Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
70
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2014
I've re-watched a few cartoons from my childhood, and this is one of the few which has stood the test of time and still appeals to me now as an adult.

If you need to you can make most DVD players region free by:
1) press eject & leave tray open.
2) press 98790.
3) a message will appear saying region is now 0.

The episodes are ordered by the date they were made (1992-93) which is different to their first UK air dates, below is the order in which they appear on these DVDs (villains in brackets).

DISC 1
Eternal Youth (Poison Ivy)
Perchance to Dream (the Mad Hatter)
The Cape and Cowl Conspiracy (Josiah Wormwood)
Robin's Reckoning, Part I (Tony Zucco)
Robin's Reckoning, Part II (Tony Zucco)
The Laughing Fish (Joker)
Night of the Ninja (Kyodai Ken)

DISC 2
Cat Scratch Fever (Roland Daggett)
The Strange Secret of Bruce Wayne (Hugo Strange)
Heart of Steel, Part I (Holographic Analytical Reciprocating Digital Computer)
Heart of Steel, Part II (Holographic Analytical Reciprocating Digital Computer)
If You're So Smart, Why Aren't You Rich? (The Riddler)
Joker's Wild (Joker and Cameron Kaiser)
Tyger, Tyger (Emile Dorian)

DISC 3
Moon of the Wolf (Anthony Romulus)
Day of the Samurai (Kyodai Ken)
Terror in the Sky (Man-Bat)
Almost Got 'Im (Joker, Poison Ivy, Two-Face, Killer Croc, and Penguin)
Birds of a Feather (Penguin)
What Is Reality? (the Riddler)
I Am the Night (Jazzman)

DISC 4
Off Balance (Vertigo)
The Man Who Killed Batman (Sidney Debris)
Mudslide (Clayface)
Paging the Crime Doctor (Rupert Thorne)
Zatanna (Montague Kane)
The Mechanic (Penguin)
Harley and Ivy (Joker, Poison Ivy, and Harley Quinn)
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
A Brilliant Animated take on the Batman. And in my opinion the best. I have volumes one and two but I am most chagrined that volumes 3 and 4 are not available in Region 2 DVD!!
55 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2009
I have to be honest and say that I never watched more than a couple of episodes of this show when I was younger. It was only recently that my girlfriend bought me the first series on DVD and soon after that I got the second, which is even better than then first. To state the obvious this cartoon is fantastically made. Everything from the animation, the voices, and the sound track are made brilliantly and gotham city as I'd always imagined it to be appears on screen. But what really sets this apart for me is the stories. The episode where four of the bataman villians sit around chatting about the cloest they came to getting batman is funny and clever and the episode in which we follow a low level hunchmen who believes he's killed batman displays a maturity that is a joy to see in a childrens cartoon.
I would thoroughly recoomend this boxset for any batman fan. It's dark, clever,a whole lot of fun and like all good cartoons makes me feel like I'm 12 years old again.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2005
Batman the Animated Series returns with a second helping of 28 episodes from the show, with more villains and appearances from Robin, Batman's sidekick in different episodes. In this boxset we get a closer look at Batman's past in episodes like Night of the Ninja where he was in Japan studying martial arts with his teacher Yoru Sensei, his adversary Kyodai Ken who hated Bruce Wayne because he got kicked out of the school for breaking into the dojo, and after all these years returns for a showdown against Bruce Wayne for revenge.
But he comes back for a second time in Day of the Samurai to kidnap Yoru Sensei's best student as a challenge for Batman to battle him one last time. The newest villain is the Riddler(Edward Nygma)who gets sacked from his job at a software company who immediately starts terrorising his old boss which means Batman & Robin come to the rescue, they then have to enter Nygma's own maze and save his boss from death, Nygma returns once more and begins causing havoc for banks and the stock exchange.
Whilst all this is going on a box arrives at Police Headquarters, Batman & Robin manage to crack the puzzle and discover a huge computer mainframe within, Robin hacks into the program to check it over but gets careless when Commissioner Gordon puts on one of the virtual reality helmets and gets trapped in the system leaving Batman to enter the program and save him!
The extras is fantastic, there's an interview with a few members of the cast including Kevin Conroy (Batman), Mark Hamill (The Joker), Adrienne Barbeau (Catwoman) & Efrem Zimbalist Jr (Alfred), as well as various writers and the team behind the show. I cannot praise this show enough for giving me hours of enjoyment watching Batman battle on foe after another throughout, I can't wait to buy Volume 3 when I get the chance, go on buy it, it's the best thing you'll ever do!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2010
I can't praise B:TAS enough! Every episode is a joy to watch. All the villains are used cleverly. The creation of Harley Quinn was inspired. Renee Montoya and Lock-Up too are quite fun additions to the comics without being as groundbreaking as Harley. Adding pathos to the back stories of Mr. Freeze. With episodes such as the Emmy winning Robin's Reckoning, Harley and Ivy, The Strange Secret of Bruce Wayne and The Man Who Killed the Batman the second series defintely worth having. I just wish I could buy seasons 3 and 4 too!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 October 2014
This second volume of the old but brilliant 'Batman: The Animated Series' contains a further twenty-five episodes across four discs with all of them being extremely good. As with the previous volume, the episodes in this set are mostly episodic in nature, with a couple of two part episodes as well, but despite the lack of an overall series arc the quality of each episode is high enough that I don't mind such a lack.

This volume includes some very well-known and extremely entertaining episodes. Highlights of the volume include 'Laughing Fish' that sees the Joker try to copyright all the fish in Gotham, 'Cat Scratch Fever' where Catwoman tries to go straight but finds her cat is missing, and 'Almost Got I'm', probably one of the funniest episodes of the series as a whole that sees various villains recount how they almost killed Batman. The volume also includes what is probably my favourite episode of the entire series, 'I am the Night', where Batman has something of a crisis of confidence brought on by the anniversary of his parent's death and a mistake during a bust.

The episodes in this volume also introduce a number of new characters such as a pre Batgirl Barbara Gordon, the Riddler, the Society of Shadows (along with Talia and Ra's al Ghul) and Zatanna. All these new characters are well voiced the existing cast still do a very good job with their performances. As with the previous volume, the animation of the series is looking a little dated these days but is by no means terrible.

This second volume of 'Batman: The Animated Series' continues to be extremely entertaining and the series as a whole is one of, if not the best animated versions of Batman and is easily worth a full five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 April 2016
This DVD set is season 2 of Batman: The Animated Series (B:TAS). It is a continuation of the saga established in season 1, and it provides viewers with 28 more episodes from this timeless, classic show.

This is a truly awesome animated series. Batman has never been imagined or portrayed better. So influential was this series that it has inspired developments in DC Comics continuity (e.g. the introduction of Harley Quinn) and has led to big-budget video games that are semi-related to it (e.g. using many of the same voice actors).

While the show is, in many ways, aimed at adult viewers it nonetheless is thoroughly enjoyable by kids. I first watched this in my 20's, while my younger brother - aged just 7 - watched it with me. We both consider this Batman to be THE Batman.

The show serves as the basis for the wider DC animated universe (which consists of several series, including 'Batman Beyond' and 'Justice League Unlimited'). There are also several animated films set within this fictional universe.

This second season is excellent. Personally, I slightly prefer it to the first - as, here, the characters are now fully developed and allowed to demonstrate their skills and talents without hindrance. Yet there's very little in it ... all of the seasons (especially 1-3) could be watched back-to-back and you wouldn't really know where one ended and the next began.

Fantastic voice acting, art work, story-telling, and music. Batman doesn't get any better than this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
A continuation of a great series that I wish was fully available to buy on DVD! The stories are short, sharp and funny with a whole range of different and exciting characters. And of course Batman himself is always fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
As with the first volume of adventures this is once again magnificent. The charactors by this stage are beginning to grow and a few more creative risks were taken with storylines exploring Batmans state of mind and the challenges of being the Dark Knight.
Put simply there has never been a better put together more beautiful 'childrens' animated series than this Batman.
I would urge everyone to buy it for themselves, and then let their children enjoy it too if they have any.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
If you can look past the age and picture quality (which you really should) you will find one of the deepest, funniest animated shows ever made.
With batman voiced by Kevin Conroy (the same voice actor from the Arkham games) and music by esteemed Simpsons musical director Danny Elfman this really is one of the highest points of animation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)