Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2004
A fascinating document of the UK music scene in 1968. Worthy of purchasing for fantastic performances from The Who and The Dirty Mac Band but what really tugs at your heart strings is the shaky handed Brian Jones wrestling beautiful blues licks during No Expectations and the lost far-away look in his eye as he vainly attempts to remember the words to Salt of the Earth.
Also quite poignant is seeing Mick at the shows close, stealing Marianne Faithfull's hat and forcing her into shot, as she giggles nervously.
But folks you should purchase this for one reason only: - the arresting sight of the 5 Stones standing on a cramped stage, looking cooler than a roomfull of Fridge Freezers, laying down solid, funky versions of Jumping Jack Flash and You Can't Always Get What You Want.
Only bands of this calibre come along once in a lifetime, so buy this DVD now - Mick....can I have a fiver now please?
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
I can't believe that an intellegent man like Mick Jagger was worried about being out-shone by The Who. The Who were fine but this was Mick Jagger as I remember him from the early days when he was at his best - incredible energy, talent and beauty. When I was a teenager I didn't appreciate just how professional the Rolling Stones were, and still are.

It was lovely to see Brian Jones again too. His slide guitar playing on "No Expectations" is brilliant despite his obvious drug problem. So sad that he left life too soon.

John Lennon singing that he wished he was dead made my blood run cold, the words so sad and his music so alive. This was the John Lennon of "Twist and Shout", raw and powerful and confident.

John Lennon and Mick Jagger together and both at their best, what more could anyone ask?

I was 18 in 1968, an amazing time to be young and at Art College, able to see these performers live at a price I could afford!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2010
alright, the film quality wasn't HD, the sound was raw and the performers were unbelievably young, but this film is a must for anyone who is old enough to remember marathon bars before they were snickers, and some of those who grew up on tizwas might enjoy it too. Don't miss the interview with a grown-up Pete Townshend either - he gives a fascinating perspective to the whole thing.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
I bought this dvd to see the Stones before Brian Jones left. It was quite a bad quality film, but the sound was okay. But I am glad i have it. Brian Jones wasn't looking great but was smiling at the end. He played No Expectations brilliantly. I look at a man who started something great and ended up a sad and rather disturbed young man.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Worth buying for one of the greatest live performances ever - The Who performing 'A Quick One' - and one which was only surpassed by The Who themselves. They steal the show so one can see why The Stones (who are good too) were reluctant for this to be seen. Listen to the album version of 'A Quick One', then the performance at Monterey, at this circus, at The Coliseum and then Live At Leeds to hear the evolution and increase in power, interplay and virtuosity of the band which has never been equalled. Tasteful drumming on here by Mitch Mitchell with The Dirty Mac also.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
I always find it weird the comments that the rock and roll circus gets. I remember being about 16 and it was boxing day and this came on BBC2 at about midnight. I watched it and it was like a revalation, and to this day it is by a mile my favourite concert video. I agree that the Who are brilliant, but The Dirty Mac is raw perfection, I even buzz off Yoko's mad wailing, it sounds like John Cale's viola! And Clapton's playing with them is just garage band blues at it's best...I can't believe he's the same person he is now, and seeing him on this still makes me want a red 335.

I really don't think the stones had the show stolen from them here. Jagger looks like he's coming down from a four day bender with chapped lips, pallid almost green skin and wild eyes, while the rest of the band don't crack a smile throughout and are deadpan amazing. Keith Richards solo on sympathy for the devil is at least as mercurial and wild as the recorded version....upon first watching this I started learning to play guitar. I think it either rings your bells or it doesn't, but I struggle to understand why this is not adored by everyone x
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Most people who watch "The Rolling Stones Rock and Roll Circus," a TV program that the Stones put together for the BBC in December '68--but that was never aired--will likely be struck by the same thought: How could this remarkable show fail to have been shown back when? The program turns out to be a godsend for fans of classic rock, featuring as it does not only "The World's Greatest Rock 'n' Roll Band," but also Jethro Tull, The Who, Marianne Faithful, Taj Mahal and a band called The Dirty Mac, interspersed, under the big top, with some amusing circus acts, and observed by a small but enthusiastic audience in whimsical regalia. All the performers are in top form here, but the highlights for me were Jethro Tull, here with future Black Sabbath guitarist Tony Iommi filling in for the recently departed Mick Abrahams, and the two songs performed by the Dirty Mac. This was a one-shot supergroup consisting of Mitch Mitchell on drums and Eric Clapton, Keith Richards and John Lennon on guitars! The version of the Fab Four's "Yer Blues" that they dish out here is just awesome, and when Yoko Ono hits the stage to caterwaul on the instrumental blues romp "Whole Lotta Yoko"...well, just hold on to your eardrums! This program, fittingly, belongs to the Stones, however, and the six tunes that the boys give us are just terrific, especially that "Sympathy for the Devil," during which Mick Jagger gets to prove again that he really is rock's best frontman. Whotta high-energy display; no wonder John Lennon can be seen boogying his pies off in the audience!

Bottom line: If you're a fan of any of the artists mentioned above, this DVD is for you
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
brilliant must admit do like rock n roll circus , not only rolling stones , but seening john lennon and yoko ono , taj mahal , eric clapton, the who , marianne faithfull, jethro tull. wonderful even if its in a tent lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2005
Fantastic DVD, no thanks to the Stones.
A flat performance all round from them. Carrying an ill and addled Brian Jones through lacklustre shapes. Only the mighty "Sympathy for the devil" takes them anywhere near their incendiary best. Even then, Jagger becomes hard to watch in a sublimely hysterical performance. I waited for "No expectations", expecting beauty, it was flat, lacking the great finesse of the original. The whole gig coulda been so much better.
However, in return for your money you get the magisterial Who. They manage to carpet bomb all before them with an insane take on "A quick one while hes away". Moon, flailing away like a gurning Methadrine crazed Dervish, water rising from the Snares like licking flames, as if he about to consume himself in his own mentalness. Townshend shines here giving that Gibson a good kicking, producing a great chaotic wall of noise. All rock n roll bands should be like this.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Arrived in good time. Excellent quality.
Interested in the group, their history and the music of that period. I would recommend this to any fan of the Rolling Stones and to anyone interested in the music and culture of that period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)