Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
71
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2006
As lots of people, I love Friends, and feel that Series 8, 9 and 10 take on a different tone to previous series. Series 9 and 10 in particular certainly focus more on the relationships, with many storylines coming to a head. Adding to that, the humour becomes if possible even better, and more surreal (if that can be applied to Friends!) then this is an almost perfect series. The only quibble I do have is the box set itself; perhaps I have been spoilt on other box sets such as Frasier, Lord of the rings etc, but the 3 flimsy disc sets of an individual, plain disk, is rather disappointing. That said, its not the box you'll be looking at, but enjoying 24 wonderful episodes.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2008
Series 9 of Friends begins with Rachel saying yes to Joey's "proposal" at the hospital. It shows Ross and Rachel looking after baby Emma while living together. There are certain memorable scenes in the series including Ross getting hooked on Maple Candy and all six of them trying to win the lottery. This series sees the introduction of Mike Hannigan (Paul Rudd) as Phoebe's boyfriend and Charlie Wheeler (Aisha Tyler) as Joey and then Ross' girlfriend. The season finale in Barbados is probably one of the best two-parters in the whole series. Also, Phoebe's old boyfriend from Series 1, David, the scientist guy (Hank Azaria), returns from Minsk. Definitely a DVD for a true Friends fan.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Who doesn't like Friends? And who hasn't seen Friends that they are relying on my review?? I can't give this DVD any less than 5 stars. It's been 20 years since the first episode, but I think the humour has aged ok - you may not laugh if you watch Friends for the first time today, but having grown up with it, I find it hugely comforting and enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2004
I bought this edition as the price was incredible, and owning all other 8 of the series - also thought it would be good to save some space. Be warned though - the sleeves are in ultra thin cases with no real defined spine to define them, and the paper used is very cheap - looks a bit like a good colour copy from the original. Dipping inside, we now have 4 episodes on each side of the disc which is great - but although picture quality is good enough - the sound has been downgraded from the 448kbps HQ track on the previous sets (4 to a disc with extended versions) to 192kbps of the older DVDs.
Also, the subtitles are enabled by default so I had to turn them off for each new side or disc played.
Altogether disappointing as there was plenty of room for Warners to leave the audio at high quality.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2003
The episodes are as good as ever. Some of them - especially TOW the Male Nunny and the first instalment of TO in Barbados - are as wickedly funny as the choicest samples of the previous eight rounds. Nevertheless - and this is the reason I have cut two stars - the DVD format of this series is by far the poorest of all. No extras whatsoever, not even the 2-3 additional minutes provided before in Side B of the disk. It is as if Warner Bros took for granted that Friend-aholics would buy the disks anyway...Unless they are preparing something grant for the big finale, they are inexcusable. This notwithstanding, Friends is always Friends!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2004
The ninth series of friends is EXCELLENT!!!! It is so funny aswell! My favourite episodes are 'The one with Rachel's other sister' when Rachel's sister visits and they all have thanksgiving at Monicas. Amy (the sister) keeps on calling the baby different name and thinks Phoebe is Emma! She wants the baby when Rachel and Ross die but they want to give it to....... and my other favourite one is 'The one with Ross' innapropriate song' When he tries to make Emma laugh he comes out with a song 'about a man who likes women with fat asses'. When Rachel gets back she is annoyed with him meanwhile Phoebe is having dinner at Mike's parents house and she doesn't realise they are so posh so she puts on a different voice. She accidently says what happened to her dad and mum and later when she is given meat she is sick! While she is in 'the closet' throwing up Mike talks to his parents about her she comes back without him knowing and he says.........
You should DEFINETLY buy this it's AWESOME!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2012
Friends is my favorite tv series, and I really cannot get enough of them. The 9th season is where things climb to a climax, which will lead to an end in the 10th, final season. There are some commentaries at some episodes of this version,which is optional to choose, and where the producers talk about things like how they decided the story of the episode, what was going on behind the scenes etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2004
Everyone loves friends. Every series gets better and better. The story lines become funnier and funnier. I think that Ross and Joey have become a lot more funnier as the more series have been made, now they are not in the shadows of the other actors as they were before. Everyone thought that Ross and Rachel would end up together, but so far it seems they have found love in other places. I think this is one of the great things about Friends, you never know what is going to happen to all of the characters. I can't believe that the next series is going to be the last. I wish it would never end. It has brought so much laughter to me! Friends is the best sitcom. Everyone at all ages can enjoy it, it is a family comedy I think.
BUY IT! OR RENT IT NOW ON VIDEO OR DVD!!! its worth it!!
Watch Series 10 to find out what happens to the six friends in the final episodes!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
I love Friends, so was very happy to receive this. However, in taking the discs out of the box I realised that two of the discs were the same disc, so I had the middle episodes missing. I can't understand how something which was sealed could be done like that. Is that why it was so reasonably priced? I've had to send it back for a refund. All the other box sets are more expensive now on Amazon, so I may not be buying this again at the moment. Very disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2004
As the end draws unbearably close, no tru Friends fan should be without this or any other set of Videos/DVDs. Amazon's prices are fantastic for these things.
I was provided with hours of entertainment. The lines are back to their original snappiness. They are witty, and fun for everyone. Some might say marrying 2 leads is always bad, but Friends has made it work!
Some of the best lines from the series:
Chandler (Matthew Perry): "Wow, what a nice picture of your son! Strapping!...That's a picture of your Daughter isn't it?"
Joey (Matt LeBlanc): "My feelings for Rachel are totally gone. And even if they weren't, when you accidentally walk in on a woman using a breast pump..."
Monica (Courtney Cox Arquette) on learning her ex Richard taped over her sex tape: "That B*****d taped over me!"
Rachel (Jennifer Aniston): "Well, Ross is the father of my baby...and i want him to hook up with lots of women!"
Ross (David Schwimmer): "And if it's hot...why can't you wear a tank top?!"
Phoebe (Lisa Kudrow): "Don't look at me that way, Rosanne Rosanadana!!"
Just buy it okay! It is an absolutely fantastic box set, and i would urge you not to miss it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse