Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
52
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 February 2017
This is J E World at their best...confident, melodic,rocking and smart with no fillers...if you love this band (and I do) then 'Futures' is another album you can play and simply sit back and enjoy time and time again...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2017
Great album but cd will not play in my car just comes up with "error" which is really annoying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Love this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2005
It's unlikely that Jimmy Eat World will reach the same heights with 'Futures' that they achieved with 'Bleed American'. However, it's the better record of the two. The logic? 'Futures' is a secular, dense, brooding album of 11 tracks that hearkens back to the days of the band's sophomore major-label album 'Clarity' moreso than their platinum-selling follow-up. That's not to say that the tracks aren't immediate; lead single 'Pain' is a snarling 3-minute gem about paranoia and drug-culture (topically similar to Bleed American's Title Track), follow-up 'Work' is an upbeat highlight, and Just Tonight is a vivaciously danceable number. Even so, most of these tracks have a dark, almost sinister undertone; 'You fill me up but just to watch me break' Adkins proclaims on 'Kill'. Jimmy Eat World have been heralded as 'Kings of Emo', but Adkins finds a voice on Futures that maintains its sincerity and catharsis without branching into screamo territory, distancing Jimmy Eat World from the modern-day emo scene of acts like The Used, Taking Back Sunday and Thrice.
The band have never been shy of releasing a few epic 6-minute-plus numbers-- the unforgettable 'Goodbye Sky Harbor' and yearning 'Just Watch the Fireworks' to name but two-- and Futures deals another great hand in this area: the piano-centred ballad of 'Drugs for Me' and the epic album-closer '23', the latter in serious contention for the best thing the band have yet released. They've even strayed into blatant political territory with the title track, as well as the obscure connotations towards old Label 'Capitol' in 'NothingWrong' ('Turn them off/Our blacklist singers/Don't ask why/Don't cry; don't make a scene').
If there's any problem with Futures it's most probably due to its slight over-production, which is mostly prominent on 'Kill'. Thankfully the song has become a staple on their recent tour setlist, seeing it return to its raw form. Indeed, you may be better served buying the Deluxe 2CD Edition of Futures; the second CD features demos of every track on the album from various stages in their conception.
Sure, nothing says media hit like 'The Middle', but 'Futures' harnesses the side of Jimmy Eat World wanting to be taken more seriously...and what it reveals, listen after listen, is that desire unfolding, and it's a startling thing to behold. My album of 2004.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Have been a huge fan of Jimmy Eat World for as long as I can remember, but this album I have always struggled to find a physical copy of. I prefer having the actual CD rather than digital but trying to find a hard copy has been a nightmare to track down. There's a good mix of typical JimmyEW style songs that keep all fans familiar with it. My personal faves have to be Polaris and 23, they just have that epic and classic anthem sounds that are always on my gym playlist to help drag you through. This would always be hard to top Bleed American, but I can quite happily say that it sits alongside and will be played out just as much. Both albums have a more personal attachment for me so it's nice to have both albums on whenever you need that pick me up or just something to smash the day through.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2005
A lot of JEW fans stand firm that Bleed American is the best JEW album but I disgree and would choose Futures as my favourite album from the band. The reason for this is simple - from the opening and title track, Futures, I cannot stop singing when I listen to this album. The music and lyrics are just so fabulous it draws me into a world of music where whatever I am doing at the same time (washing up, cleaning etc) becomes easier. It is quite simply an album to turn up loud and get lost inside.
The album contains a perfect mix of loud rock tracks and slower ballad style songs. My favourite tracks of the "louder" variety are Work, Pain and Kill all of which are fabulous rock songs. On the slower side it is songs such as the Shame and Polaris which I adore. The stand out track on this album though is undisputed as far as I am concerned and that is 23. Seven minutes which pass by all too quickly from the beautiful introduction to the stunning vocals and heart breaking lyrics. This song is one of my all time favourite songs and it alone is my reason why Futures is the best JEW album.
I would buy this album for 23 alone but the rest of the album is fabulous aswell - a real emotional ride along which everyone should relish.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2005
Jimmy Eat World-Everytime I mention it to someone, they reply, 'Cheesy 80's style music', or, 'Catchy, but I won't buy the albums'. How much are they missing. If you give JEW a chance, they'll take control of your heart and pull every string. This album can raise you up to a state of euphoria or send you into a comfortable happy sadness. Kinda like a mother crying at her daughters wedding day sort of thing.
I think '23' would be the stand out track on this album.Beautiful. Perfection in song. If I die, I want either this tune or Sundown from the Bleed American album played at my funeral.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2004
After a wait of nearly 3 years for some new Jimmy Eat World material, expectation was running high. Following Bleed American was always going to be tough, and unfortunately Futures fall short of the bench mark set by Bleed American. However it is stil a first class album. There are less obvious 'hits' and this is what demarks it from Bleed American. It is more like Clarity in style, a whole album of very good songs, shifting from a more mainstream pop rock towards a more esoteric style. It has some stand outs: Pain is obviously the seminal track of the album, but nothing that can compare individually with the high points of its predecessor. Those seeking the more songs like The Middle and The Sweetness will be initially disappointed. However after several listens, a new deepness emerges, reflecting the growth of the band. All that being said, this is without question the album of the year. Top drawer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2005
Ive been a fan of jimmy since bleed american came out, so i also bought clarity. 3 years later came futures-bleed americans great success could be surpassed by this effort. Futures is an atmospheric, thoughtful, sexy album that, like Bleed American will change your life...Jimmy has the power to send their music through your veins and leaving you with a vibrant thirst for more...Powerful songs like Nothing Wrong and Pain compliment songs with feeling such as Drugs or Me, and the more poppier elements include the world you love, work and just tonight..Jimmy's music continues to inspire and gain yet more fans, although this band remains very underrated. However, they have an upcoming tour in the UK which has sold out, so its great to know that jimmy is a fantastic band that'l run the mile. Buy this cd, its fantastic!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2004
Jimmy eat world return and its great to hear some new stuff from them. I feel this album is more varied than their last and the tunes and melodies are probably slightly better. This adds up to a cracking album that I would advise virtually all rock fans as well as emo fans to buy. Obviously there are alot of "emo" type songs on this album but when they are as good as kill and polaris you've just got to let the musical quality speak for itself and forget about worrying what type of music it is. The title track futures is a huge highlight with a good change in lyrical direction for JEW and Pain and Nothing Wrong really rock. Add to this the gorgeous 23 and you really have a quality album. Slight low points for me were Drugs or me and Just tonight but I'm just being picky now. Go buy it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.07

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)