Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 15 November 2005
Tragically, it will have been known by now that Eddie Guerrero has passed away.

Coming from a fan's point of view, Eddie was always full of life. He was such a compassionate human being who genuinely cared for his family and friends. He loved wrestling and all the fans so much. And of course, he was one of the most gifted performers to have ever lived.

The shock of learning of Eddie's passing was indescribable. It really is so hard to accept the fact that he's not here anymore.

The best way for any wrestling fan to remember and treasure the kind of person Eddie Guerrero was is to purchase his DVD, which came out last year along with the Chris Benoit DVD to celebrate their rise to the top which came full circle at WrestleMania XX.

The documentary starts off with Eddie's childhood and family being explained. His family say how much of a happy and loving boy he was, and as you will see for yourself when watching this, that statement is entirely true. His passion for fun is never overlooked, either, as you'll see from his impressive collection of beautiful low-riders.

Guerrero's love for wrestling was there right at the start of his childhood, where he had a wrestling ring in his backyard. Determined to follow in the footsteps of his late father, Gory Guerrero. The archive footage here justified Eddie's desire that he really wanted to wrestle and be one of the greatest performers in history.

Eddie's humour and good nature is never ignored in the documentary, as explained by his widow, Vicky. The story of how they first met and began their relationship really is touching, and it's here when Eddie's first hardship is documented, the passing of his father, to be followed up by his marriage to Vicky only days later. Eddie's narration on the events makes you understand what he went through and how much he put others before himself.

As his personal and professional lives began to take off, he really started to shine as a competitor. His time in New Mexico and Japan reveals how he met his best friends, Dean Malenko and Chris Benoit, under the guise of Black Tiger. Following his stint in Japan, he began to make a real name for himself in ECW and WCW, putting on phenomenal shows with Malenko and another of his closest friends, Rey Mysterio.

When Eddie talks about how his life turned in the wrong direction, he says it in a way that can be true of anybody. How we do so many great things but after a while the feeling goes away and you yearn for something new and fresh. And sadly for Eddie, it wasn't enough, as his addiction to alcohol and drugs began to tear his life apart. A near-fatal car crash didn't do anything to change his desire for thrills and then later he overdosed on drugs more than once. His family's negative reactions of Eddie's reckless behaviour are again justifiable and Eddie says that he knew he had problems and yet doesn't understand why he did what he did.

As Eddie arrived in the WWE for his glory years, he evolved into Latino Heat and embarked on the path to achieving true legend status. But his personal problems hadn't gone away, and by this point, Eddie hit rock bottom and found himself divorced from his wife and fired by WWE, personally disgraced.

But the real test of any man is how he handles despair and takes the downward spiral. And in Eddie's case, he managed to fight back. Showing genuine remorse for his mistakes, and showing an even greater desire to redeem himself, Eddie returned to WWE and managed to rebuild his life. Remarrying Vicky and vowing never to touch alcohol and drugs ever again, Eddie's rise to the top is nothing short of amazing and inspirational.

With Eddie back in control of his life, he teamed with his nephew, Chavo, to form one of the greatest, and most hilarious, tag teams of all time, Los Guerreros. The gimmick of Lying, Cheating and Stealing was instant genius and it's no surprise that success followed.

And during this amazing run, Eddie did what nobody ever thought he could do, and that was topple the almighty Brock Lesnar to capture his first and only WWE Championship in what is quite simply the greatest match of his career.

To me, Eddie is one of the greatest of all time, not because of his gimmicks or his wrestling skills. He represents what being human is all about. We start off great, we stumble, we lose our way and we don't understand WHY things have to go sour in the worst way. But we CAN gather ourselves and prove to be greater than we've ever been. Cheating Death, Stealing Life is a story that NEEDS to be seen. Not just to know what an amazing person Eddie was, but that there ARE such things as hope, redemption and a happy ending.

This DVD is packed with extras, such as his best ever matches, the Viva La Raza vignettes and a special look at WrestleMania XX, where Eddie was in the triple main event and became the fifth man to retain the WWE title at WrestleMania in a beautiful match against Kurt Angle. The celebration with Chris Benoit, standing together as World Champions, really is the moment that defines WrestleMania XX, showing two hard working individuals who deserved to be at the top.

Eddie left us way too soon. The only blessings from this really difficult time are that Eddie was able to die at peace, having achieved total redemption for all his misdeeds. I wish to give all my heart filled condolences to Eddie's family for this very painful time. I also recommend that this DVD be purchased so that all wrestling fans can truly understand what this colourful world has lost.

Rest in peace, Eddie. Viva la Raza.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2005
Eddie Gurrero is a member of a family synominous with wrestiling. His father Gory Gurrero was the most famous wrestler in Mexico and lets face it in Mexico that's probably like being The Pope! Eddie Gurrero died early november 2005 at the young age of 38 when his history tragically caught up with him and his heart failed. Eddie was an alcoholic and became addicted to pain killers as well. But the real tragedy is that he had celebrated 4 years of sobriety just days before his death. He was survived by wife Vicky and his three daughters. And when a lot of actors singers performers or anyone in the public eye dies they're put up on a pedistol and made to look perfect. Kurt Cobain, Tupac Shakur etc. Dont get me wrong I have a great deal of respect for Cobain and Shakur but they were far from perfect just as we all are. So I'm not going to put Eddie on a pedistol and say "he was perfect, the greatest wrestler" no! Truth be told he was an absolutely fantastic wrestler and one of the best performers WWE has ever had on it's roster at any time. He was also, I'm told, a good man. Kind hearted loving proud fun loving family man and if the tribute editions of Raw and Smackdown! are anything bto go by he was truely a treasured member of the WWE family.
Eddie Gurrero was the FIRST latino to win a recognised world heavywieght title in history! He beat Brock Lesnar at No Way Out February of 2004. After that they made this DVD. In his own words, and his family's words. He talks about his childhood his career his family his addictions his loses and how he lost all of that before cleaning himself up andf getting it all back. As I said I am not putting Eddie on a pedistol but it takes some balls guts and determination to loose your family your job and respect and fight to get it all back in an every day struggle against addiction and for that I respect the man. In his own words he says "I just wanted a drink like any other normal person"
Eddie in the ring was one of the finest all around performers you would ever see. He could get you on the ground and work on body parts in submission and amatuer wrestling style. He could go toe to toe with you in a fist fight or brawl and he could fly with the best of them so Eddie could fight you on every level. He had a charisma and latino charm that made him so lovable. A cheeky smile that Latino heat shimmy and a colourful mixture of Latino and American slang! He could make you love him and hate him because he was a great performer. He had some great moments including "Mamacita" "Lie Cheat n Steal" all the way up to his WWE champion days.
I will always remember Eddie for the single greatest match that World Championship Wrestling (WCW) ever had. It was Halloween Havoc 1997 and Eddie put his cruiserwieght title up against the mask of Rey Mysterio. The match was absolutely phenominal and every move flowed and it was the most beautiful thing to see as Eddie and Rey flew around the ring and outside it as well. The entire match is on the bonus features of this DVD and if you've never seen it, watch it! Rey Mysterio, a man I hope wins the world title one day, was one of Eddies closest friends along with Chris Benoit and Dean Malenko and of course Eddies nephew Chavo Gurrero Jr. The son of his older brother Chavo Sr the 2 were only 3 years apart and grew up as brothers more than uncle and nephew. Hear their views and stories on Eddie Gurrero. In this DVD there are matches following his days in New Japan Wrestling as "Black Tiger" to his days in Extreme Championship Wrestling (ECW) to WCW all the way to his days in World Wrestling Entertainment.
Eddie Gurrero 1967-2005 was a fantastic performer and a fantastic person. My thoughts and condolences go to his wife Vicky and his 3 daughters, Chavo Jr and the rest of the Gurrero clan. Thank you for bringing this man into the world even if it was only for a short while. One day Eddie will be a hall of famer in WWE and will go down in history as one of the greatest performers ever - period! So one last time chant Eddie! Eddie! Eddie! and viva la rasa homes!!!!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2006
What can I say that hasn't already been said by the masses. I was away on the day of Eddie's passing and was told over the phone, and although, like the masses I didn't know Eddie, I was in a state of shock. I could not get my head around the fact that one of the greatest wrestlers not just physically but mentally as well had been taken from us. This DVD is something to be treasured by fans across the world. We mourn, we remember, but Latino Heat will burn inside his fans for the rest of their days, including mine, God Bless Eddie...Viva La Raza!!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2016
Why do fans love Eddie Guerrero so much? Do I need to explain? He could do it all and was just a joy to watch, so every wrestling fan should have this in their collection.

The main feature on Disc 1 is a documentary which doesn't shy away from some of the difficulties he faced; the "extras" are all fantastic matches hand-picked by Eddie himself.
*Note: Easter Eggs can be accessed from the menu by pressing Left on certain chapters (indicated below)

~~~Disc 1~~~

Hector, Chavo & Mando Guerrero vs Cactus Jack & Rock 'n' Roll RPMs (AWA Superclash III - 13 December, 1988)
4/5
Very entertaining match featuring the Guerrero elders, a young Cactus Jack - who takes a straight concrete bump - and possibly the worst sounding ring I've ever heard. It's almost like watching 3 Eddies going at it and I'm pleased to have this in my collection even if Eddie isn't it.
[Easter Egg: Hector - Gobbledy Gooker]

Eddie Guerrero & Love Machine vs Octagon & El Hijo Santo (Hair vs Mask Match; AAA/IWC When Worlds Collide - 6 November, 1994)
4/5
Another nice one from the vault here, where Los Gringos Locos' mullets are at stake; unfortunately it's clipped during the third fall for some reason. Commentary by a very young-sounding Mike Tenay at this event, the first lucha libre PPV held in the United States.
It's an unusual variant on a 2 out of 3 falls match - a pin eliminates a tag partner for the duration of that fall, and you have to then beat the 2nd partner to get the full fall. Got that?
A few sloppy executions and missing the aftermath but great stuff nonetheless. One of LGL's combo moves is a froggier-splash variant of Power & Glory's powerplex (here called a super-splash). And boy does Barr splash.

Eddie Guerrero vs Dean Malenko (2 out of 3 Falls; ECW - 26 August, 1995)
5/5
[optional alternate commentary by the pair]
Pure gold. A major standout in their well-regarded series of ECW matches.
As explained pre-match, this was their last for ECW as they and Benoit were snatched up by WCW (apparently because of WCW's working relationship with NJPW with which they were signed). Monday Nitro debuted a little over a week later, with the cruiserweights an integral (if unheralded) part of the Monday Night Wars.
[Easter Egg: Match buildup]

Eddie Guerrero vs Chris Jericho (WCW Cruiserweight Championship Match; Fall Brawl - 14 September, 1997)
4/5
Good but not great (though close). Interesting story of reversals, going more for atypical holds than frenetic flying; these two show us why they're among the most well-rounded wrestlers around.

Eddie Guerrero vs Rey Mysterio (Mask vs Title WCW Cruiserweight Championship Match; Halloween Havoc - 26 October, 1997)
5/5
[optional alternate commentary by the pair]
Close to perfect, just fantastic.

---Bonus features---
Los Guerreros' Vignettes
Music Videos

~~~Disc 2~~~

Eddie Guerrero vs Chavo Guerrero Jr. (Hair vs Hair Match; WCW Bash at the Beach - 12 July, 1998)
3/5
Second match with hair on the line on this set, and this time we get to see the dirty deed. On the wrestling front it's solid but not spectacular, but from an entertainment standpoint I'd go 5/5; Chavo's great fun to watch here especially, and the announcers are clearly enjoying themselves.

Eddie Guerrero vs Rob Van Dam (Ladder Match for the WWE Intercontinental Championship; Monday Night Raw - 27 May, 2002)
5/5
[optional alternate commentary by the pair]
Some great spots here, only really let down by the poor quality of the ladders, and a cut being made when a fan storms the ring, to be lamped by Eddie !

Edge & Rey Mysterio vs Kurt Angle & Chris Benoit vs Eddie & Chavo Guerrero [Los Guerreros] (Triple-Threat Elimination Match for the WWE Tag Team Championship; Survivor Series - 17 November, 2002)
4/5
Slows down for a stretch when Rey lands on his head, but once it kicks back in has some fantastic action.
[Easter Egg: Match buildup]

Eddie Guerrero vs Chris Benoit (Finals of the WWE United States Championship Tournament; Vengeance - 27 July, 2003)
5/5
Fantastic match. Cutting it a *little* slack because of the high altitude / low oxygen but it doesn't really need any slack cut - we have some brilliant wrestling and a classic finish.

Eddie Guerrero vs Brock Lesnar (WWE Championship Match; No Way Out - 15 February, 2004)
3/5
Tried-and-tested David vs Goliath formula in play here, Eddie using his smarts to stay in the game. Lesnar's not built for flashy matches but is surprisingly agile, though mostly sticks to suplexes and rest holds (forgiveable considering how long this is, though the crowd does seem to get restless). Consequently it's a bit of a grind in places, and while I'm not much of a fan of the ending stretch you can't argue with the result.
[Easter Egg: Match buildup]

---Bonus features---
including a short Outside The Ropes interview with Josh Mathews displaying his overpowering lack of charisma.
"Special Extras" are outtakes from the documentary feature.

Eddie's Mother has a Heart Attack (part of the feud with JBL)
Confidential: (Behind-The-Scenes: YJ Stinger / YJ Stinger spots / Behind-The-Scenes: Low Rider Magazine / Outside the Ropes / Eddie Guerrero Celebration)
Special Extras: (Gory Guerrero / Eddie vs The Monkey / Moonsault / Fighting for Honor [Easter Egg: First Match] / Injury [Easter Egg: First Tattoo] / Los Guerreros / Wrestlemania XX)

---

For a two disc set this manages to cover a good amount of his career, with some outstanding matches, but it's really barely scratching the surface. I recommend picking up Viva La Raza too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2005
It was truely an honour to watch this guy perform, now that he has unfortunaly passed away, i would recommend this title to anyone who is a wrestling fan no matter how old or young, you couldnt find a more kind hearted person, one the greatest performers in sports entertainment. He gave his all for his career and family and only after getting his life back on track after a pain killer addiction this happens. To see a real perfomer watch this title its full of laughs tears and wrestling moments to remember. God bless you Eddie
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2005
Earlier today, aged 38, Eddie Guerrero, one of the greatest wrestlers of our generation and in seemingly the prime of his career, passed on.
There is no doubting the quality of this DVD. How could there be any doubt, when it features his best matches, best promos and vignettes, and perhaps most importantly of all, an emotional feature about his life story - his comeback from his drug addictions, his life threatening car crash, and his rise in the wrestling world. This is an important DVD in any wrestling fan's collection, and even moreso now.
Show your support for Eddie and his memory, buy this DVD, and enjoy the work of that late wrestling god. If you didn't well up at his embrace with Chris Benoit at Wrestlemania XX beforehand, you will now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
Overall I think this is a good product. It has that typical trait of WWE documentary DVDs where the extras almost become the main feature... because the main feature is about 45 minutes and the extras are a couple of hours.

Documentary: short but genuine. Spends most of the time focussing on his drug/alcohol/painkiller abuse which means that this is a rather saddening feature without focussing enough on the successes of his career. It's interesting that this was released before his death rather than after because when you listen to Eddie talk you can tell that even though he's talking about his issues retrospectively, you're not entirely convinced that he's over them. I think it's a great insightful feature, with very genuine interviews and reflections but it's definitely too short.

Extras: Excellent matches, 5 star quality wrestling.

I would say it's great for wrestling fans but I'd be curious to try the other Eddie DVD that WWE released more recently and see if there's any more longevity in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2004
The actual feature (which was enjoyable) lacked in detail and didn't give as much detail as his times in japan, and barely mentioned WCW and was only 45 minutes long, but the extras make up for this easily, the matches are amazing, and the few los guerreros vignettes that were shown were hilarious and worth buying the dvd just for them. halloween havoc with rey mysterio and a ladder match with rvd were defiantely two highlights.
if you're an eddie fan you'll love it, if you're a wrestling fan you'll still love it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2006
In November 2005, Eddie Guerrero was found dead in his hotel room, the victim of what appeared to be an undiagnosed heart problem. He was 38 years old. The resulting outpouring from the wrestling community was something the extent of which hadn't been seen since the death of Owen Hart in 1999, and showed the tremendous amount of love and respect people had for this man. One look at "Cheating Life, Stealing Death" and it's easy to see why, as Eddie Guerrero's incredible story is documented in this excellent two disc DVD set.

The story starts at the very beginning, during Eddie's childhood. The son of pro wrestling legend Gory Guerrero, and growing up around three brothers who were all wrestlers, the sport was in his blood and it was almost inevitable that Eddie would grow up to embark on a career in the squared circle. From his days of wrestling with his nephew Chavo (only three years his junior) as a child during intermissions at shows promoted by his father, to his first pro matches, through his days in AAA, ECW and WCW and eventual arrival in WWE, it's all covered in the documentary, and supported with interviews with family and friends, and archive footage (thanks to WWE's extensive tape library). As can be expected, much of the documentary focusses on Guerrero's fall from grace and descent into the world of alcoholism and narcotic use. The story documented here shows why Guerrero was, and is one of the most loved and respected people in the business, as Guerrero's rise back to the top was nothing short of incredible. The story is truly uplifting and put across extremely well by WWE. It should be noted that the story ends in early 2004, as the DVD was released some time before Guerrero's untimely death.

For me, the extras are generally the most important part of a wrestling DVD of this nature, and they do not disappoint. His life story aside, Guerrero was without a doubt one of the finest performers to ever set foot in a ring, and we're presented with a wealth of incredible matches from the first 15 or so years of his career. Among them are the legendary Hair vs. Mask tag team match from AAA's When Worlds Collide pay-per-view in 1994, featuring Guerrero and the late "Love Machine" Art Barr taking on Octagon and El Hijo De Santo under Lucha Libre rules, his classic 2/3 falls encounter with Dean Malenko from ECW, the 1997 Match Of The Year candidate again Rey Mysterio Jr. at Halloween Havoc and his emotionally charged WWE championship bout with Brock Lesnar at No Way Out 2004, in addition to many more great matches. In addition to being one of the finest wrestlers, Guerrero was also incredibly charismatic, and the hilarious vignettes used to hype the Los Guerreros tag team (featuring Eddie and nephew Chavo) are among the highlights of the extras, as well as anecdotes told by members and friends of the Guerrero family.

Eddie Guerrero's story is a genuinely inspiring tale of a man who had everything, lost it all and was able to bounce back even better than he had been before, and "Cheating Life, Stealing Death" tells the story perfectly. WWE have once again put out a fantastic DVD set, made all the more enjoyable by the story that it tells. The documentary is well put together, and the selection of extras is well above average, in both actual selection and quality. This is a must buy for any past fan of Guerrero or anyone who never had the pleasure of experiencing some of the man's finer moments.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 August 2007
There is enough talk of wrestlers' deaths in the new at the moment without talking about it some more. But Eddie Guerrero's passing is one of the most tragic - at the time of his dying, he was a former world champion, was one of the most popular men in the WWE (check out the boos when he is elminated from the 2005 Royal Rumble if you own it) and had received redemption; at least he was happy when he passed on. However, when you hear Dean Malenko say on this DVD that he doesn't want to be one of those people who gets a call to say Eddie's dead in a hotel room...if you're anything like me, you'll break down and cry.

This DVD set was long overdue; Eddie is probably one of the greatest wrestlers of our time or any other, and a DVD is barely one iota of what he deserves. Unfortunately, it doesn't really live up to the task. The documentary portion of the DVD is Cheating Death, Stealing Life; having previously been shown on TV it is barely 45 minutes long. As such, it scarcely scratches the surface. It only just notes his career in Japan, his time in ECW or WCW, focusing instead on his drug problems outside of the ring. A fascinating, heartbreaking story yes, but it doesn't really do him justice.

The extras, however, go some way further to showing how great Eddie was - and how great a heritage the Guerrero name is - by compiling not only his matches, but his Los Guerreros vignettes, along with Chavo - some of the funniest vignettes the WWE ever produced ("You wouldn't want your pool to spring a leak and get full of water, would you?" "No...you might get wet."). There's also an AWA match featuring a young and slim Cactus Jack (later to become another WWE mainstay and three-time world champion as well as a best-selling author) teaming with two others against the original Guerrero team, including Eddie's father. It's a thrilling match and other special features shows that it was a Guerrero who even invented the moonsault.

The matches given here featuring Eddie are universally phenomenal. We have his world-title-winning matchup with the soon-to-leave Brock Lesnar, his magnificent ECW fairwell match with Dean Malenko (it has to be seen to be believed, they use some moves I've never seen before or since), and amazing cruiserweight title matches with Rey Mysterio and Chris Jericho in their pre-WWE days.

Eddie was a phenomenal performer and this is an excellent release, but particularly in light of his death, I can't help but feel he deserves so much more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)