Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
29
4.4 out of 5 stars
Rain Rain Beautiful Rain - The Very Best Of Ladysmith Black Mambazo
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 January 2005
This compilation, released on Ladysmith Black Mambazo's UK label Wrasse Records, is a perfect example of their "Isicathamiya" singing, with this set comprising some of their most finest work. Although it does not feature the track "Wenyukela (Ascend Higher)", from their successful March 2003 release "Raise Your Spirit Higher", it does however feature other tracks from the album. These include the stirring "Wenza Ngani? (How Did You Do That?)", a song about a man 'transforming' another man from a racist to a 'non-racist'. The brilliant track "Inkanyezi Nezazi (The Star and the Wiseman)", used so succesfully on the Heinz Soup 1998 ad campaign, is also listed here - whilst a wonderful rendition of the classic hymn "Silent Night", sung in Black Mambazo's unique style and a live version of "Nomathemba (Mother of Hope)" finishes off this wonderful collection. (Incidentally, the former track is based on a true story that Ladysmith's lead singer Joseph Shabalala endured in the early 1960's). A nicely compiled album. The booklet contains song lyrics and descriptions, the back cover displays a picture of the band and the names of the members.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Lovely music. Well worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2017
Very pleasant listening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
This is a cracking album which shows the breadth and depth of the singing of Ladysmith Black Mambazo. Whatever your favourite style of singing, if you enjoy excellent singing then listen to this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
Yet another stunning audio journey by Ladysmith.
The Zulu material is just sublime, melancholy, happy and even at times frivolous.
A crying shame that there is content sung by them from the West.
If there is a CD out there by Ladysmith with only Zulu material I will buy it.
Should you not be as fussy as I am then I still recommend it, the audio recording quality is 1st class!
Now offer us just something with Western content excluded.
Bargain!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
When I ordered this c.d I thought it was a little expensive, NOT realising that there were, in fact,
2 C.d's. It was a pleasant surprise and I have to say a very moving experience listening to them :)
They arrived intact and within the specified time. I am extremely pleased with my purchase and shall
be buying more Ladysmith Black Mambazo in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
If like me you are taken in by the magic of their music and the sense of pride in what they sing and the way they believe you will understand every word means something you will enjoy this. Although some of the music you will have heard before you will still want to listen again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
I chose this particular CD thinking it might cover a broad sweep of their talent.
I wasnt dissapointed--it covers it in spades.
A really wonderful compilation -Iwould strongly recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
i waspleasantly surprised to find there was two cd,s in the case. the music like the sound quality were excellent. post was as always effeceint on time bla bla.one day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
Bought this on behalf of someone else to give. Bit I do have a different disc of Ladysmith Black Mambazo who are wonderful. My friend seemed very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Ultimate Collection
£17.88
Shaka Zulu
£8.58
Favourites
£5.34

Need customer service? Click here