Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
55
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap (GBA)
Format: Video Game|Change
Price:£199.75+ Free shipping


on 19 March 2012
It's amazing. The inventiveness, the originality. The large world - made twice as big because you look at it both as a regular size person and as a tiny person, so very different. The lessons learned from previous Zelda games, making it even more fun (like being able to - eventually - fly from one location to another quickly if you've unlocked it). The endless things to discover, use, change, re-try... just so much to do. I've rarely if ever encountered a video game I can play for 2 hours straight - I know plenty of people do multiple-day-long marathons, but for me usually 1/2 hour is enough, so this is a big deal. Even the graphics are top-notch for the GBA, as is the music.

If you like RPGs, get this one. That is all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2005
The Legend of Zelda has been one of the most succesful and best selling video game series of all time. Since the release of the snes, up until the highly anticipated 3rd generation nintendo console, Zelda sales have proudly flooded through gaming fans, and best of all, continue to come with excellent quality. Not one zelda game has been a major dissapointment to date, which naturally draws us to the fact that 'The Minish Cap' is not just an acceptable game, but a superb one at that.
First of all, the visual effects and smoothness have drastically improved in relation to The Oracle of A/S. Zelda fans will be delighted at how close nintendo and capcom have managed to keep the gameplay and style to the original GBC counterparts, whilst adding on a superb graphical improvement, which makes the game a lot more pleaserable to play. Yes, Capcom have done an excellent job in keeping the game exactly how the fans want it.
The gameplay is spot on, however the plot is sadly not up to standard . A student wizard becomes corrupt with greed, and consequently, using all the wizardry his teacher had taught him, turned it against him. Not the best of plots but decent considering that he turns his master into a hat(hence 'minish cap') and helps Link along his quest to rescure Zelda and the world. A new addition to the Zelda universe are the picori(minish) which are microscopic life forms which link can communicate with once he becomes supersmall. Despite the games apparently vague and uncompelling story, the gameplay and tilt make up for this, as well as the beautifull soundtrack and graphics.
For any Zelda fan, this is an absolute must. For RPG fans, this is also a necessary buy. For casual gamers, still buy it and play it.
A quality Zelda title like this is not to be missed, and if current predictions are correct, this could be the last Zelda game on the GameBoy which adopts the overhead view which has worked so well with the Zelda games, ever since the first title spawned and flourished into the gaming world.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2007
I'm a 19 year old girl,and for christmas last year, I asked for a gameboy advanced...sad? yes, but i HAD to try out this zelda!! i'm a massive zelda fan and I have been since I was 5. Anyway, I wasn't disapointed with this game! it is very hard at times, and to be honest yes i did have to look up a walkthrough to do certain bit's ! I spent about two weeks to complete it which I thought was a shame as it could of done with being a little bit longer! but hey, it was very fun while it lasted! its very addictive, very entertaining , very hard , yet very short , so i gave it an overall rating of 4! But please dont let that put you of! i URGE all zelda fans to give this game a go!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 January 2005
I received a Game Boy Advance and a copy of this game for Xmas and I started playing it with some trepidation, I didn't know whether I was going to like it or not.
I shouldn't have worried beacuse it's fantastic in every way, a work of genius! The main quest in the game has you setting out on an adventure to rescue the princess Zelda who's been turned to stone by the mysteriuos Vaati. This main quest has you trying to find 4 elements (Earth, Wind, Fire and Water) to magically transfer to your sword. These elements can be found in seperate dungeons which, in typical Zelda style, need a combination of puzzle solving and sword wielding to negotiate.
If you get bored (or stuck) on the main quest it's a good idea to go into Hyrule Town to relax and undertake some of the side quests. These mainly involve fusing 'Kinstones'. You find Kinstones as you go about during the main quest; cutting down hedges, opening chests and completing certain tasks. These Kinstones are half of a stone in a particular colour. Nearly everyone in town also has a half of a stone and if you can match yours with theirs something special appears or happens anywhere on the map! I spent ages travelling around fusing as many Kinstones as possible. This sounds boring but it isn't!
I found the difficulty of the main quest just right; the problems are logical (although sometimes required me to go and make a cup of tea to think things through before a flash of inspiration). You never feel cheated!
The attention to detail in the game is truly awesome and simply moving about the world is great fun.
Highly recommended for all lovers of great games; there's something here for everyone!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2005
When i bought it i didn't think it would be that good, but it's Zelda so obviously it was amazing. You save this annoying talking hat from these weird things throwing stones at it and then it lets you use him to get advice and turn microscopic so that you can talk to the tribe of tiny people called the minish (hence the name). It still has all the classic weapons like the master sword and the boomerang and it also has some new weapons like the gust-jar and the running boots. The gameplay is great and nothing is too complicated which makes it a simple, enjoyable game. It proves that Zelda still works on GBA not just N64 and Gamecube!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
ATTENTION! DO NOT BUY THE EUROPEAN OR AUSTRALIAN VERSION OF THE GAME DUE TO TWO HORRIBLE GLITCHES!

First - one of the Bomb Bag upgrades cannot be obtained - After completing 1st Dungeon (Deepwood Shrine), when you return to Hyrule Town, you can buy bigger wallet for 80 Rupees (raising max limit to 300), and Boomerang for 300 Rupees. After buying the Boomerang, leaving and re-entering Stockwell's Shop, you should see a Bomb Bag Upgrade (most game guides mentions that). It costs 600 Rupees and you cannot buy it yet (you must upgrade your wallet to 999 Rupees first). But here is the glitch - this Bomb Bag Upgrade is not present on the shelf inside the shop in the European version. In other words, you cannot extend (almost double) your Bomb Bag capacity from 50 to 99 after obtaining two other upgrades. Obtaining the Magical Boomerang without buying the normal one (if this is possible, I never tried that) will also trigger this glitch.

Second - one of the Kinstone fusions may be lost forever. After visiting Castor Wilds for the first time, you can meet a farmer called Eenie in Eastern Hills. If you decide to fuse Kinstones with him, then cancel the fusion (e.g. because you don't have correct Kinstone piece), leave the screen and return, you will trigger a glitch - Eenie will not fuse Kinstones with you anymore and you won't be able to complete Goron Sidequest. Than means you won't be able to get one Empty Bottle, Mirror Shield, few more treasures and perform few other Kinstone Fusions. Unlike the first one, it's possible to bypass this glitch.

If you want to play this game, buy American or Japanese version!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2006
I'm a big fan of all the zelda titles, and this is just one more to get your teeth into.

True, its on a smaller scale but all the good stuff is still here, puzzle solving, side quests, finding and collecting items to progress you through the game, and of course, fighting the big bad and rescuing the pretty princess ( aswell as the rest of the world )If you have never played zelda or other RPG's before, be warned, there is plenty to frustrate, confuse and down-right annoy you, but if this is your cup of tea, then crack on, its well worth it!!!!!

The game play is reponsive and the graphics clear and very cute, the only thing to worry about is putting the game down for five minutes to eat and sleep, 10 out of 10, no doubt!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2005
There have been lots of negative reviews for this new Zelda game, saying it does not live up to Zelda reputation. I totally disagree. The game is in the best Zelda tradition, with plenty of great dungeons, sidequests, funny characters etc. The graphics are better then any Zelda Gameboy game ever made. The music is traditional but still very nice, the setting - villages, forests and castles - is stunning. The game carries over from The Oracle series in terms of creating several worlds you can explore, only instead of time or season here the alteration is your size. You can turn into a Minnish and explore their world (they are adorable!) or remain big and have the entire Hyrule to explore still. Fusion pieces are an exciting innovation to keep you occupied collecting, fusing and remembering to collect your rewards! The puzzles are, in truth, no match for the usual Zelda ones, the plot sort of flows itself, without you having to use your brain much to push it forward. Also, rupees and shells seem to just jump into your hands, not at all hard to find. The game might seem easy for the Zelda masterminds but for a newbie this is a great, engaging piece of software. Link's fans should buy it too, if only for the cool new items. Great game overall!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2004
Zelda, for me, has always been the jewel in Nintendo's crown. I've been a fan of the series ever since the start and own every game released in the UK so far in the series (the Minish Cap hit the UK before the US and Japan, fact fans!), from the original gold NES carts up to The Wind Waker. However, as excellent as the Wind Waker was (and still is), it'd lost that 'sparkle' from the other games, and seemed a bit less 'epic' (due to not as many dungeons & bosses as normal) and a little more, well, boring (esp. the sailing bits). It's nice to see the series firmly back on track with this game.
Developed by Capcom (in the same way the Zelda: Oracles games for Game Boy Color were, though it's just a single game this time around), The Minish Cap puts you in control, as always, of Link (or whatever you decide to call him), and sends you on a quest to find the 'Minish', a group of tiny people, to restore a legendary sword and save Zelda from a curse which has turned her to stone. The game uses the same perspective as the previous handheld (and SNES) versions, although it looks and sounds even nicer this time. The graphics are based on those used in The Wind Waker, and actually work better in 2D than 3D (in my opinion,), and music is a made up of remixed of traditional Zelda themes and all new music. Playability is superb - Link now has the ability to roll (as he does in the 3D games) and more abilities become available as the game progresses - and the Minish Cap of the title is used to clever effect...not only do you get a reasonable sized map to explore, but use the cap to shrink to the size of the Minish people (about the size of an ant) and you can have a 'Land Of The Giants' type experience, where even a small plant can be a huge obstacle. And the game never becomes a chore...puzzles are always clever (but solvable) and a wide variety of mini-games and all new inventory items (such as the Gust Jar) keep it fresh along the way.
In fact, if there is one criticism I could throw at this game, it's that the puzzles, although familiar to Zelda veterans, are still tough enough to provide a decent challenge (which is good), but will just seem plain obscure to new players and may put them off before they've reached the second or third dungeons. This certainly doesn't ruin the game though, it is truly brilliant and overall, a remarkable return to form for Zelda. And considering also how excellent the Zelda: Oracles games were (even better than Link's Awakening, I thought), we can only hope that Nintendo team up with Capcom again for more quests in the future.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2004
GTA san andreas?leave it out
minish cap is a great game,full of surprises and cool new items such as the gust jar,a magic jar that sucks up air and enemies,but stops short on doing the dishes.
the ocarina of wind that will transport you(via flying duck) to any wind crest you have discovered
in this,you have to take the four sword to the minish people who can repair it so you can defeat vaati(who is no longer a flying octopus thingy as seen in four swords adventures)
as it is so huge,i havent uncoverd much of the plot yet and am only on the 2nd dungeon
in short:
own a gameboy advance?buy this game
own a DS?buy this game
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)