ‘bass role’ of a rhythmic canvas).
This is also a pretty short, succinct prog album coming in at just over 38 minutes (not counting the bonus track) and its all the better for it, (only two tracks are significantly longer than 5 minutes!) There is little wasted motion and no long-winded, drawn-out boredom often associated with prog rock.
The songs themselves are absolute classics, and are as quirky and different as they are fun to listen to. ‘Elephant Talk’ has an almost ‘cocky’ (for lack of a better term) vocal delivery, a bouncy rhythm and will have fans of all instruments, desperately trying to figure out how they got that elephant noise! ‘Discipline’ is what a sci-fi soundtrack should sound like – futuristic, and it’s brother ‘Indiscipline’ is plain chaotic! ‘Matte Kudasai’ and its alternative version which is a bonus track (one of the few completely justified, non-filler bonus tracks I’ve heard in a long time) are both beautiful pieces of music.
As much of a niche genre prog rock is made out to be, I find this album to be pretty accessible and a great advert for this type of music, I'm glad I read that Tool interview!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2011
So says Adrian. I do remember one thing from the early 80s when this album came out; I remember thinking, God I've never heard music like this before. Well that was 30 years ago and it still sounds absolutely brilliant. Superb musicians - really superb - and brilliant song-writing: 7 tracks all completely different and not a duff moment at all.

There's a reviewer on here who gave this one star because it sounds like Talking Heads. Well, yes: Remain in Light and Discipline go together as the two albums that went furthest in bringing disparate genres together (rap, dance, post-punk, african, rock, techno). Discipline and Remain in Light are two of the best pop/rock albums ever made.

If you've not heard this album you're really lucky - a bit like if you've not read the Brothers Karamazov, eaten Gloucester Old Spot pork or been to Munich. A very big treat awaits you.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2011
It's an album from the eighties' line-up of King Crimson. Consequently it ventures nowhere near the usual mindless fodder perpetuated by the media. Eight tracks, including an alternative version of track 3, are all you get. But if you like unclassifiable, quirky prog rock that alternates between the beautifully melodic to the chaotically atonal.....then this could be for you! Typically, you won't get to know this album after one listening for there are complex strata to be delved - all of which underpinned by Fripp's unique and masterful guitar playing throughout. As you'd expect, there are highly valid contributions from Brufford and Belew as well, while Levin's vocal abilities really come to the fore on the track, Matte Kudasai.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2016
One of the more accessible Crimson releases. Great well crafted music brilliantly executed by Fripp and his band of super talented players. Very highly recommended to all lovers of inventive "outside the square" music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2016
Fascinating to read the inlay for the music. It's full of contemporary reviews of the album's initial reception. Nice to read the good, bad and the ugly. But this classic album inspired my favourite bands such as Tool so always a pleasure to associate two musical giants.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2011
I continue to listen to this with awe and other bodily sensations. Thela Hun Ginjeet is still the sexiest rhythm marches ever, and everyones favourite Elephant Talk speaks as clearly today as it did way back in 81. Sadly, I lack the breadth and depth of language to describe the insane beauty that is the title track Discipline.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
spot on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
Just Brilliant Music from KC again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Fine, as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
first heard this over 30 yrs ago loved it then love it now. This will be about the third or fourth time I have brought the album as I have worn a vinyl copy out ex wife destroyed the other and lost on.

"I DO THINK ITS GOOD"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)