Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2017
Super fast delivery , definitely recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
Still hilarious to watch after all this time, cannot get enough of him!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2005
Watched it with all the family on christmas day. I've seen it before many times but it always cracks me up. Never seen my family laugh so much. From start to finish you'll be in bits!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2008
I watched this on my own, in my bedroom and I laughed so hard that I scared my dog!! I won't spoil it by telling you the funniest bits but suffice it to say that it is quality from beginning to end. I would not reccommend that you buy this if you are easily offended or if you are not interested in/familiar with Black American culture. I can also envisage that Rock's comic style may be irritating to some people (he kind of shouts his way through his act in a manic way), but personally I think he makes it work.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 May 2009
Chris Rock is devastatingly funny. He's about as good a mainstream stand-up as there is in the past decade. This show is now ten years old and although clearly of it's time still resonates with his incisive wit. Rock takes on taboo subjects and delights in winding up his audience with well thought out humour.

In taking on taboo subjects, Rock occasionally falls on the wrong side of the argument but his observation and his understanding of people, particularly relationships is tremendous. Genius is in describing the obvious in simple language and Rock takes what is in front of our eyes every day yet never really acknowledged and points out things we all know but never notice.

Rock's delivery is not great here and his monotone shouted voice might be a little off-putting. The show is also not really long enough and though billed at just over an hour is not enough when the intro, outro, and Rock's segues are part of that time.

What is amazing about this dvd though is how it captures the time. This set comes a year before George Bush and looking back on the political issues of the day through Rock's eyes it is unbelievable to think how much changed from the Clinton era through Bush and now Obama. The US has changed enormously in 10 years and this set should be compulsory viewing to see how quickly things move on.

While it may well help to be black as much of Rock's work has ethnic elements, anyone can appreciate the genius here. Rock's awareness of gender roles and relationships is unparalleled and the truisms are riotously funny. This is classic Chris Rock, be aware that it doesn't last that long but get it anyway.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2004
This is a first class entertainer at his best. Using somewhat taboo subjects and making them extreamly funny. Didn't stop laughing from start to finish.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2008
Loud, outrageous and hysterically funny. Chris Rock has a real way with words and he speaks the truth in an honest way that many people can relate to. He steamrollers straight into controversial topics but the act is very likeable and fun to watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Totally hilarious. Seen this countless times over the years, seen everything he's done. I purchased this for a friend and they loved it!! If you don't get Chris Rocks sense of humour then this is not for you - so Google him and watch him first. He speaks the plain facts which people think but don't necessarily say and the language isn't for the conservative types. You've been warned....lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2010
Chris Rock is brilliant here. His observations are top notch and his delivery is hilarious.
I particularly liked his piece leading up to "the big piece of chicken".
Filmed during the Clinton era, my only criticism is that this DVD, at under an hour of actual standup, was just too short.
Luckily it stands up to multiple viewings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2010
Brilliant, incredibly witty observations about modern life and people. There are many simple answers in the repertoire to todays problems. "5000 dollars a bullet" - absolutely brilliant. Clinton behemothed by the state over something not that important in the grand scheme of things. Hilarious show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)