Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2017
Love the movie can't get enough of it😀
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
Lovely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2002
This is a brilliant, down to earth and realistic story about a Jamaican womans struggle to make ends meet. The story is not only feasible, but told in an uncomplicated way, and leaves the viewer with a feel good factor at the end. The music in this movie is a collection of some of the best around and this becomes even more excillerating with the live performances from the likes of Beenie Man, Lady Shaw and Chevelle Franklin. A must see for all fans of Jamaican culture.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2006
One of the best Jamaican films to actually come out of Jamaica in recent years... Set in a realistic backdrop of downtown Kingston, it explores the avenues the people have to go thru in order to maintain some standard of living... proving again that for most West Indians, music is the key to get out of the ghettos. You can't help but sympathise with the struggles and celebrate the successes!!! Highly recommended!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2000
WHAT A FILM, WHAT A SOUND TRACK. THERE ARE NOT THAT MANY ETHNIC MOVIES OUT THERE AND THIS FILM PROVES THAT YOU DONT NEED BIG BUDGET HOOLLYWOOD MONEY TO HAVE A GREAT FILM. THE STORY FOLLOWS A DOWN AND OUT WOMAN IN A SHANTY TOWN IN JAMAICA.IT SHOWS HER STRUGGLE TO ESCAPE THE EVERYDAY PRESSURES OF LIVING IN A RUN DOWN AREA AND THE TRIALS AND TRIBULATIONS OF BEING CONTROLED BY A PIMP.WHEN HER DAUGHTER BECOMES A TARGET BY HER PIMP SHE DECIDES TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT AND ENTERS THE DANCEHALL CONTEST.WHICH HAS A BIG CASH SUM AS FIRST PRIZE. THIS IS DANCING AT THE MOST EXPLICT LEVEL, WITH DANCE MOVES LEAVING YOU ASTONISHED AND AMAZED. I WILL NOT SPOIL THE ENDING BUT THIS FILM IS ENTHRILLING AND CAPTIVATING. NEED I SAY MORE. WITH ARTIST'S0 LIKE "BEENIE MAN" AND "CHAKADEMUS AND PLIERS" NOT TO MENTION A FEW OTHERS, THIS FILM IS WITH OUT A DOUBT THE BEST I HAVE SEEN IN YEARS.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2007
This movie is something else. When this was released in 1997, "Dancehall Queen" created a sensation in Jamaica, eventually surpassing Harder They Come (Deluxe Edition) as the highest-grossing film in that country's history. I remember enjoying this film when it first came out on tape and before hand created a lot of buzz. Once I'd purchased it I'd also pass it along to my friends at the time and found it very entertaining. Just recently watching this the other day gave me a great sense of recollection on how much I enjoyed "Dancehall Queen." Like the dancehall music on its soundtrack, "Dancehall Queen" has a rough, self-produced feel disguised by a technically proficient coating. Utilizing elements of techno, rap, and reggae, dancehall combines technologically advanced production techniques with unmistakably Jamaican source material.

To lesser effect, "Dancehall Queen" does the same thing as a film. Shot on digital video, which makes everything look like a British soap opera, the film concerns the struggle of a Kingston street vendor (Audrey Reid) trying to raise two children on her own. After being continually harassed by a knife-wielding thug and, in a disturbing sequence of events, encouraging her 15-year-old daughter to accept the advances of a middle-aged sugar daddy, Reid realizes that she needs to find a way out of poverty. Naturally, her mind turns to the dancehall, and she soon finds herself joining barely clad Kingston youths in a style of dance that blurs the line between dancing and performing sexual acts. Although the question of how Reid expects to make money simply by going to clubs isn't answered until near the movie's end, it's pretty clear from the beginning that "Dancehall Queen" is an old-fashioned melodrama sure to culminate in the all-important big show. You'll be mesmerize by the clothes and the wigs that these women sport. The score itself is really good featuring Beenie Man (who provides the title track), Bounty Killer, Lady Shaw, Junior Demus and Sanchez.

Taken as such and enhanced by its Jamaican setting, it's not terrible, and it does feature a guest appearance by Beenie Man. But, despite being bankrolled by Island Records, it was clearly made on the fly, and the rough edges show. As you view this the upbeat dancehall style is catchy and infectious, and the dancing scenes will certainly hold your attention and probably be part of the reason why its like so much.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Arrived on time,brand new, I enjoyed watching this movie a long time ago and thought I would add to collection, not watched again yet but will do when I'm I've got nothing better to do! Briefly it's about a mum entering a dancehall competition and her struggles to get there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
I think I got this before the internet existed. A VHS???? really. I bet I still have it in the loft....they move is great by the way...lovely story and great characters.
But you should watch it on Amazon Prime now...not a wobbly VHS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
i would recommend this video i love it very good film really enjoy it
seller sent out video vey quickly it worth the money do buy i would
buy again from this seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)