Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2012
My Nephew loves planets and asked for this as a Birthday present.

He did enjoy it, but here are the points that stopped this getting a 5 star rating;

- The planets all travel around the sun at the same speed (rather then their own individual orbits), so this is pretty mush just a mechanical mobile.

- The planets don't have much detail on them. It would have been nice if the Earth had at least a land and sea pattern to it.

- While it was clear enough for a child which of the various lengthed arms to place each planet on, it wasn't clear how the arms should be positioned around the sun. This took a little time to find the relevant information in the pack, and was tricky as the arms often moved out of position when you moved then next planet in to place.

- You need to have 6ft high ceilings with this placed on a 5ft table during a total eclipse to be able to see the planetarium well.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2016
Rubbish. Arrived with Bars bent and 2 identical planets. Doesn't rotate to scale. Waste of money really.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
The build quality is very poor. The top of the light unit (sun) does not stay on and keeps popping off. The planets are not represented well in appearance and scale, also the planets rotate at the same speed, not representative of true planet orbits. Also the battery cover does not close properly! (I returned for a full refund)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
ITS NOT A GREAT ITEM. BIT USEFUL FOR THE LAYOUT OF THE PLANETS. IT NEEDS A WIDE AREA WHEN IN MOTION.
I WAS HOPING FOR A DIFFERENCE IN THE CIRCULATION OF EACH PLANET, BUT IT JUST CIRCULATES AS ONE UNIT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
I bought this to use as an educational need but it is not very good quality at all. The planets all rotate at the same speed and the rings of Saturn can catch on neighbouring planets causing the rings to fall off.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
All planets have the same orbit time. Weird! Don't buy. Rickety and useless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
Absolute garbage. Krypton bulb is something from circe 1970 and can no way project the constellations on a ceiling! The orbits don't stay in sync and the planets are not even coloured as per the actual ones. Total s***e!!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
A really good way of showing stars and planets moving around the sun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
Ok - for all the Orbital Mechanics experts out there, lets get something straight - you pay £25 - you get £25 worth.
This is a fantastic item for the price, my kids love it - and I mean that - they mess round with it, time each other on how fast they can say each of the planet names (having learned them because of this) and now understand orbits, as I have been able to explain how in real life the orbital speeds and distance scales are different than those on the model. In other words, I PUT SOME EFFORT IN BECAUSE I ENJOY TEACHING MY KIDS STUFF.
We decided the colouring on the planets wasn't accurate enough - did we go off crying and blubbering in a corner? NO - we went out, purchased a £5 set of paints, opened up the space books and got Hubble photos from online, and PAINTED THEM OURSELVES. Again, the kids learned more (detail such as polar caps, clouds, rings, colours and their reasons). Four hours we spent painting and researching. Fantastic time had by all.
The shadows of the star constellations project EXTREMEMLY well onto the ceiling of my living room with the orrery either on a dining table or the floor - so why others are saying they do not, I have no idea and couldnt care less. Just dim the lights in the room and switch it on with the maps inplace on the sun globe.
Get this if.
You are happy with fixed orbit rates - if you are not happy that £25 quid doesnt include this, go spend £3,000 on a real orrery.
You want to see if your kids show an interest in the solar system.
You want to teach your kids (or anyone else for that matter) about the solar system.
You want a model of the solar system for any reason whatsoever.
Five stars as it is, put a bit of effort in yourself, and you may find its a 10 star toy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2011
I was really disappointed with this. Firstly, all the planets orbit at the same speed (the makers obviously are unaware of Kepler's laws) - which means it also reinforces all the misconceptions that this should be used to dispel. Secondly, the "product description" says "...listen to the CD tour of the solar system. Use the remote control to locate planets and make comets and meteors streak through the night sky", but there's no CD or remote.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)