Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
895
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2004
At last! ELF gets an appropriate (if slightly overdue) festive release!
Ferrell starts as Buddy, the 'elf' of the title, a baby mistakenly taken to the north pole and raised along with the rest of Santa's elven helpers. As he grows up he can't understand why he towers 4 feet over all the other elves, or why he doesn't have pointed ears? Eventually, he learns of his origins and sets off to the big city to find his real father.
Once there, he becomes comically confused by the modern day interpretation of Christmas and starts to despair when the true spirit of Christmas seems to be lost. Think of this film as a cross between Dudley Moore's 'Santa Claus The Movie' and Steve Martins 'The Jerk' and you will get the idea.
Most of the fun in this film comes from Ferrells charming and at the same time manic performance, and he clearly carries the whole film, although the supporting cast are also strong.
A wonderful family film, this is one the most delighful Christmas films ever made!
22 comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2006
This film is sooo funny. If you are looking for a feel-good Christmas film that will make you laugh out loud then this is it. If you are a child (big or small!)then this film is perfect for getting you in the Christmas spirit and has you believing in Santa all over again. The scene where Buddy (Will Ferrell) pushes in front of all the children in his excitement to see santa again and then exposes him as the fake he is, is hysterical. In fact a giant elf walking around New York and acting like an excited kid is hilarious. But this film is also heart-warming in a Scrooge-esque kind of way, where grumpy old business man realises that family is more important than money and when everyone starts singing "Santa Claus is coming to town" to prove their faith in Santa I can feel that Christmas excitement buzzing around in my belly!
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
Everyone knows how great Elf is - read all the other reviews.

This year however Elf can only be seen in the UK by Sky Movie subscribers because Murdoch has used his considerable wealth to swipe it away from Channel 4 which anyone could watch. Buy your own copy thereby saving many pounds in subscriptions and the horror of a dish on the side of your house (and all that says about you as a person).
44 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
If Elf was not already brilliant on dvd imagine the sheer joy it is in blu-ray.
The sound and picture are so much sharper.
Zooey Deschanel get's more beautiful with every watch.
Will Ferrel is adorably and disgustingly hilarious.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
This is one of my favourite films of all time. It is endlessly funny and uplifting, and I can watch all year round. I never ever get bored of it.

The film centres on the character of Elf, brilliantly played by Will Ferrell, who mistakenly ends up at the north pole as a baby, and is then adopted by elves, who raise him in as one of their own.
However, once the adoptee has grown to full adulthood, Elf suddenly notices one day while working in Santa's workshop his physical differences from his co workers. He questions his heritage and is told the truth by his adopted father, that he is in fact a man, and so he then sets about tracking down his birth parents.

His search for his real parents leads him to yuletide New York City, and immediately feels at home as he explores department stores revolving doors, working santas and his biological fathers family and colleagues with hilarious results. The scene in mail room where Elf is dancing on the table and drinking with fellow workers is hilarious.

Unlike a lot of Christmas films this story isn't overly sentimental and the only overload of sugar is in the very physical sense as Elf lives on a diet of candy cane and syrup which he explains to his stunned birth family who are then encouraged to incorporate in their meal times also.

You could read a lot into this story such as faith is the true message of Christmas, but for me I just enjoyed the loveliness of Elf's innocence and the happiness and unity it brought to all those hardened cynical city dwellers, me included. Ultimately, this film allows the adult viewer remember all the reasons as a child they enjoyed Christmas. From jumping on beds, to snow ball fights to the feverish anticipation of Santa's visit and what he has left to be opened on Christmas morning.

I can not recommend this highly enough, and as much as I would love a sequel I don't think you can build on what is already a Christmas classic.

The film has so many standout scenes such as Elf's first sighting of a department store santa who he innocently mistakes for the real thing, the duet with Zooey Deschanel in the shower room, but the climax of the film however sentimental it may be, gets me every time. This is the scene where santa is being chased by park rangers and is desperate for Christmas cheer to lift his sleigh of the ground as the engine has failed. The moment when buddy's girlfriend begins to sing in the crowd that has gathered outside the park alongside a tv crew reporting on claims of santa sightings, is one of the most uplifting committed to film. This has a lump form in my throat every time.
Especially when Elf's brother reads from Santa's book, and lists some of the wishes made for Christmas as the sleigh and Elf suddenly gain enough lift and rise above them, to their wonder.

This film mixes adult humour perfectly with childish hopes and dreams and celebrates all that is good about the season to be merry.
A feel good movie in every sense of the word.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
I have yet to meet anyone who doesn't love Elf! This is a brilliant, if not one of the best, Christmas films of all times.

The tale follows Buddy, a human orphan that accidentally ends up being raised by the Elves in Santas workshop. Upon realising that he is not actually an elf like all the others, Buddy goes to New York to track down is real family.

From the beginning I have tears in my eyes from laughing so hard!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
This is a classic Will Ferrell film and perfect to get into the Christmas spirit. It is family friendly and will leave a big smile on your face. Will Ferrell plays the Elf role superbly and there is plenty of humour throughout the film. It is an easy watch and kids will enjoy it as well as adults alike. Whilst it is now 13 years old, it has aged well and is a Christmas classic and worth a watch. If you want to see a movie with the family around Christmas then this is definitely one to put on the list, preferably at the top. You won't regret it.

If you liked my review please take a second to click the "Like/Helpful" button, it lets me know I'm doing things right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2016
This film is a firm favourite in our house over the festive period - and this is just adults! It has become a classic, along with Home Alone & Love Actually. No matter how many times we watch it, it is still funny - Particularly the scene with Peter Dinklage's character & Buddy during the meeting... "Call me elf one more time!"..... "Elf."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Elf has become the number 1 Christmas movie in my household! There is nothing else that will fill you with Christmas spirit than Elf! (ok there are a lot of good Xmas films, but this is a corker) Will Ferrell is excellent, the story is great and I even shed a slight tear at the end when the sleigh took off SPOILER ALERT (too late). My family love this film and we must watch it 3-4 times over the Christmas period, so do yourself and your family a favour and buy this today!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2016
I love this film so much, it is my favourite Christmas film as it is hilarious and I am a massive Will Ferrell fan! Watching this is a big Christmas tradition for us and hopefully our children will enjoy it as they grow up too. Only issue with this was that the did stopped working towards the end sadly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse